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TITLE 172    PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 98  ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE LICENSURE  
    
 
98-001  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY:  These regulations govern the licensure of advanced 
practice registered nurses in the State of Nebraska.  Statutory authority for these regulations is 
in the Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Licensure Act, the Nurse Licensure Compact, and 
the Uniform Licensing Law. 
 
 
98-002  DEFINITIONS 
 
APRN (Advanced Practice Registered Nurse) means a registered nurse who holds a current 
APRN license as a Certified Nurse Midwife, Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, Clinical 
Nurse Specialist, or Nurse Practitioner.  
 
APRN-CNM means a registered nurse who holds a current APRN license as a Certified Nurse 
Midwife. 
 
APRN-CNS means a registered nurse who holds a current APRN license as a Clinical Nurse 
Specialist. 
 
APRN-CRNA means a registered nurse who holds a current APRN license as a Certified 
Registered Nurse Anesthetist. 
 
APRN-NP means a registered nurse who holds a current APRN license as a Nurse Practitioner. 
 
Board means the Board of Advanced Practice Registered Nurses.   
 
Department means the Division of Public Health in the Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 
Expired license means a license whose expiration date has passed. 
 
Inactive license means a license which the license holder has voluntarily placed on inactive 
status.  An individual with an inactive license has terminated the right to practice or represent 
himself or herself as having an active license. 
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Nurse Licensure Compact means the agreement among states that have enacted the standard 
provisions of the compact into their individual state statutes.  In Nebraska, the compact is in 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-1795.  The compact allows a nurse to have one license (in his/her state of 
residence) and practice in other states, as long as the nurse acknowledges that s/he is subject 
to each state’s practice laws and discipline.  Practice across state lines is allowed, whether 
physical or electronic, unless the nurse is under discipline or a monitoring agreement that 
restricts practice across state lines. 
 
 
98-003  SCHEDULE OF FEES
 

98-003.01  The following fees must be paid as a condition of issuance of licensure. 
 

1.  Initial License Fee:  By an applicant for a license to practice as an APRN-CNM, 
APRN-CNS, APRN-CRNA, or APRN-NP, the fee of $30.  If the applicant’s primary 
state of residence is another compact state, s/he must also pay the Licensee 
Assistance Program fee of $1 for each year remaining in the current biennial 
renewal period. 
 

a.  Proration of Initial License Fee:  For issuance of a license that will expire 
within 180 days after its initial issuance date, the Department will collect $25 
and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of $1, and the license will be valid 
until the next subsequent renewal date. 

 
2.  License Renewal Fee:  By an applicant for renewal of a license to practice as an 
APRN-CNM, APRN-CNS, APRN-CRNA, or APRN-NP, the fee of $30.  If the 
applicant’s primary state of residence is another compact state, s/he must also pay 
the Licensee Assistance Program fee of $2. 
 
3.  Fee for Reinstatement from Expired or Inactive Status:  By an applicant for 
reinstatement from expired or inactive status of a license to practice as an APRN-
CNM, APRN-CNS, APRN-CRNA, or APRN-NP, the fee of $35 in addition to the 
renewal fee. 
 
4.  Fee for Reinstatement Following Discipline:  For reinstatement following 
suspension or revocation for disciplinary reasons, the fee of $75. 
 
5.  Certification of License Fee:  For issuance of a certification of a license, the fee 
of $25.  The certification includes information regarding: 
 

a. The basis on which the license was issued; 
b. The date of issuance; 
c. Whether disciplinary action has been taken against the license; and 
d. The current status of the license. 

 
6.  Verification of License Fee:  For issuance of a verification of a license, the fee of 
$5.  The verification includes written confirmation as to whether the license was 
valid at the time the request was made. 
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7.  Duplicate License Fee:  For a duplicate of an original license document or 
reissued license, a fee of $10. 
 
8.  Administrative Fee:  For a denied license or a withdrawn application, an 
administrative fee of $25 will be retained by the Department. 

 
 
98-004  ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY:  The Department may assess an administrative penalty 
when evidence exists that a person practiced without a license.  Practice without a license for 
the purpose of this regulation means practice: 
 

1. Prior to the issuance of a license; 
2. Following the expiration of a license; or 
3. Prior to the reinstatement of a license. 

 
98-004.01  Evidence of Practice:  The Department will consider any of the following 
conditions as prima facie evidence of practice without a license: 

 
 1. The person admits to engaging in practice; 
 2. Staffing records or other reports from the employer of the person indicate that 

the person was engaging in practice; 
 3. Billing or payment records document the provision of service, care, or 

treatment by the person; 
 4. Service, care, or treatment records document the provision of service, care, or 

treatment by the person; 
 5. Appointment records indicate that the person was engaged in practice; or 
 6. The person opens a practice site and announces or advertises that the site is 

open to provide service, care, or treatment.   
 

For purposes of this regulation, prima facie evidence means a fact is presumed to be true 
unless disproved by some evidence to the contrary. 

 
98-004.02  Penalty:  The Department may assess an administrative penalty in the amount 
of $10 per day, not to exceed a total of $1,000, for practice without a license.  To assess 
such penalty, the Department will: 

 
1. Provide written notice of the assessment to the person.  The notice will 

specify: 
 

a. The total amount of the administrative penalty; 
b. The evidence on which the administrative penalty is based; 
c. That the person may request, in writing, a hearing to contest the 

assessment of an administrative penalty;  
d. That the Department will within 30 days following receipt of payment of 

the administrative penalty, transmit the penalty to the State Treasurer for 
credit to the Permanent School Fund; and 

e. That an unpaid administrative penalty constitutes a debt to the State of 
Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or 
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sued for and recovered in a proper form of action in the name of the 
state in the District Court of the county in which the violator resides or 
owns property. 

 
 2. Send by certified mail, a written notice of the administrative penalty to the last 

known address of the person to whom the penalty is assessed. 
 

98-004.03  Administrative Hearing:  When a person contests the administrative penalty 
and requests a hearing, the Department will hold a hearing pursuant to the state 
Administrative Procedure Act and the Department’s Rules of Practice and Procedure. 
 

98-005  LAPSE OF APRN LICENSE:  An APRN’s license will lapse if s/he does not renew his or 
her license to practice as a registered nurse or is not authorized to practice as a registered 
nurse in this state under the Nurse Licensure Compact. 
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