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REG-1-010 THE SALES AND USE TAX RETURN

010.01 A retailer must file a return is required for each reporting period or portion of a reporting period in which a sales tax permit is active. The return must be filed for every tax reporting period even if there have been no sales.

010.02 The period is the reporting filing frequency is the reporting period as assigned by the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). Normally it will be monthly, but in the case of retailers who have small tax liabilities, they may be assigned either a quarterly or an annual filing frequency. Except as provided below, annual returns are required if the retailer’s yearly tax liability is less than $900, quarterly returns are required if the yearly tax liability is $900 or more and less than $3,000, and monthly returns are required if the yearly tax liability is $3,000 or more.

010.02A Sellers who are Model 1, 2, or 3 sellers may follow the filing frequency guidelines outlined in the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement (SSUTA).

010.02B Sellers who are registered under the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement SSUTA, but who do not have a legal requirement to register in the state, and who are not Model 1, 2, or 3 sellers, may follow the filing frequency guidelines outlined in the Agreement SSUTA.

010.02C Retailers who have not obtained a permit or been assigned a filing frequency have a monthly filing frequency.

010.02D The Tax Commissioner has discretion to assign an annual return for seasonal retailers, even if the yearly tax liability exceeds the amounts listed in Reg-1-010.02. 
010.03 Sales tax permitholders Retailers must report and account for gross receipts from sales and services.

010.03A The form return includes both a return for sales tax return and a return for use tax return. Unless there are amounts, words, statements, numbers, zeros, or figures shown on the appropriate lines of a paper Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 10, mailing the form to the Department of Revenue will does not constitute the filing of either or both returns. 

010.03A(1) If the retailer files a return, the statute of limitations for issuing a deficiency determination is three years after the last day of the month following the reporting period, or three years after the return was filed, whichever is later. If the retailer fails to file a return, the statute of limitations for issuing a deficiency determination is five years after the last day of the month following the reporting period.   

010.03A(2) If the retailer does not enter amounts, words, statements, numbers, zeros, or figures on a paper Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 10, the statute of limitations for issuing a deficiency determination for that reporting period is extended beyond three years to five years. This extension of the statute of limitations does not apply to returns that are electronically filed.

010.03A(3) Statements by the retailer that no sales were made or no tax is due, or entries made by the Department to the account of the retailer indicating that no tax is due, do not constitute the filing of either or both returns and does not limit the statute of limitations to three years.
010.03B If the The return is must be filed within twenty-five 20 days following the end of the preceding tax reporting period,. the The retailer is entitled to deduct and withhold a collection fee from the amount of sales tax which otherwise would be due. No similar fee is allowed to may be deducted for reporting consumer's use tax or tax remitted pursuant to a Direct Payment Permit direct payment permit.

010.03C The Tax Commissioner will comply with accept the format for filing methods and payment methods allowed pursuant to the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement SSUTA for Model 1, 2, or 3 sellers.

010.03D The Tax Commissioner may require some or all taxpayers to file returns and remit payments electronically.

010.04 Unless otherwise provided in the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement SSUTA, the Tax Commissioner may require that returns be signed by the person required to file the return or by his or her duly authorized agent.

010.05 Returns that are not filed electronically must be properly signed. and accompanied by 

010.06 The return and the remittance will be are considered timely filed if actually received, delivered, or if mailed, postage prepaid, on or before the twenty-fifth 20th day of the month following the close of the reporting period. When the last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or an approved holiday, the return shall be is considered timely filed if actually received, delivered, or if mailed, postage prepaid, on the next succeeding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or an approved holiday.

010.05A 010.06A A United States Postal Service postmark will be is conclusive evidence of the date of mailing for the purpose of timely filing a return. When there is a private postage meter mark and there is no United States Postal Service postmark, the return is filed on the date received.
010.06B A private postage meter date or a date stamped by a private delivery service will be considered the date of mailing if the date of the stamp is no more than four days before the date the return is received by the Department, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, or approved holidays. If the date of the stamp is more than four days before the date the return is received by the Department, the return is considered filed on the date received.

010.05B 010.06C Failure to file the return or to remit the tax due by the due date will subject the taxpayer to a penalty equal to ten per cent 10% of the unpaid tax or twenty-five dollars ($25.00), whichever is the greater amount. In addition, interest will be Interest is imposed at the rate specified in section Neb. Rev. Stat. § 45-104.02 from the due date to the date payment is received.

010.06 010.07 Remittance must accompany the return and be in the form of a electronic funds transfer, check, credit card, draft, money order, or other payment method as approved by the Tax Commissioner, made payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. Cash, post-dated checks, or postage stamps must not cannot be sent as payment. Cash may be used when payment is made in person at an office of the Department of Revenue.

010.08 If any understatement on a return is a result of fraud or an intent to evade the sales or use tax, a penalty of 25% of the amount of the understatement or $50, whichever is greater, may be assessed.

010.09 Criminal Penalties. 

010.09A  Any person required to collect, account for, or pay over any sales or use taxes who willfully fails to collect, truthfully account for, or pay over these taxes is guilty of a Class IV felony.

010.09B Any person who willfully attempts in any manner to evade any sales or use taxes is guilty of a Class IV felony.

010.09C Any person who willfully assists in or advises in preparing or filing a false or fraudulent return, is guilty of a Class IV felony, whether or not the falsity or fraud is with the knowledge or consent of the person authorized or required to file the return.

(Sections 77-1702, 77-2705.02, 77-2705.03, 77-2712.05, 77-2713, and 77-27,125, R.R.S, 2009, section 77-1784, R.S. Supp., 2010, sections 77-2705.01, 77-2708(1), and 77-2709,  R.S. Supp., 2011, and  McDonald’s Executive Offices v. Nebraska Department of Revenue, 243 Neb. 82 (1993).  April 12, 2005_____.)

REG-1-041 CONCESSIONAIRE SALES

041.01 The sale of food and beverages by a concessionaire is taxable except that concession sales of food products, soft drinks, and candy by elementary and secondary schools are exempt. (Reg-1-092, Educational Institutions)

041.02 Concessionaire sales are sales of food or beverage made during the conduct of another event.

041.03 The sales tax does not have to be separately stated and collected from the customer on concession sales of food and beverages. Retailers who do not separately state the sales tax shall determine their taxable receipts in accordance with the procedure set out in paragraph 008.03 of Reg-1-008, Records. Including the tax in the sales price does not exempt the concessionaire from the payment of the applicable tax on the gross receipts from those sales The concessionaire is not prohibited from separately stating and collecting the tax if he or she so desires.

(Sections 77-2703(1)(c) and 77-2704.10, R.R.S., 2009. January 24, 1993_____.)
REG-1-042 BOTTLE CLUBS
042.01 The gross receipts of bottle club licensees from the dispensing and serving of alcoholic liquors, food, ice, mixes, and the like are taxable. This holds true notwithstanding that under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act the dispensing of alcoholic liquors by a bottle club licensee is not considered a sale.

042.02 Sales to bottle club licensees of alcoholic liquors, food, ice, and mixes to be dispensed and served by them to their members and guests for a consideration are sales for resale to which the tax does not apply.

042.03 Bottle clubs must obtain a sales tax permit, account for and remit the tax in the same manner as do other retailers.

(Section 77-2702.15 R.S.Supp., 1992. January 24, 1993.

REG-1-060 SEEDS AND PLANTS

060.01 Sales of seeds, plants, shrubs, and trees, when sold to persons for growing or improving home lawns, ornamental gardens, parks, boulevards, and golf courses, are taxable.

