
Notary Bulletin  

This is a publication of the Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office, P.O. Box 94608, 
Lincoln, NE 68509-4608. If you have questions or comments, email us at 
sos.notary@nebraska.gov or call (402) 471-2558. View the notary section of the 
secretary of state’s website.  

The Notary Bulletin on a regular basis will highlight notary disciplinary cases 
undertaken by the Secretary of State’s Office. 

Here are some recent examples of notary violations:   
�A notary was admonished for inconsistently signing her name. Signature in-

consistencies may cause notarized documents to be unnecessarily called into ques-
tion. When there is a question regarding the notarization of a document, the notary’s 
signature on the document will be compared to the notary’s signature on file with our 
office. Notaries should make every attempt to sign their signature as it appears on 
their notary application.  

�A notary was admonished for notarizing a real estate document containing 
blanks. In this case, real estate documents were being signed and notarized prior to 
completion. Notarized documents containing blanks are susceptible to alteration 
after execution. If a notary is asked to notarize a document containing blanks, the 
notary should request the signer to cross through the blanks or complete them be-
fore notarizing the document.    

Here is a sampling of notary public violations  

Steps to renew a notary commission  
Nebraska notaries may renew their notary public commissions within 30 days 

prior to the expiration date of their current commissions, according to Secretary of 
State John Gale.  

Individuals applying for renewal commissions should sub-
mit the following items correctly completed to the Secretary of 
State’s Office: (1) a renewal application, (2) a $15,000 surety 
bond, (3) a $30 renewal fee and (4) a U.S. Citizenship Attesta-
tion Form. 

Nebraska law provides that any renewal application made 
after the expiration date shall be made in the same manner as 
an application for a new notary commission, Gale said. To ob-
tain a new notary commission, applicants are required to pass 
a test.  

There are strict deadlines for renewal applications, Gale noted. As a general 
rule, renewal items must be received in the Secretary of State’s Office no later than 
5 p.m. on the commission expiration date.  

If your commission expiration date falls on a weekend, the renewal items must 
be received by 5 p.m. on the Friday preceding the weekend. If your commission ex-
piration date falls on a holiday during the business week, the renewal items must be 
received by 5 p.m. on the preceding business day. 

Once all materials are received in a timely manner, our office will process the 
materials and send your renewal notary commission certificate via U.S. mail.  

You can order your new notary ink stamp from various vendors. A surety bond 
may be purchased from most full-service insurance agencies or a notary associa-
tion.  

Please use this address for all correspondence: Notary Division, P.O. Box 
95104, Lincoln, NE 68509-5104. Please make your check or money order payable 
to: Nebraska Secretary of State or Notary Division. 

View information and forms regarding new and renewal notary applications.  
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