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31-008 Payment for ICF/MR Services 
 

31-008.01 Purpose: This section: 
 

1. Satisfies the requirements of the State Plan for Medical Assistance and 42 CFR 
447, Subpart C, which provide for payment of ICF/MR services; 

2. Adopts rate setting procedures which recognize the required level and quality of 
care as prescribed by all governmental entities (including, but not limited to, federal, 
state, and local entities); 

3. Establishes effective accountability for the disbursement of Medical Assistance 
appropriations; and 

4. Provides for public notice of changes in the statewide method or level of payment 
pursuant to the requirements of Section 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act. 

 
The rate determination described herein is effective beginning July 1, 2007 2008. 

 
31-008.02 General Information: Wherever applicable, the principles of reimbursement for 
provider's cost and the related policies under which the Medicare extended care facility 
program functions (Medicare's Provider Reimbursement Manual (HIM-15) updated by 
"Provider Reimbursement Manual Revisions" in effect as July 1, 2005 2006) are used in 
determining the cost for Nebraska ICF/MRs with exceptions noted in this section. Chapter 
15, Change of Ownership, of HIM-15 is excluded in its entirety.  

 
That portion of a provider's allowable cost for the treatment of Medicaid patients is payable 
under the Nebraska Medical Assistance Program (NMAP) except as limited in this section. 
The aggregate payments by the Department do not exceed amounts which would be paid 
under Title XVIII principles of reimbursement for extended care facilities. 

 
31-008.03 Allowable Costs: The following items are allowable costs under NMAP. 

 
31-008.03A Cost of Meeting Licensure and Certification Standards: Allowable costs for 
meeting licensure and certification standards are those costs incurred in order to: 

 
1. Meet the definition in 42 CFR 440.150; 
2. Comply with the standards prescribed by the Secretary of Health and Human 

Services (HHS) in 42 CFR 442; 
3. Comply with requirements established by the Nebraska Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Public Health, the agency responsible for 
establishing and maintaining health standards, under 42 CFR 431.610; and 

4. Comply with any other state law licensing requirements necessary for providing 
skilled nursing or intermediate care facility, as applicable. 

 
31-008.03B Items Included in Per Diem Rates: The following items are included in the 
per diem rate: 
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31-008.05K Certificate of Need Approved Projects: Notwithstanding any other provision 
of 471 NAC 31-008, the fixed costs reported to the Department for a Division of Public 
Health Certificate of Need reviewed project must not exceed the amount that would 
result from the application of the approved project provisions including the estimated 
interest rates and asset lives. 

 
Certificate of Need provisions recognized by the Department, for the purposes of rate 
setting, is the original project as approved, the approved project amendments submitted 
within 90 days of the transfer of ownership or opening of newly constructed areas, and 
the allowable cost overruns disclosed in a final project report submitted to the Division of 
Public Health within 180 days of the opening of newly constructed areas. Project 
amendments and project reports submitted to the Division of Public Health Certificate of 
Need after the periods defined above will be recognized upon approval beginning on the 
date that the amendment or report is received by the Division of Public Health.  The 
added costs incurred before the date the late amendment or report is filed will not be 
recognized retroactively for rate setting. 

 
31-008.05L Salaries of Administrators, Owners, and Directly Related Parties:  
Compensation received by an administrator, owner, or directly related party is limited to 
a reasonable amount for the documented services provided in a necessary function.  
Reasonable value of the documented services rendered by an administrator is 
determined from Medicare regulations and administrator salary surveys for the Kansas 
City Region, adjusted for inflation by the federal Department of Health and Human 
Services (see HIM-15, Section 905.6)  Administrator compensation maximums for the 
cost report period ending June 30, 2007 are:.  
 
Bed Size  Maximum 
1 – 74   $75,166 
75 – 99  $76,516 
100 – 149  $90,919 
150 – 200  $91,820 
201 +   $135,029 
 
All compensation received by an administrator is included in the Administration Cost 
Category, unless an allocation has prior approval from the Department. Reasonable 
value of the documented services rendered by an owner or directly related party who 
hold positions other than administrator is determined by: (1) comparison to salaries paid 
for comparable position(s) within the specific facility, if applicable, or, if not applicable, 
then (2) comparison to salaries for comparable position(s) as published by the 
Department of Administrative Services, Division of State Personnel in the “State of 
Nebraska Salary Survey”. 