060.01 The sale 060.02 Sales of garden seeds, bulbs, and plants, the products of which ordinarily constitute food for human consumption, are taxable, except when that:

060.02A Sales of these seeds, bulbs, and plants are exempt if actually purchased with payments from the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), food coupons, or the electronic equivalent, or when sold to commercial producers. (Reg-1-087, Food for Human Consumption.); or

060.02B Sales of these see, bulbs, and plants are exempt if sold for use in commercial agriculture. (Reg-1-087, Food for Human Consumption).

060.02 060.03 Seed legumes, seed grasses, and seed grains that are sold exclusively for use in commercial agriculture are exempt from the sales tax. The term "commercial agriculture" shall mean the business of producing food products or other useful and valuable crops. The crops can either be sold or used by the grower. Commercial agriculture includes commercial production in greenhouses, nurseries, tree farms, and sod farms. 060.02A Purchases Tax exempt purchases of seed legumes, seed grasses, and seed grains for use in commercial agriculture do not need to be supported by a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, when the seller has other documentation to adequately support the exempt use of the products.

060.03 Sales of seeds, plants, shrubs, and trees, when sold to persons for growing or improving home lawns, ornamental gardens, parks, boulevards, and golf courses, are taxable.

060.04 Commercial agriculture means the business of producing food products or other crops that are either sold or used by the grower. Commercial agriculture includes commercial production in greenhouses, nurseries, tree farms, and sod farms.

(Sections 77-2704.46 and 77-2704.54, R.R.S. 2009. March 7, 2006_____.)

REG-1-072 UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT AND FEDERAL CORPORATIONS

072.01 Sales to the United States (U.S.) government, its agencies, instrumentalities, and corporations wholly owned by the United States U.S. government are exempt from sales and use tax. However, sales to institutions chartered or created under federal authority, but which are not directly operated and controlled by the United States U.S. government for the benefit of the public generally, are generally taxable.

072.02 Certain Absent an express waiver of intergovernmental immunity by statute, federal corporations that are performing a federal function are instrumentalities of the U.S. and are exempt have been granted exemptions from sales and use tax as a result of judicial decisions. Examples include the following, but are not limited to:

072.02A Farm Credit Banks, (previously Federal Land Banks) and other national or local operating entities chartered or administered by the Farm Credit System, including Federal Land Credit Associations, the Central Bank for Cooperatives, the Regional Banks for Cooperatives, the Federal Farm Mortgage Corporation, Production Credit Associations, and Agricultural Credit Associations;
072.02B The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporations Corporation;

072.02C Corporations administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to support agriculture, including Commodity Credit Corporations and the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation;

072.02D Federal Farm Mortgage Corporation;

072.02E Federal Home Loan Banks;

072.02F Central Bank for Cooperatives;

072.02G Farm Security Administration;

072.02H The Farmers Home Corporation; 
072.02I Federal Crop Insurance Corporation;

072.02J Federal Intermediate Credit Bank;

072.02K 072.02D A Federal Reserve Bank;

072.02L Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation;

072.02M 072.02E Corporations chartered by the U.S. government to issue, subsidize, or guarantee home loans, including the Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae), the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac), and the Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae); 

072.02F The Student Loan Marketing Association (Sallie Mae);

072.02N 072.02G A Federal Credit Unions Union;

072.02O 072.02H The National Railroad Passenger Corporation, and the Amtrak Commuter Services Corporation (Amtrak); and

072.02P 072.02I The American National Red Cross and all its chartered units.

072.03 Any federal corporation not listed above which that claims a sales tax exemption shall have has the burden of proving the exemption to the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department).

072.04 The exempt status of a A federal corporation will be is presumed to be sales tax exempt if the purchases are ordered on prescribed U.S. government forms and payment is made through issuance of by issuing U.S. government warrants.

072.05 Sales by agencies and corporations of the federal U.S. government shall be are taxable., but the obligation to collect and remit the sales tax cannot be imposed on the The tax shall be collected and remitted by such agency or corporation, unless such collection is specifically prohibited permitted by federal law. 

072.05A If such collection is prohibited by specific federal law the agency or corporation does not collect the sales tax, the purchaser shall pay the must remit use tax directly to the Department of Revenue.
072.05B No sales or use tax is owed for purchases made from commissaries, base exchanges, ships’ stores, or voluntary, unincorporated organizations of personnel of any branch of the Armed Forces of the U. S. by any person authorized to make these purchases.
072.06 Certain foreign diplomats diplomatic personnel have been granted sales tax exemptions by federal treaty. These federal diplomats diplomatic personnel are issued tax exemption identification cards issued by the United States State U.S. Department of State or the American Institute in Taiwan that indicate the specific taxes from which the diplomat person is exempt, and the monetary or other limits imposed on the use of the exemption from. Diplomatic personnel with tax exemption identification cards must pay sales tax on all purchases that are beyond the scope of the tax exemption card or that are beyond the monetary or other limits of the card.  All diplomats Diplomatic personnel without the identification card are taxed must pay sales or use tax on all purchases.

(Section 77-2704.02, R.R.S., 2009, Department of Employment v. United States, 385 U.S. 355, 17 L Ed 2d 414, 87 S Ct 464 (1966), United States v. District of Columbia, 558 F.Supp.213, 218 (1982), reversed as moot, 709 F.2d 1521, U.S.App.D.C. 295(1983), and 4 U.S.C. § 107 May 14, 1994 _____.)

REG-1-077 COMBINED SALES TAX RETURNS

077.01 If any retailer conducts business operations and makes sales subject to sales tax at more than one location and at the various locations makes sales subject to sales tax, such the retailer may apply for permission to file a combined sales tax return covering the business operations of two or more locations. The Department of Revenue (Department) will approve the application if: each sales location holds a sales tax permit; the same person or persons own eighty percent (80%) or more of each licensed location; and, the books, records, and accounts of such these locations are kept at a single central point address.

077.01A Such The application for permission to file a combined sales tax return shall must be made submitted on forms provided by the Department of Revenue and, in addition to other information, shall set forth must identify the business locations to be included in each the combined sales tax return.

077.01B The If the application is approved, the identified business locations must be reported on a combined sales tax return until the Department of Revenue grants permission to change. Business locations may not be added to or deleted from the combined sales tax return without written application for such change and the prior approval of the Department of Revenue.

077.01C The Tax Commissioner may also permit combined sales tax returns as allowed by the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.

077.02 Such combined A Combined sales tax returns shall return must be made filed monthly,  on forms provided reporting the information required by the Department of Revenue setting forth, for each business location reported included on the combined return, such information as may be required. 

077.02A All information requested on the return must be completed for each business location. Failure to comply will cause the entire report retailer to be subject to appropriate penalties. 

077.02B The combined return and the information for each business location must be filed electronically. Payments must also be made electronically.

077.03 The collection fee allowed on the combined return will be the aggregate of the collection fees calculated for each individual sales business location.

077.04 Leased departments or locations Retailers that do not have the same ownership but operate within a business location cannot be included on a combined sales tax report.

(Section 77-1784, R.S. Supp., 2010, and section 77-2708(1) R.S. Supp. 2011. April 12, 2005._____)

REG-1-083 PREPARED FOOD AND BEVERAGE SERVICE

083.01 Retail sales of meals prepared food, including sales by caterers and concessionaires, and all sales of prepared food, food, and food ingredients through vending machines are taxable.  Retail sales of alcoholic beverages are taxable, whether sold packaged or sold by the drink. (Reg-1-031, Coin-Operated Machines; Reg-1-040, Alcoholic Liquors Consumed on the Premises; and Reg-1-087, Food for Human Consumption.) 

