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N E W S   B U L L E T I N 
 

Changes to current Notary law were introduced in the form of L.B. 315 to the  
2004 Nebraska Legislature for consideration.  

L.B. 315 passed on April 5, 2004 and was signed by Governor Johanns on April 9, 2004. 

 
New Notary law takes effective on July 16, 2004. 

 
History of Notary Law  
 
Many of the existing Notary statutes were written over 100 years ago and some of the most 
recent changes date back thirty years, to the mid-1970’s.  Secretary of State, John Gale, felt that 
there were a number of issues that needed to be addressed through new legislation to update and 
modernize our Notary laws.  Senator Brashear, Chairman of the Judiciary Committee, agreed and 
became the sponsor of the bill.  For example, some issues needing attention were:  use of proper 
proof of identification to help deter instances of identity theft; prohibiting Notaries who are not 
licensed attorneys, from advertising the services of a ‘Notario Publico’; and allowing for notarial 
services for incapacitated or elderly persons. 
 
Background on LB 315 
  
Secretary Gale’s major concerns about the outdated laws were: 
 
Ø Whether Notaries were learning the law and procedures that must be followed each and every 

time they notarize to assure they meet legal standards;  
 
Ø Whether testing and training were adequate to commission a person as a Notary Public; 
 



 
 
Ø An increasing number of complaints by citizens about improper, inaccurate or incomplete 

notarizations;. 
 
Ø Essential changes needed to bring existing Nebraska’s Notary laws to bring them into the 21st 

century. 
 
New provisions that will become effective July 16, 2004: 
 
§ Written test required for new Notaries, prior to being commissioned, to demonstrate their 

knowledge and understanding of notary laws and practices. 
 
§ Required Surety Bond amount is now $15,000. 
 
§ Clear standard for satisfactory proof of identity for purposes of performing notarial acts. 
 
§ 25 signature requirement on initial Notary application eliminated. 
 
§ Procedures and definitions created for notarization for signature by ‘mark’ for those unable 

to sign by reason of physical incapacity or age restrictions. 
 
§ Law prohibits advertising as “Notorio Publico” or any equivalent non-English term. 
 
§ Specifies that a Notary is disqualified from performing notarial acts for spouses, ancestors, 

descendants, or siblings of the principal, including in- laws, step, or half relatives. 
 
§ Specifically prohibits convicted felons or anyone who has been convicted of a crime 

involving fraud or dishonesty from becoming a Notary. 
 
• Secretary of State may temporarily suspend and/or revoke a Notary Commission for violation 

of Notary law. 
 
• Notaries must notify Secretary of State’s office of any address change within 45 days of the 

change. 
 
                                                  * * * * * * * * * * * 
Link to our website here: http://www.sos.state.ne.us and watch for schedules of Notary Seminar 
Training events to be held this summer at many locations across the State.  The training will be 
provided by the Secretary of State’s Office.  These seminars will be free of charge and open to 
anyone interested. 

 

Questions or comme nts about information contained in this publication may be directed to: 
Debbie Pester, Deputy Secretary of State for Business Services & Licensing Divisions  

 at: sos07@nol.org or call (402) 471-2558. 
 

http://www.sos.state.ne.us