 
31-008.05M Administration Expense: In computing the provider’s allowable cost for 
determination of the rate, administration expense is limited to no more than 14 percent of 
the total otherwise Personnel Operating and Non-Personnel Operating Cost 
Components for the facility. 

 
This computation is made by dividing the total allowable Personnel Operating and Non-
Personnel Operating Cost Components, less the administration cost category, by 0.86. 
The resulting quotient is the maximum allowable amount for the Personnel Operating 
and Non-Personnel Operating Cost components, including the administration cost 
category. If a facility’s actual allowable cost for the two components exceeds this 
quotient, the excess amount is used to adjust the administration cost category. 
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31-008.05N Facility Bed Size: To qualify for rate determination under provisions of 471 
NAC 31-008, the facility must have a minimum of 15 licensed beds. Facilities with fewer 
than 15 licensed beds on October 1, 2000 were grandfathered into this methodology; 
facilities with fewer than 15 licensed beds after October 1, 2000 will be reimbursed under 
provisions of the Nebraska Home and Community Based Waiver Program. 

 
31-008.05P Other Limitations: Other limitations to specific cost components of the rate 
are included in the rate determination provision of this system. 

 
31-008.06 Rate Determination: The Department determines rates under the following 
guidelines: 

 
31-008.06A Rate Period: The Rate Period is defined for non-State- operated 
ICF/MR providers for services provided from July 1, 2007 2008 through June 30, 
2008 2009. The Rate Period for State-Operated ICF/MR providers is defined as a 
calendar year. 

 
31-008.06B Reporting Period: Each facility must file a cost report each year for the 
twelve month reporting period of July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

 
31-008.06C Rates for Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded (ICF/MR) 
Excluding State-Operated ICF/MR Providers: Effective July 1, 2007 2008, subject to 
the allowable, unallowable, and limitation provisions of this system, the Department 
pays each facility a prospectively determined amount based on the facility’s 
allowable, reasonable and adequate costs incurred and documented during the 
July 1, 2005 2006 through June 30, 2006 2007 Report Period. The per diem rates 
are based on financial and statistical data submitted by the facilities. Individual 
facility prospective rates have five components: 
 

1. The ICF/MR Personnel Operating Cost Component increased by the 
inflation factor; 

2. The ICF/MR Non-Personnel Operating Cost Component increased by the 
inflation factor; 

3. The ICF/MR Fixed Cost Component; 
4. The ICF/MR Ancillary Cost Component increased by the inflation factor; and 
5. The ICF/MR Revenue Tax Cost Component. 
 

An ICF/MR facility’s prospective rate is the sum of the five components. 
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31-008.06C4 ICF/MR Ancillary Cost Component:  This component of the rate 
includes the ancillary cost center. The ancillary cost component of the 
prospective rate is the allowable ancillary cost per day as computed for the 
facility’s most recent report period. 

 
31-008.06C5 ICF/MR Inflation Factor: For the Rate Period of July 1, 2007 
2008 through June 30, 2008 2009, the inflation factor is 4.9% 5.8%. 

 
31-008.06C6  ICF/MR Revenue Tax Cost Component: Under the ICF/MR 
Reimbursement Protection Act, for the Rate Period July 1, 2007 2008 through 
June 30, 2008 2009, the ICF/MR revenue tax per diem is computed as the 
ICF/MR revenue tax based on State Fiscal Year 2006-07 2007-08 net 
revenue divided by State Fiscal Year 2006-07 2007-08 facility resident days.  
(See 405 NAC 1-003.) 

 
31-008.06C7 ICF/MR Exception Process: An individual facility may request, 
on an exception basis, the Director of the Division of Medicaid and Long-
Term Care to consider specific facility circumstance(s), which warrant an 
exception to the facility’s rate computed for its Fixed Cost Component. An 
exception may only be requested if the facility’s total fixed costs (total costs, 
not per diem rate), as compared to the immediately prior report period, have 
increased by ten percent or more. In addition, the facility’s request must 
include: 
 

1. Specific identification of the increased cost(s) that have caused the 
facility’s total fixed costs to increase by 10 percent or more, with 
justification for the reasonableness and necessity of the increase; 

2. Whether the cost increase(s) are an ongoing or a one-time 
occurrence in the cost of operating the facility; and 

3. If applicable, preventive management action that was implemented 
to control past and future cause(s) of identified cost increases(s). 
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31-008.06D4 Non-Personnel Operating Cost Component: This component 
includes all costs other than salaries, fringe benefits, the personnel cost 
portion of purchased services, and the personnel cost portion of management 
fees or allocated expenses for the administrative, dietary, housekeeping, 
laundry, plant related, and social service cost centers.  The Non-Personnel 
Operating Cost Component of the Final Rate is the allowable non-personnel 
operating cost per day as computed for the ICF/MR provider’s most recent 
cost report period. 