083.02 Prepared food is food generally intended for immediate consumption, and is prepared to a point generally accepted as ready to be eaten without further preparation. Prepared food means:

083.02A Food sold in a heated state or heated by the retailer, including, but not limited to hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza, egg rolls, baked beans, and nachos with heated cheese sauce; 

083.02B Two or more foods or food ingredients mixed or combined by the retailer for sale as a single item and not sold by weight or volume, including, but not limited to, fountain drinks, ice cream cones, sandwiches, and salad bars; or

083.02C Food sold with eating utensils provided by the retailer. Eating utensils include, but are not limited to, plates, knives, forks, spoons, glasses, cups, napkins, or straws. Plates do not include a container or packaging used to transport the food.
083.02C(1) If 75% or less of the sales of food by the retailer are sales of prepared food described by 083.02A and 083.02B, eating utensils are considered provided by the retailer only if they are given to the purchaser by the retailer.

083.02C(2) If more than 75% of the sales of food by the retailer are sales of prepared food described by 083.02A and 083.02B, eating utensils are considered provided by the retailer if they are available on the premises where the food is sold, regardless of whether or not the purchasers are given the utensils or take them.  

083.02C(3) The 75% test is determined in the following manner:  

083.02C(3)(a) The numerator is the total sales of prepared food described by 083.02A and 083.02B.  

083.02C(3)(b) The denominator is the total sales of food, food ingredients, prepared food, candy, dietary supplements, and soft drinks. 

083.02C(3)(c) Exclude sales of alcoholic beverages, tobacco, motor vehicle fuels, and all other non-food sales from both the numerator and the denominator.  

083.02C(3)(d) The percentage is calculated using the retailer’s most recently completed tax year, or if the retailer has been in operation less than a year, the retailer must make a good faith estimate of the percentage for the first year.  The good faith estimate must be reviewed after three months of operation and adjusted, if appropriate.  A single percentage should be calculated for all of the retailer’s locations in the state.

083.02C(4) Even if more than 75% of the sales of food by the retailer are sales of prepared food, sales of food or food ingredients are not taxable if the transaction is for four or more servings as described in the “Nutrition Facts” box on the labels as required by 21 C.F.R. § 101.9, and the retailer maintains adequate records of each sale. If the transaction is for less than four servings, or the retailer does not maintain adequate records of these sales, sales tax must be collected on these food sales.

083.02C(5) Examples of food sold with eating utensils include, but are not limited to, pieces of cake or pie served with a fork, bagels served with a knife, and cookies or donuts served on a napkin.
083.03 Prepared food does not include:

083.03A Food sold by a manufacturer whose primary NAICS classification is a food manufacturer (311XX);

083.03B Bakery items such as bagels, bread, donuts, cakes, pies, cookies, and tortillas that are not sold in a heated state or with eating utensils;

083.03C Food that is only cut, repackaged, or pasteurized by the seller, including, but not limited to, luncheon meats, cheeses, meat and cheese trays, and fruit trays;

083.03D Food sold in an unheated state by weight or volume as a single item, including, but not limited to, containers of potato salad, coleslaw or fruit salad, pudding, and popcorn; or

083.03E Eggs, fish, meat, poultry, and foods containing these raw animal foods requiring cooking by the consumer to prevent foodborne illnesses.

083.02 083.04 Sales and use tax applies to the gross receipts from preparing or serving of meals prepared food and alcoholic beverages, including, for example of charges for food, wages, use of dishes, room service, silverware, glassware, chairs, and tables, etc.

083.02A 083.04A Single-use, disposable food service items provided available to the customers as a part of a meal can the retail sale of prepared food may be purchased for resale.  Examples include, but are not limited to paper napkins, place mats, straws, plastic utensils, and paper cups.
083.03 083.05 Charges made by a caterer, restaurant or other purveyor retailer of prepared food or drink alcoholic beverages, for furnishing employees, for example, bartenders, waiters, waitresses servers, or chefs, etc., are taxable even though if separately stated segregated at the time of billing. The sales Sales and use tax is not applied to charges for announcers, hat check girls, doormen coat check services, ushers, or other persons not connected with the preparation preparing or serving of prepared food, meals, or alcoholic beverages, provided that if the charges made for the these services of such persons are separately stated on the invoice and the nature of the type of service is adequately described.

083.04 Fraternities, sororities, and other student societies with members residing at a common location and jointly sharing household expenses including meals are not considered to be selling at retail and meals furnished to members are exempt.
083.05 Persons operating summer camps for which a single charge is made to attend are not deemed selling meals at retail. 
083.06 The sales Sales and use tax applies to the sale sales of meals, prepared food, or alcoholic beverages by railroads, airlines, or other transportation companies while operating in Nebraska.

083.06A Sales of meals, food, or beverages delivered to such carriers in this state to be furnished to passengers without separate charge are retail sales to the carriers and are taxable in accordance with Reg-1-087, Food for Human Consumption, without regard to where served to passengers If transportation companies provide prepared food or alcoholic beverages to passengers without charge, the transportation company’s purchases of prepared food or alcoholic beverages are considered retail sales and subject to sales or use tax regardless of where the prepared food or alcoholic beverages are served to passengers.

083.07 Where a percentage of the guest check representing gratuities or tips is added by the meal provider If a retailer adds a charge for gratuities or tips to charges for meals or dinners prepared food and alcoholic beverages, these charges are taxable even though if all or a portion of the amount is paid by the vendor retailer to his or her employees.

083.07A Gratuities Discretionary gratuities or tips of discretionary amounts given by the customers are exempt even though they may be if charged to the customer's account and not paid directly to the server, waiter, or waitress at the time of sale or service.

083.08 Sales and use tax does not apply with respect to the sale of meals and food products, including soft drinks and candy, for human consumption when sold or served (a) to patients and inmates of hospitals and other institutions licensed by the state for the care of human beings (b) by a church at a function of such church, or (c) by public or private schools, school districts, student organizations, or parent-teacher associations pursuant to an agreement with the proper school authorities, in an elementary or secondary school or any institution of higher education, public or private, during the regular school day or at an approved function of any such school or institution.

083.08A Concession sales are generally taxable. (Reg-1-041, Concessionaire Sales)

083.08 The following sales of prepared food are not taxable:

083.08A Prepared food sold and served by a religious organization at a function of the religious organization;

083.08B Prepared food sold and served to patients, residents, and inmates of hospitals and other institutions licensed by the state for the care of human beings;

083.08C Prepared food sold and served at political fund-raising events by ballot question committees, candidate committees, independent committees, and political party committees;

083.08D Prepared food sold and served to the elderly, handicapped, or recipients of Supplemental Security Income by organizations that accept payments from the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP);

083.08E Any purchases made with payments from SNAP; and

083.08F Prepared food sold or served by public or private schools, school districts, student organizations, or parent-teacher associations pursuant to an agreement with the proper school authorities, or in an elementary or secondary school or any institution of higher education, public or private, during the regular school day or at an approved function of the school or institution. (Reg-1-092, Educational Institutions).  

083.08F(1) This exemption does not apply to sales of prepared food at a facility or event that is open to the public except for concession sales by elementary and secondary schools.

083.09 Fraternities, sororities, dorms, boarding houses, retirement communities, or other residential facilities where members or residents reside at a common location and prepared food is provided by the residential facilities as part of the agreement for occupancy, are not selling prepared food at retail.  

