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Requirements for Private Detective Licensing 
 

Your request for application(s) for private detective, private detective agency, or plain-clothes investigator is enclosed.  In order to 
complete your application(s) you will need to meet the following requirements for the license type that you select. 
 

Private Detective  Private Detective  Plain-Clothes 
Agency        Investigator 

 
Completed 
Application   X    X    X 
Form 
 
Fees (License       $100 + $38        $50 + $38        $25 + $38 
+ Background Check) 
 
Fingerprint 
Cards (2)   X    X    X 
 
Signed 
Authorization 
For Release of   X    X    X 
Information 
 
Two Passport 
Sized Photos of  X    X    X 
Applicant 
 
Written Exam  X    X    X 
 
Experience   X    X 
*3000 hours of experience, OR 2500 hours with associate degree in field, OR 2000 hours with bachelor’s degree in field 
 
$10,000 
Surety Bond   X    X 
 
Citizen Attestation 
Form        X    X 
 
 
Please note that prior to issuance of each license the Nebraska State Patrol will conduct an investigation on the character and 
reputation of each individual making application.  In accordance with state statute the investigation may take up to ninety days to 
complete. 
 
Interested applicants must complete the application for any license and meet all of the minimum requirements prior to taking the 
examination.  The testing of all eligible applicants will be held on the third Wednesday of each month at 10:00 AM, in the Nebraska 
State Capitol Building room 1305.  Applicants who are interested in taking the test should contact the Secretary of State’s Office at 
(402) 471-2385 prior to taking the examination. 
 
When obtaining your Surety Bond, it would be in your best interest to obtain one that does not expire until the end of the licensing 
period.  All licenses are required to be renewed by June 30 of each even numbered year. 