 
31-008.06D5 Fixed Cost Component:  This component includes the interest, 
depreciation, amortization, long-term rent/lease payments, personal property 
tax, real estate tax, and other fixed costs.  The Fixed Cost Component of the 
Final Rate is the allowable fixed cost per day as computed for the ICF/MR 
provider’s most recent cost report period. 

 
31-008.06D6 ICF/MR Revenue Tax Cost Component:  This component 
includes the allowable ICF/MR revenue tax, computed on a per diem basis as 
the ICF/MR revenue tax based on State Fiscal Year 2006-07 2007-08 net 
revenue divided by State Fiscal Year 2006-07 2007-08 facility resident days.  
(See 405 NAC 1-003.) 

   
31-008.06E Out-of-State Facilities: The Department pays out-of-state facilities 
participating in NMAP at a rate established by that state’s Medicaid program at the 
time of the issuance or reissuance of the provider agreement. The rate will not 
exceed the average per diem being paid to Nebraska non-State-operated facilities 
for services in a similar care classification. The payment is not subject to any type of 
adjustment. 

 
31-008.06F Initial Rates for New Providers: Providers entering the NMAP as a result 
of a change of ownership will receive rates as follows. The rate in effect at the time of 
the change in ownership will be paid to the new provider for the remainder of the rate 
period.  For the next rate period, the cost reports for all owners during the report 
period will be combined. The combined report will be the complete cost report for 
that facility and will be used for rate determinations and limitation determinations. 
 

Providers entering the NMAP as a result of new construction, a facility re-opening, or 
a certification change from Nursing Facility to ICF/MR will receive a prospective rate 
equal to the average prospective rate of all Nebraska non-State-operated facilities of 
the same care classification. The rate will change at the beginning of a new rate 
period. The rate will be based on the care class average until the provider’s first rate 
period following participation in the program for one full report period. 
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31-008.08 Reporting Requirements and Record Retention: Providers must submit cost and 
statistical data on Form FA-66, “Report of Long Term Care Facilities for Reimbursement” 
(see 471-000-41). Data must be compiled on the basis of generally accepted accounting 
principles and the accrual method of accounting for the report period. If conflicts occur 
between generally accepted accounting principles and requirements of this regulation, the 
requirements of this regulation prevail. Financial and statistical records for the period 
covered by the cost report must be accurate and sufficiently detailed to substantiate the data 
reported. All records must be readily available upon request by the Department for 
verification of the reported data. If records are not accurate, sufficiently detailed, or readily 
available, the Department may correct, reduce, or eliminate data. Providers are notified of 
changes. 

 
Each facility must complete the required schedules and submit the original, signed Report to 
the Department within 90 days of the close of the reporting period, when a change in 
ownership or management occurs, or when terminated from participation in NMAP. Under 
extenuating circumstances, an extension not to exceed 15 45 days may be permitted. 
Requests for extensions must be made in writing before the date the cost report is due. 

 
When a provider fails to file a cost report as due, the Department will suspend payment. At 
the time the suspension is imposed, the Department will send a letter informing the provider 
that if a cost report is not filed, all payments made since the end of the cost report period will 
be deemed overpayments. The provider must maintain levels of care if the Department 
suspends payment. 

 
If the provider takes no action to comply with the obligation, the Department may refer the 
case for legal action. 

 
If a cost report has not been filed, the sum of the following is due: 

 
1. All interim payments made during the rate period to which the cost report applies; 
2. All interim payments made subsequent to the accounting rate period to which the 

cost report applies; and 
3. Costs incurred by the Department in attempting to secure reports and payments. 

 
If the provider later submits an acceptable cost report, the Department will undertake the 
necessary audit activities. Providers will receive all funds due them reflected under the 
properly submitted cost reports less any costs incurred by the Department as a result of late 
filing. 

 
Providers must retain financial records, supporting documents, statistical records, and all 
other pertinent records related to the cost report for a minimum of five years after the end of 
the report period or until an audit started within the five years is finalized, whichever is later. 
Records relating to the acquisition and disposal of fixed assets must be retained for a 
minimum of five years after the assets are no longer in use by the provider. The Department 
retains all cost reports for at least five years after receipt from the provider. 

 
 
 