083.09A If the residential facility contracts with a caterer, restaurant, or other food service provider to provide prepared food to members or residents of the residential facility, the charge to the residential facility is subject to sales and use tax.

083.09B If prepared food is provided to non-members or non-residents for a charge, or if there is a charge for additional prepared food served to the member or resident, the charge is subject to sales and use tax.  

083.10 If a recreational, athletic, or summer camp charges a single price for attendance, these charges are not considered sales of prepared food and are exempt from sales and use tax.

083.09 083.11 Organizations which that conduct fund-raising functions at which where prepared food and alcoholic beverages are is served are to must compute the tax in accordance with section .06 of Reg-1-090.06, Nonprofit Organizations. The organizations may purchase meals prepared food or alcoholic beverages for such these functions for resale.

083.10 Payments by an employer to a meal service provider for meals for employees are 083.12 If an employer pays to have prepared food or alcoholic beverages provided to its employees, the charge is taxable if whether the employer pays the entire price, an amount per meal, or a percentage of the price of a meal. The payments made by an employer to the meal provider as subsidies or management fees, that are not included above, are not considered payments for the sale of property and are not taxable. 

083.12A Management fees or subsidy payments made by an employer to the provider, that are not based on the number served or the amount charged, are not taxable retail sales. 

083.12BThe Any amount paid by an employee for the meal prepared food is taxable subject to sales tax.

083.13 If a caterer, restaurant, or other food service provider provides prepared food to its employees, no use tax is due on the ingredients used to provide the free meals because food and food ingredients are not taxable.  Any amount paid by an employee for the prepared food is subject to sales tax.
083.11 Organizations that accept food coupons may sell meals to the elderly, handicapped, recipients of supplemental security income, or participants of alcohol or drug addiction or rehabilitation programs exempt. (Reg-1-087, Food for Human Consumption.) 
083.14 Concession sales are sales of food, prepared food, or alcoholic beverages made during the conduct of an event or recreational activity. Examples of concession sales include sales made at athletic events, concerts, movies, plays, amusement parks, fairs, and golf courses.

083.14A The sales tax does not have to be separately stated and collected from the customer on concession sales of food, prepared food, and alcoholic beverages. Retailers who do not separately state the sales tax will determine their taxable receipts using the procedure set out in Reg-1-008.03. Including the tax in the sales price does not exempt the concession retailer from reporting and remitting the applicable sales tax on the gross receipts from those sales. 

083.14B The concession retailer may separately state and collect sales tax if he or she chooses to do so.

083.14C If more than 75% of the sales of the concession retailer are sales of prepared food under 083.02A or 083.02B as calculated under 083.02C(3), and eating utensils, as defined in 083.02C are available on the premises, the concession retailer must collect sales tax on all its sales.

(Sections 77-2702.15, 77-2702.17,  and 77-2704.10, 77-2701.16,  77-2704.24, and 77-2704.25, R.R.S., 2009, and sections 77-2703(1)(c) and 77-2704.10, R.S. Supp. 2011.May 14, 1994_____.)

REG-1-087 FOOD FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION OR FOOD INGREDIENTS

087.01 Items that are food Sales of food or food ingredients are exempt from sales and use tax.

087.01A Food or food ingredients means substances, whether in liquid, concentrated, solid, frozen, dried, or dehydrated form, that are sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and are consumed for their taste or nutritional value.

087.01A(1) Food or food ingredients includes, but is not limited to: cereals, eggs, fruits, meats, vegetables, milk, health foods consumed in place of other foods and not as a vitamin or mineral supplement, flour, cooking oils, sugar, soft drinks, bottled water, ice, candy, and chewing gum.

087.01A(2) Any food products with the “Nutrition Facts” box on their labels as required by 21 C.F.R. § 101.9, are food or food ingredients that are exempt from sales tax under this section.

087.01B Food or food ingredients does not include alcoholic beverages, dietary supplements, or tobacco.

087.01B(1) Dietary supplement means any product, other than tobacco, intended to supplement the diet that is not presented as conventional food and that is required to be labeled as a dietary supplement, identifiable by the supplemental facts box “Supplemental Fact Box” found on the label as required by 21 C.F.R. § 101.36.

087.02 Prepared foods, vending machine sales, concessionaire sales, and sales by caterers All sales of prepared food, including sales by caterers and concessionaires and all sales of food, prepared food, and food ingredients through vending machines are subject to tax (Reg-1-031, Coin-Operated Machines, and Reg-1-083, Prepared Food and Drink Service).

087.03 Prepared foods are foods generally intended for, and which are ready for, immediate consumption. Prepared foods means: 
087.03A Food sold with eating utensils provided by the seller;

0087.03B Food sold in a heated state or heated by the seller; or

087.03C Two or more food ingredients mixed or combined by the seller for sale as a single item, but not including;
087.03C(1) Food that is only cut, repackaged, or pasteurized by the seller;

087.03C(2) Food sold in an unheated state by weight or volume as a single item; and

087.03C(3) Eggs, fish, meat, poultry, and foods containing these raw animal foods requiring cooking by the consumer to prevent food borne illnesses.

087.04 Prepared foods does not include:

087.04A Food sold by a manufacturer whose primary NAICS classification is a food manufacturer; or

087.04B Bakery items such as bagels, bread, donuts, cakes, pies, cookies, and tortillas.
087.05 The following sales of prepared foods are not taxable:

087.05A Certain meals and food served or sold by schools, school groups, and churches, or served to patients by organizations licensed by the state for the care of human beings, (See Reg-1-083, Food Service);

087.05B Meals and food sold at political fund-raising events by ballot question committees, candidate committees, independent committees, and political party committees;

087.05C Meals and food sold by organizations for the elderly, handicapped, or recipients of Supplemental Security Income authorized to accept electronic benefits transfer or food coupons; and

087.05D Concession sales of food by certain schools or school groups as set forth in Reg-1-092, Educational Institutions.

087.06 Sales of food by a retailer of prepared foods when the retailer maintains adequate records on each sale of food are not taxable. If adequate records of food sales are not maintained, sales tax must be collected on such sales of food.

087.07 Any purchases actually made with food coupons, or the electronic equivalent, are not taxable.
087.08 Garden seeds, bulbs, and plants that produce food for human consumption are taxable, unless actually purchased with food coupons, or the electronic equivalent, or when purchased by commercial producers for use in commercial agriculture.

(Sections 77-2704.24, 77-2704.25, and 77-2704.54, R.R.S. 2009 and section 77-2704.10, R.S. Supp. 2011. March 7, 2006_____.)

REG-1-090 NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS

090.01 The fact that an organization is nonprofit does not, by itself, entitle the organization to an exemption from payment of sales and use tax on its purchases. The following Some nonprofit organizations will be are exempt from payment of the Nebraska sales and use tax on purchases to the extent indicated described in subsections 090.02A through 090.04B of this regulation.  Purchases made by these organizations are exempt only after the organization has applied for and received an exemption certificate a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption from the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). Religious organizations are discussed in Reg-1-091, Religious Organizations; and educational institutions are discussed in Reg-1-092, Educational Institutions. All other nonprofit organizations are not exempt and must pay the sales and or use tax. The following nonprofit organizations are exempt from paying sales and use taxes to the extent indicated.

090.01A090.02 A nonprofit organization operating any of the following facilities that are licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act is only exempt on purchases for use at the facility, or portion of the facility, covered by the license and on purchases for use outside the facility that are necessary to fulfill the nonprofit organization’s requirements to hold or maintain its license. Any purchases by the nonprofit organization for use at facilities not included in the license, or for any other activities of the nonprofit organization are not exempt from the Nebraska sales and use tax.

