Guidance document shall mean any statement developed by an agency which lacks the force of law but provides information or direction of general application to the public to interpret or implement statutes or such agency’s rules or regulations. A guidance document is binding on an agency until amended by the agency. A guidance document shall not give rise to any legal right or duty or be treated as authority for any standard, requirement, or policy. Internal procedural documents which provide guidance to staff on agency organization and operations shall not be considered guidance documents
Voter Information Frequently Asked Questions
Do I have to be registered to vote?
- Yes, voter registration is required in Nebraska to be eligible to vote.
- The only exception is at a Presidential election for persons who have recently moved to Nebraska, or moved to another state after that
state’s registration deadline. They may vote a Presidential-only ballot by contacting the county election official.
What determines my eligibility to vote?
To register to vote in Nebraska you must:
- Be a United States Citizen;
- Live in the state of Nebraska;
- Be at least 18 years of age on or before the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November;
- Live in the State of Nebraska;
- Have not been convicted of a felony, or if convicted, at least two years have passed since the completion of your sentence for the felony including any parole term;
- Have not been officially found to be mentally incompetent.
Do I have to be a resident for a certain amount of time to register?
No, you may register to vote the same day you become a resident of the state of Nebraska.
How do I register to vote?
- You may register in person at the local County Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office during normal business hours.
- You may also register by mail. Voter Registration Applications are available at several locations throughout the state, including banks, post offices and libraries. Additionally, a voter registration application can be printed off this web site for your use.
- If registering for the first time in Nebraska by mail, please provide a copy of a current and valid photo ID, or a copy of a utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or other government document which is dated within 60 days immediately prior to the date of presentation showing the same name and residence address provided on the voter registration application to avoid delays with your registration.
- In addition, you may register to vote through the state Department of Motor Vehicles when applying for or renewing your driver’s license or at various other state agencies.
- You may also register through the state Department of Health and Human Services and State Department of Education at the time of application, review or change of address in connection with public programs.
- You must sign your Voter Registration Application before it is returned to your County Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office.
When is the registration deadline?
- Mail-in voter registrations must be mailed and postmarked on or before the third Friday preceding an election.
- Voter registrations delivered by personal messenger or personal agent must arrive on or before the third Friday preceding an election
- Individuals may register in person at the County Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office prior to 6 p.m. on the second Friday preceding an election.
Must I designate a party affiliation?
- No, voters may choose from one of the three statewide parties currently recognized in Nebraska: Democratic, Republican and Libertarian or they may choose to not affiliate with any party by checking the non-partisan box on the application.
- If you wish to vote in the primary election, where parties choose their nominees for state and county offices, you need to declare your party affiliation.
- If you register without a political party affiliation, you will receive only the non-partisan ballots at a primary election.
- Non-partisans may designate a party preference at primary elections and receive partisan ballots for the Senate and House congressional races.
- Party designation has no bearing when voting a non-partisan ballot or in the general election.
Are there situations where I would need to re-register?
You must re-register whenever you change
- Your name,
- Your address, or
- Your political party affiliation.
- Failure to vote in a previous election does not require re-registration
Will I receive notice that my mail-in registration has been accepted and processed?
- Yes, if you completed the form correctly and mailed it by the deadline (third Friday prior to the election), you will receive an acknowledgment from the election official that you are properly registered.
- If you are a first time registrant in Nebraska using the mail in application and did not provide copies of the ID requirements for first time mail in registrants, you will notified of the need to do so.
- If you have questions on your registration, call your County Clerk/Election Commissioner.
How is residence determined?
- By law, your residence is that place at which you have established a home, where you are habitually present, and to which, when you depart, you intend to return.
- Leaving for temporary purposes, such as military service, school attendance, hospital stays, or missions work need not result in a change of residence for voting purposes.
- However, any permanent change in your residence or address will require you to re-register to vote.
Early Voting in Nebraska (Formerly Absentee Voting)
Who may apply for an Early Voting ballot?
- Anyone may apply for an Early Voting ballot, such as:
- Persons not able to go to the polls due to their work or vacation schedule, or
- Persons not able to go to the polls due to a medical condition or hospitalization, or
- Persons temporarily out of the county, state or country
- Persons not wishing to travel to the polls
- Persons not wishing to leave their homes
Do I need to give the reason why I am voting early when applying for Early Voting ballots?
- No, since 1999 Nebraska law has not required a person disclose a reason for their request on the Early Voting application.
How do I apply for and vote an Early Voting ballot?
You can apply for an early voting ballot by contacting your County Clerk or Election Commissioner in person at the election office, by personal agent, by mail or by fax.
