NOTICE

TO: Nebraska Notary Publics

FROM: John A. Gale, Secretary of State of Nebraska
DATE: August 17, 2009 (Updated 1/1/2010)

RE: Mobile Notary Services

The Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office continues to urge notaries to exercise caution in
considering “signing agent” or “mobile notary” offers.

The fees a notary may charge are set by law. See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 33-133 (Reissue 2008).
Current law provides that notaries may charge $5.00 for taking acknowledgement of deed or
other instrument. In addition to the $5.00 fee, the only other fee a notary is allowed by law to
charge when taking acknowledgment of deed or other instrument is mileage at the current
statutory rate of 50 cents per mile traveled.!

Further, current law provides that notaries may not act as real estate closing agents. Only
persons (or their employees) licensed or regulated by one of the following regulating entities
may act as real estate closing agents: the Department of Insurance, Supreme Court, Real Estate
Commission, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Federal Office of Thrift Supervision,
Federal Farm Credit Administration, or National Credit Union Administration. If you are acting
as a real estate closing agent, in violation of the law, you should be aware that this action would
constitute a Class V misdemeanor.

Remember, when taking an acknowledgment, the principal must personally appear before the
Notary and acknowledge that he/she executed the instrument and must either be personally
known to the Notary or show a valid government issued identification card.

IMileage rate effective as of January 1, 2010.

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include
internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on
regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you
believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the
document.