090.01A(1) 090.02A A nonprofit hospital licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes;.

090.01A(2) 090.02B A nonprofit health clinic licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes, when two one or more hospitals, or the parent corporations of the hospitals, own or control the health clinic for the purpose of reducing the cost of health services, or when the health clinic receives federal funds through the United States Public Health Service;.
090.01A(3) 090.02C A nonprofit skilled nursing facility licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes;.
090.01A(4) 090.02D A nonprofit An intermediate care facility defined in section Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-420, and a nonprofit intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded defined in section Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-421, and a nonprofit organization providing community-based services for the developmentally disabled which are licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes;.
090.01A(5) 090.02E A nonprofit nursing facility licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes;.
090.02F An assisted-living facility.

090.02G Beginning October 1, 2012, a mental health center.
090.03 A nonprofit organization operating any of the following activities or facilities that are licensed  or certified by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, is only exempt on purchases for use in the activity or at the facility, or portion of the facility, covered by the license or certification and on purchases for use outside the activity or facility that are necessary to fulfill the nonprofit organization’s requirements to hold or maintain its license or certification. Any purchases by the nonprofit organization for use at the activities or facilities not included in the license or certification, or for any other activities, are not exempt from the Nebraska sales and use tax.
090.01A(6) 090.03A A licensed child placing or child placement agency;. and

090.01A(7) 090.03B A licensed child-caring agency, providing 24-hour daily care, supervision, custody, or control of children, in lieu of care or supervision normally exercised by parents in their own home, and that is licensed under sections Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-1901 to 71-1904 71-1906.01 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes;.

090.01A(7)(a) 090.03B(1) A licensed child-caring agency does not include an organization providing day care, early childhood programs, and or periodic care as defined in section Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-1910 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. 

090.03C An organization providing community-based services for the developmentally disabled that is certified under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act.

090.01B 090.03D An organization operating a home health agency, hospice, or hospice or respite care service licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act A nonprofit organization operating any of the following facilities or activities is only exempt on purchases for use at the facility or portion of the facility covered by the license, or for the activities covered by the license. Any purchases by the nonprofit organization for use at facilities not included in the license or for any other activities of the nonprofit organization not included in the license, are not exempt from the Nebraska sales and use tax.

090.01B(1) A nonprofit home health agency licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes; and 
090.01B(2) An  organization operating a licensed hospice or providing hospice services or respite care services licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes.

090.01C 090.04 The following nonprofit organizations are exempt from sales and use tax on all purchases.:

090.01C(1) 090.04A A nonprofit organization providing services exclusively to the blind; and

090.01C(2) 090.04B The State Fair Board.

090.02 090.05 The nonprofit organization seeking exemption from payment of sales and use tax must complete submit a Nebraska Exemption Application for Sales and Use Tax, Form 4, accompanied by the necessary supporting documentation. Exemptions are granted to nonprofit organizations listed under Reg-1-090.01A 090.02 through Reg-1-090.01C(2) 090.04B, based on a presentation of the factual documentation that is presented. In those instances where licensure or certification is a requirement, the Department will contact the state agency responsible for issuing that the license will be contacted to confirm that the license or certification was issued.  Organizations Nonprofit organizations approved for exemption from payment of sales and or use tax are issued an a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption. This certificate assigns the nonprofit organization an exemption number (05-XXXXXXX), which must be used in when claiming its exemption.

090.03 090.06 The nonprofit organization must give its supplier seller a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, as proof of its exempt status. Section B of this certificate, or an approved substitute form, shall must be completed in accordance with Reg-1-014, Exempt Sale Certificate.

090.04 090.07 Only the nonprofit organization that has been issued an a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption may make purchases to be used by and for the purposes of the nonprofit organization without payment of sales or use tax. Affiliated or subsidiary organizations, although operating in support of or under the guidance of an exempt organization, may not use cannot make tax exempt purchases using the an exempt nonprofit organization's exemption certificate, even if they are operating in support of or under the guidance of the exempt organization. The affiliated or subsidiary organization must apply for its own exemption certificate. The affiliated or subsidiary organization may or may not qualify for its own exemption certificate.

090.04A 090.07A The sales and use tax exemption does not extend to a person purchasing property or services to be given or donated to an exempt nonprofit organization. For an item to be purchased these purchases to be tax exempt, the person must donate the funds to the nonprofit organization, and the nonprofit organization must make the purchase the item. A retailer donating inventory to an exempt organization is required to pay the use tax on the item donated. Any person who removes property from inventory that was originally purchased sales tax exempt with a resale certificate, and donates the property to an exempt nonprofit organization, must remit use tax on the property donated. (Reg-1-035, Consumption of Untaxed Property)

090.04B 090.07B An exempt nonprofit organization engaging in a construction or repair projects project will receive the benefit of its tax exempt status by giving the contractor a Purchasing Agent Appointment, Form 17, and complying with the provisions of Reg-1-017, Contractors. Organizations 

090.07C When a nonprofit organization is engaging in a construction or repair project, it that must be licensed or certified to be exempt from sales and use tax. But, if it was not licensed or certified at the time of the purchase, the nonprofit organization must pay sales tax or remit use tax, or have the contractor pay tax on all and cannot issue either a Purchasing Agent Appointment, Form 17, or a Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, to any contractor relating to purchases of building materials for construction or repair performed before licensing or certification. After licensing, the organization may apply for a refund. When the nonprofit organization becomes licensed or certified upon completion of the project, it may apply for a refund of the sales tax paid or collected, or the use tax remitted by any contractor on building materials necessary to open the facility and qualify for the license or certification.
090.07D A nonprofit organization required to be licensed or certified to be exempt from sales and use tax, but that is not licensed or certified at the time of the purchase, cannot make tax exempt purchases. When the nonprofit organization becomes licensed or certified upon completion of the project, it may apply for a refund of the sales or use tax paid on the equipment, furnishings, or supplies necessary to open the facility and qualify for the license or certification.

090.07E When a nonprofit organization is required to be licensed or certified to be exempt from sales and use tax, the organization may only make tax exempt purchases during the time that any required license or certification is valid.

090.05 090.08 A nonprofit organization is required to collect sales tax on sales of property made by the organization, with the exception of those sales enumerated in Reg-1-012.02Aunless the sale is otherwise exempt. Even an organization exempted exempt from payment of paying sales and use tax under Reg-1-090.01 above this regulation, is required to collect sales tax on its taxable sales of property and services to the general public or to the members of the organization.  Examples include: prepared food, (Reg-1-083, Food Service); copies of records, (Reg-1-080, Documents); and admissions, (Reg-1-044, Admissions).

090.05A Organizations 090.08A Nonprofit organizations making sales of property or services of a type subject to the sales tax must apply for a Nebraska Sales Tax Permit using a Nebraska Tax Application, Form 20, and collect sales tax on the gross receipts from such these sales. 

090.08B When the Any nonprofit organization purchases the may purchase property for resale, it shall complete without paying sales tax if it issues a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, section A, and give it to its supplier seller. This certificate, or an approved substitute form, shall must be issued in accordance with Reg-1-013, Sale for Resale-Resale Certificate.

090.06 090.09 When a nonprofit organization charges for a fund-raising event that includes either prepared food or an admission for entertainment, recreation, or amusement, and the charge is combined with the solicitation of a contribution, the portion of the amount charged representing that represents the fair market value of the taxable prepared food or admission what is received is a retail sale and the nonprofit organization must collect and remit sales tax on that portion. 