How do I apply by mail?
Is there a process to assist military and overseas citizens in obtaining Early Voting ballots?
Yes, Nebraska participates in the Federal Voting Assistance Program for our military personnel and overseas citizens. Click here for assistance with military ballots. Click here for assistance with overseas ballots.
When may I apply for an Early Voting ballot?
- All county election offices will accept Early Voting applications up to 120 days prior to a statewide Primary or General election.
- The last day to request an Early Voting ballot to be mailed is close of business on the second Friday preceding the election.
- 30 days before Election Day is the first day Early Voting ballots are available to vote at the county office. Contact your County Clerk or Election Commissioner for information on office hours.
- 35 days before the Election is also the first day ballots are sent to non-military stateside applicants.
- Should your ballots not arrive, contact your County Clerk or Election Commissioner to confirm the date and address the ballots were mailed out.
- Make arrangements with the county election official to receive a replacement ballot if it is determined your ballots were lost, destroyed, spoiled or never received.
- The Monday before Election Day is the last day to cast an early voting ballot at the County Election Office.
What are the procedures when casting an Early Voting Ballot by mail?
- Ballots received via the postal service will be accompanied by instructions on how to cast a vote and a return envelope.
- If assistance is needed marking the ballot a friend or voter-designated person may provide assistance.
- The voted ballot must be placed in the return envelope. The envelope must be sealed and signed (or their mark made) by the voter and if assistance was provided by the person providing assistance.
- The return envelope containing the ballots may be mailed back to the County Election Office, returned by personal delivery, an agent, or courier service.
When must the Early Voting ballot be returned to the Election Office?
All Early Voting ballots, whether personally delivered, delivered by agent, delivered by mail or other carriers must arrive by the closing of the polls on Election Day. (8:00 p.m. Central Time / 7:00 p.m. Mountain Time.)
Where do I vote?
Each voter must cast his/her ballot at his/her assigned polling place. If you do not know the location of your polling place, contact your county clerk/election commissioner, or click this link https://www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov/.
Whenever you register or re-register to vote, your county clerk/election commissioner will inform you of your polling place location. Your voting card informs you not only of your polling place, but also your voting districts.
What time will the polls open?
The polls are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the Central Time Zone and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in the Mountain Time Zone.
Do I need a voting card or my ID in order to vote?
No, the card is for information only and does not need to be presented to election officials in order to vote.
The only time voters are asked for their ID is if they were a first time Nebraska registrant who mailed in their registration application and didn’t provide ID at that time.
Am I able to vote if I did not re-register?
Registered voters who moved from one residence to another in the same county, or who changed their name and remained in the same county will be allowed to vote at the polling place designated for their new residence.
These voters may be asked to cast a Provisional Ballot upon completing a certification and new registration form.
Persons casting Provisional Ballots may check to see if their ballot was counted starting the second Wednesday after the election by visiting https://www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov/ or calling toll free 1-888-727-0007. Provisional Ballots are counted only if the information the voter provided on their certification forms was verified.
Persons moving from one county in Nebraska to another county in Nebraska must re-register in their new county in order to be eligible to vote.
How does a person vote?
Registered voters go to their assigned polling place where there will be three or more poll workers at a table checking voters in. Voters will be asked for their name and the residence address where they are living. In primary elections, voters will also be asked to name their party. Upon verifying the information, the election workers will provide the voter with ballots assigned to persons living in their district and instructions on how to cast a ballot.
In Nebraska all counties use optical scan ballots; so voters are instructed to darken the oval completely, not to erase or cross out and return to the table if they have spoiled their ballot and need a new one. Ballots are tabulated at the precinct level using M100’s in 1/3 of our counties and centrally counted in larger counties using a M650 that can count over 300 ballots a minute.
Can voters receive assistance in voting?
Voters who cannot read, are blind or have a physical disability may request assistance in marking their ballots. The voter may have a friend or relative assist them or the voter may request the assistance of two election board workers one each of a different party.
In addition, an AutoMARK, a ballot marking device, available to assist voters at every polling place allows the voter to have all contests and candidates read to them. Or the voter can choose to enlarge the print making it easier to view. In addition it provides a touch screen voters may use if desired which will then electronically darken the ovals left of the choices the voter has designated on the paper ballot that was issued to them by the Receiving Board.
Can I campaign at my polling place?
No one may campaign or hand out political literature within 200 feet of a polling place. Wearing political badges or any political insignia into the polling place on Election Day is against the law.
Persons may call the Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office Election Division
Monday - Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at (888) 727-0007 (toll free)
or (402) 471-2555 to report problems