090.09A The nonprofit organization shall must determine the amount properly attributable to the fair market value in advance and shall clearly indicate that amount on any ticket, receipt, or other evidence issued in connection with the payment and report and remit sales tax on that amount. If the charge for fair market value and the contribution amount are not separately stated, the total charge is taxable.
090.06A 090.09B If there is no fair market value determined by the nonprofit organization, and there is more than one ticket price, and all purchasers receive substantially the same benefits, the price of the lowest ticket price ticket shall be is presumed to be the fair market value of all tickets sold.

090.09C If there is no fair market value determined by the nonprofit organization, and fair market value cannot be determined under Reg-1-090.09B, the total charge is taxable.

090.07 090.10 Charges by committees registered with the Political Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission, or committees for candidates for federal office, for admission to or for meals or prepared food served at political fund-raising events are exempt from sales or use tax.

090.07A 090.10A All other sales of property by committees, other than committees for candidates for federal office, are taxable.

090.07B Committee 090.10B Committees as used in Reg-1-090.07 includes mean ballot question committees, candidate committees, independent committees, and political party committees.

090.11 Purchases by employees or members of the nonprofit organization using their own funds are subject to sales or use tax, even if the purchases are made on behalf of the nonprofit organization, and even if the organization will be reimbursing the employees or members for expenses incurred, including purchases of prepared food and lodging.

(Section 77-2701.33, R.R.S. 2009, and sections 77-2704.10 and 77-2704.12, R.S. Supp., 2011. February 22, 2009_____.)

REG-1-091 RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS

091.01 Nonprofit Organizations organizations created exclusively for religious purposes will be are exempt from payment of the Nebraska sales and or use tax after the organization has applied for and received a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption from the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). This certificate assigns the organization an exemption number (05-XXXXXXX), which must be used in when claiming its exemption.

091.02 The nonprofit religious organization must give its supplier seller a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, as proof of its exempt status. Section B of this certificate, or an approved substitute form, must be completed in accordance with (Reg-1-014, Exempt Sale Certificate).

091.02A Only the nonprofit religious organization that has been issued an a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption may make purchases to be used by and for the purposes of the nonprofit religious organization without payment of sales or use tax. Affiliated or subsidiary organizations, although operating in support of or under the guidance of an exempt organization, may not use for example, separately organized day care centers, youth groups, or vacation bible schools, cannot make tax exempt purchases using the an exempt nonprofit religious organization's exemption certificate, even if they are operating in support of or under the guidance of the exempt organization. The affiliated or subsidiary organization must apply for its own exemption certificate. The affiliated or subsidiary organization may or may not qualify for its own exemption certificate.

091.02B The sales and use tax exemption does not extend to a person purchasing property or services to be given or donated to an exempt nonprofit religious organization. For an item to be purchased these purchases to be tax exempt, the person must donate the funds to the nonprofit religious organization, and the nonprofit religious organization must make the purchase the item. A retailer donating inventory to an exempt organization is required to pay the use tax on the item donated. Any person who removes property from inventory that was originally purchased sales tax exempt with a resale certificate, and donates the property to an exempt nonprofit religious organization, must remit use tax on the property donated. (Reg-1-035, Consumption of Untaxed Property)
091.02C An exempt nonprofit religious organization engaging in a construction or repair projects project will receive the benefit of its tax exempt status by giving the contractor a Purchasing Agent Appointment, Form 17, and complying with the provisions of Reg-1-017, Contractors.

091.03 A nonprofit organization that meets the following criteria will be considered as created exclusively for religious purposes. The specific tenets of a particular religion will not be compared or considered by the Nebraska Department of Revenue when reviewing an application for tax exempt status.

091.03A The nonprofit organization must affirmatively establish its right to exemption by demonstrating that it is organized and is being operated exclusively for religious purposes. The applicant must also demonstrate that it is organized and operated in accordance with the basic principles of charity. A mere restatement of the applicant's corporate charter or a statement of its proposed activities will not suffice.

091.03B It’s theThe nonprofit organization’s net earnings cannot be used for private gain or benefit. Upon dissolution, all assets and accumulated earnings must be distributed to an organization exempt under section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, § 501(c).

091.03C Exempt tax status will be granted by the Department only if the applicant's operation and activities are described in sufficient detail to require a conclusion that the nonprofit organization has met the requirements.

091.04 Each application will be examined by the Department to determine if the primary or dominant purpose for which the nonprofit organization has been created, if that purpose is religious and charitable, and if that purpose is being carried out in the operations of the organization.

091.05 In reviewing applications from nonprofit religious organizations seeking an exemption certificate as a religious organization, the Department may examine certain criteria, including, but not limited to, the following those listed in Reg-1-091.05A through 091.05N. No single criterion is controlling when making a determination of tax exempt status.  These criteria include:

091.05A A distinct legal existence.;

091.05B A recognized creed and form of worship.;
091.05C A definite and distinct ecclesiastical government.;
091.05D A formal code of doctrine and discipline.;
091.05E A distinct religious history.;
091.05F A membership not associated with any other religious organization or denomination.;
091.05G A complete organization of ministers ministering to its congregations.;
091.05H Ministers selected after completing prescribed courses of study.;
091.05I A literature of its own.;
091.05J Established places of worship.;
091.05K Regular congregations.;
091.05L Regular religious services.;
091.05M Schools for the religious instruction of the young.; and
091.05N Schools for the preparation of its ministers.

091.06 If the Department determines that the applicant is a nonprofit religious organization, it may have other purposes which are incidental when compared to its predominantly religious purposes or goals. In such these instances, the applicant may not satisfy all of the criteria set out above.

091.07 A nonprofit religious organization must is required to collect sales tax on sales of property by the nonprofit religious organization to the general public or to its members unless the sale is otherwise exempt. A nonprofit religious organization may make the following sales without collecting the exempt from sales tax.

091.07A A nonprofit religious organization may sell meals prepared food at a function of the nonprofit religious organization without collecting sales tax. The activity will be is considered a function of the nonprofit religious organization function if it is primarily for the members of the organization.

091.07B A nonprofit religious organization may have one annual sale event that is not taxed.

091.07B(1) The sale must be at an activity of the nonprofit religious organization, but it does not have to take place at the a location owned by the nonprofit religious organization.

091.07B(2) The sale may last up to three consecutive days.

091.07B(3) The nonprofit religious organization may have the assistance of an auctioneer at this sale without having to collect the sales tax on the items property or services sold.

091.07B(4) The nonprofit religious organization may sell anything it owns at its sale, except a motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer. The items property or services sold may be new and made especially for the sale, purchased for the sale, or they may be donated to the nonprofit religious organization for the sale.

091.08 Any nonprofit religious organization may purchase property for resale. They shall issue without paying sales tax if it issues a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, section A, to its supplier seller. (Reg-1-013, Sale for Resale-Resale Certificate). This certificate, or an approved substitute form, must be issued in accordance with Reg-1-014, Exempt Sale Certificate.
091.09 Purchases by employees or members of the nonprofit religious organization using their own funds are subject to sales or use tax, even if the purchases are made on behalf of the nonprofit religious organization, and even if the organization will be reimbursing the employees or members for expenses incurred, including purchases of prepared food and lodging.

(Sections  77-2702.09, 77-2701.24 and 77-2706, R.R.S. 2009, and sections 77-2703, 77-2704.10, and 77-2704.12, R.S. Supp., 2011.  May 14, 1994_____.)

REG-1-092 EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS

092.01 The following educational institutions will be are exempt from payment of the Nebraska sales and use tax after the institution has applied for and received a certificate of exemption Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption from the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department).:

092.01A A Nebraska public elementary or secondary school, or school district;

092.01B A nonprofit private Nebraska private elementary or secondary educational institution established under Chapter 79, article 16, of the Nebraska Revised Statutes; 

092.01C A Nebraska technical community college, established under Chapter 85, Article 15;

092.01D A Nebraska educational service units unit, established under the Educational Service Units Act, Chapter 79, Article 12;

092.01E Nebraska School for the Deaf; A Nebraska learning community established under Chapter 79, Article 21;
092.01F The Nebraska School for the Center for the Education of Children who are Blind or Visually Impaired, established by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 79-11,109;

092.01G The Nebraska State College System, established under Chapter 85, Article 3;

092.01H The University of Nebraska System, established under Chapter 85, Article 1; and

092.01I A nonprofit, private, regionally or nationally accredited college or university with its primary campus located in Nebraska that is authorized under the Postsecondary Institution Act, Chapter 85, Article 24; and

092.01IJ A conference or other organization, if all the members of the conference or organization are exempt from payment of the Nebraska sales or and use tax.
092.02 Schools and other educational institutions not listed in Reg-1-092.01 are not exempt, and must pay the sales tax and or remit use tax on their taxable purchases. These include, but are not limited to:

092.02A Home schools, other Rule 12 and Rule 13 schools, and all other educational institutions not subject to state approval or accreditation; and

092.02B Schools, colleges, or universities from located in another state.
092.03 The educational institution seeking exemption from payment of sales and use tax must complete submit a Nebraska Exemption Application for Sales and Use Tax, Form 4, accompanied by the necessary supporting documentation. In those instances where approval or accreditation is a requirement for an educational institution, the Nebraska Department of Education may be contacted to confirm the approval or accreditation. Educational institutions approved for exemption from payment of sales and use tax are issued an a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption. This certificate assigns the educational institution an exemption number (05-XXXXXXX), which must be used in when claiming its exemption.

092.04 The educational institution must give its supplier seller a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, as proof of its exempt status. Section B of this certificate, or an approved substitute form, shall must be completed in accordance with Reg-1-014, Exempt Sale Certificate.

092.05 Only the educational institution that has been issued an a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption may make purchases to be used by and for the purposes of the educational institution without payment of sales or use tax. 092.06 Affiliated or subsidiary organizations, including student organizations or parent-teacher-student organizations, although operating in support of or under the guidance of an exempt institution, may not use the cannot make tax exempt purchases using an exempt educational exempt institution's certificate of exemption, even if they are operating in support of or under the guidance of the educational institution.

092.06A 092.05A The sales and use tax exemption does not extend to a person purchasing property or services to be given or donated to an exempt educational institution. For an item to be purchased these purchases to be tax exempt, the person must donate the funds to the educational institution, and the educational institution must make the purchase the item. A retailer donating inventory to an exempt institution is required to pay the use tax on the item donated. Any person who removes property from inventory that was originally purchased sales tax exempt with a resale certificate, and donates the property to an exempt educational institution, must remit use tax on the property donated. (Reg-1-035, Consumption of Untaxed Property)
092.06B 092.05B  An exempt educational institution engaging in a construction or repair projects project will receive the benefit of its tax exempt status by giving the contractor a Purchasing Agent Appointment, Form 17, and complying with the provisions of Reg-1-017, Contractors. Organizations that must be licensed to be exempt must pay tax or have the contractor pay tax on all building materials for construction or repair performed before licensing. After licensing, the institution may then apply for a refund.

092.05C When an educational institution is engaging in a construction or repair project, it must be approved or accredited to be exempt from sales and use tax. But, if it was not approved or accredited at the time of the purchase, the educational institution must pay sales tax or remit use tax, and cannot issue either a Purchasing Agent Appointment, Form 17, or a Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, to any contractor relating to purchases of building materials for construction or repair performed before approval or accreditation. When the educational institution becomes approved or accredited upon completion of the project, it may apply for a refund of the sales tax paid or collected, or the use tax remitted by any contractor on building materials necessary to open the facility and qualify for the approval or accreditation. 

092.05D An educational institution required to be approved or accredited to be exempt from sales and use tax, but that is not approved or accredited at the time of the purchase, cannot make tax exempt purchases. When the educational institution becomes approved or accredited upon completion of the project, it may apply for a refund of the sales or use tax paid on the equipment, furnishings, or supplies necessary to open the facility and qualify for the license or certification.

092.05E When an educational institution is required to be approved or accredited to be exempt from sales and use tax, the educational institution may only make tax exempt purchases during the time that any required approval or accreditation is valid.

092.07 092.06 An educational institution is required to collect sales tax on sales of property and services made by the educational institution to the general public or to the members of the institution. The educational institution may make the following sales without collecting tax. An organization approved by the educational institution may make the sales specified in the following subparagraphs without collecting tax. except for:

092.07A 092.06A Admissions charged by public or private elementary or secondary schools or school districts;

092.07B 092.06B Admissions charged by school districts, student organizations, or parent-teacher associations to an event or activity held in a public or private an elementary or secondary school during the regular school day, or at an approved function of the school;

092.07C 092.06C Meals and food products, including Prepared food, soft drinks, and candy, served during the regular school day or at school functions not open to the general public, sold by:;

092.07C(1) 092.06C(1) An elementary or secondary school or school district;

092.07C(2) 092.06C(2) A student organization or parent-teacher association of an elementary or secondary school; and or

092.07C(3) 092.06C(3) An institution of higher education, public or private.

092.07D 092.06D Concession sales of prepared food, soft drinks, and candy by elementary and secondary schools at events including those open to the public;

092.07E 092.06E Sales by parent-booster clubs, parent-teacher associations, parent-teacher-student associations, or school-operated stores approved by elementary or secondary schools, if the proceeds are used to support school activities or the school itself; or

092.07F 092.06F The occasional Occasional rental of rooms or accommodations regularly used to house students in dormitories or facilities operated by an educational institution established under Chapter 79 or 85 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes.

092.06G For purposes of the exemptions in subsections 092.06A through 092.06F:

092.06G(1) Schools include both public and private elementary and secondary schools; and

092.06G(2) Schools and school districts include organizations of schools and school districts, acting on behalf of its members in carrying out school events, activities, or functions.

092.08 092.07 Organizations An educational institution making sales of property or services of a type subject to the sales tax must apply for a Nebraska Sales Tax Permit using a Nebraska Tax Application, Form 20 and collect sales tax on the gross receipts from the sale these sales. When the 

092.08 Any educational institution purchases the may purchase property for resale, it shall complete without paying sales tax if it issues a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, section A, and give it to its supplier seller. This certificate, or an approved substitute form, shall must be issued in accordance with Reg-1-013, Sale for Resale-Resale Certificate.

092.09 Purchases by employees of the educational institution, or members of parent-booster clubs, parent-teacher associations, or parent-student-teacher associations, using their own funds are subject to sales or use tax, even if the purchases are made on behalf of the educational institution, and even if the educational institution will be reimbursing the employees or members for expenses incurred, including purchases of prepared food and lodging.

(Sections  77-2704.24 and 77-2704.25, R.R.S. 2009, and sections 77-2704.10, 77-2704.12, and 77-2704.15, R.S. Supp, 2011. March 7, 2006_____.)

REG-1-093 GOVERNMENTAL UNITS

093.01 Governmental units are only exempt from sales and use tax if they are specifically listed in either subsections 093.04 or 093.05 through 093.06 of this regulation. Provisions concerning school districts  Public educational institutions are discussed in Reg-1-092, Educational Institutions. Governmental units are not assigned exemption numbers.
093.02 Employees of governmental units are not exempt. The employees are not exempt even when the governmental unit will be reimbursing them for expenses incurred, such as travel expenses. Governmental units are not required to have exemption numbers.
093.03 An exemption from sales and use tax has been granted to the The United States (U.S.) government, its agencies, instrumentalities, and corporations wholly owned by the U.S. government are exempt from sales and use tax. However, sales to institutions chartered or created under federal authority, but which are not directly operated and controlled by the U.S. government for the benefit of the public, are generally taxable. (see See Reg-1-072, United States Government and Federal Corporations, for organizations considered a part of the United States U.S. government.)

093.04 An exemption from sales and use tax has been granted to the The following units of government governmental units in Nebraska are exempt from sales and use tax. The exemption granted to any governmental unit in this subsection does not include any departments or portion of the governmental unit that sells electricity, gas, heat, or water. The governmental unit will be taxed the same as any other utility company. (Reg-1-066, Sewer and Water, and Reg-1-089, Energy Source Utility Exemption.) The exempt units are:

093.04A The State of Nebraska;

093.04B A Nebraska drainage district municipality, including a municipal library;

093.04C A Nebraska county or township, including a county or township library;

093.04D A Nebraska elected county fair natural resource district;

093.04E A Nebraska county library;

093.04F A Nebraska township board;

093.04G 093.04E A Nebraska city joint entity or agency formed to fulfill the purposes of the Integrated Solid Waste Management Act;

093.04H A Nebraska municipal library;

093.04I A Nebraska village; 

093.04J 093.04F A Nebraska city, county, or joint airport authority; 

093.04K093.04GA Nebraska natural resource district An elected county fair board; 

093.04L 093.04H A Nebraska rural or suburban fire protection district; and

093.04I A drainage district;

093.04M 093.04J A Nebraska local or regional housing agency, except for purchases for any commercial operation that does not exclusively benefit the residents of the affordable housing project; and

093.04K Wyuka Cemetery.

093.05 An exemption from sales and use tax has been granted to the following units of government A Nebraska irrigation or reclamation district, including one that is part of a Nebraska public power and irrigation district, is exempt from sales and use tax, including. The exemption granted to any governmental unit in this subsection includes any departments or portion of the governmental unit district that sells electricity, gas, heat, or water, and applies to any such activities performed by the governmental unit.:

0093.05A A Nebraska irrigation or reclamation district; and
0093.05B The irrigation district of any Nebraska public power and irrigation district.

093.06 A nonprofit corporation formed by an exempt governmental unit listed in sections 093.04 or 093.05 for the sole purpose of issuing tax-exempt bonds to finance one or more projects for the exempt governmental unit is exempt from sales and use tax for building materials, equipment, or other property purchased for the project or projects with the proceeds from the tax-exempt bonds to the same extent the exempt governmental unit would be exempt, if all of the following conditions are satisfied:

093.06A The nonprofit corporation is essentially public in nature;

093.06B The exempt governmental unit holds a beneficial interest in the nonprofit corporation; 

093.06C The nonprofit corporation has or will issue bonds on behalf of the exempt governmental unit to finance a project or projects where the interest paid on the bonds is exempt from federal income tax under 26 U.S.C. § 103;

093.06D The project or projects will be the subject of a lease-purchase agreement, financing lease, or other instrument which provides for the transfer of full legal title to the property to the governmental unit when all amounts due under the lease or other instrument are paid and the indebtedness is retired; and

093.06E If a construction project has a total estimated cost greater than $50,000 or 0.6% of the total actual value of real and personal property of the exempt governmental unit for the previous fiscal year, whichever is greater, the construction project must have been approved by a majority of the voters of the exempt governmental unit at a primary, general, or special election. 

093.06 093.07 All governmental units not listed in sections 093.04 or 093.05 through 093.06 must pay the sales tax or remit use tax on taxable purchases. Governmental units that must pay the tax are not exempt from sales and use tax include, but are not limited to:

093.06 A County agricultural societies;

093.06 B County historical societies;

093.06C 093.07A Railroad A railroad transportation safety districts district;

 093.06D 093.07B Rural A rural water districts district;

 093.06E 093.07C Sanitary A sanitary and improvement districts district; 

 093.06F 093.07D Other states Another state and units any unit of government in other states;093.06F(1) Other states another state except that another state, and units of governments in other states are any unit of government in another state, is tax exempt on the purchase for purchases of industrial equipment in this state, including parts for repairs, provided if the other state grants a similar reciprocal exemption to Nebraska and its units of government; and

 093.06G 093.07E Weed districts A county weed district board. 

093.07 093.08 Organizations such as the following which are not governmental units, but which may assist in performing governmental functions are taxable not exempt from sales or use tax. These organizations include, but are not limited to:

093.07 093.08A Volunteer A volunteer fire departments department;

093.08B A county agricultural society or county historical society;

093.07B 093.08C Corporations A corporation created under the Nebraska Nonprofit Corporation Act of the Nebraska Revised Statutes;

093.07C 093.08D Institutions An institution chartered or created under federal authority, but not directly operated and controlled by the United States U.S. government; and

093.07D 093.08E Organizations An organization using funds or grants from governmental entitiesunits.

093.08 093.09 An organization established under the Nebraska Interlocal Cooperation Act entirely by exempt governmental units may make purchases for its use without payment of exempt from sales and use tax after the organization has applied for and received a Nebraska Exempt Organization Certificate of Exemption from the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). If any of the members are not exempt, then the organization is not exempt on for any of its purchases.

093.09 An enumerated 093.10 The exempt governmental unit making purchases must issue give its suppliers seller a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, section B as proof of its exempt status.  Section B of this certificate, or an approved substitute form, must be completed in accordance with Reg-1-014, Exempt Sale Certificate. 

093.11 An enumerated exempt governmental unit engaging in a construction or repair project will receive the benefit of its exemption on construction or repair projects tax exempt status by giving the contractor a Purchasing Agent Appointment, Form 17, and complying with following the provisions of Reg-1-017, Contractors.

093.10 093.12 All A governmental units of the state will unit is required to collect sales tax on their sales of property by the governmental unit, unless the sale is otherwise exempt.

093.11 092.13 Sales by agencies and corporations of the federal U.S. government are addressed in Reg-1-072.05 not exempt The tax shall be collected and remitted by such agency or corporation unless such collection is specifically prohibited by federal law. If such collection is prohibited by specific federal law, the purchaser shall pay the use tax directly to the Department of Revenue.

093.12 093.14 Any governmental unit may purchase property tax exempt for resale. It shall issue if it issues a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, section A, to its supplier seller. (Reg-1-013, Sale for Resale-Resale Certificate.).  This certificate, or an approved substitute form, must be issued in accordance with Reg-1-014, Exempt Sale Certificate.

093.15 Purchases by employees of the governmental unit using their own funds are subject to sales or use tax, even if the purchases are made on behalf of the governmental unit, and even if the governmental unit will be reimbursing the employees for expenses incurred, including purchases of prepared food and lodging.
093.16 The exemptions granted to any governmental unit listed in 093.04 through 093.06 do not apply to purchases for use in the business of furnishing gas, water, electricity, or heat. The governmental unit will pay sales tax or remit use tax the same as any privately-owned utility company. (Reg-1-066, Sewer and Water, and Reg-1-089, Energy Source Utility Exemption.)

093.16A When property is shared by a taxable department and by an exempt department, (for example, a piece of equipment that is sometimes used by the water department and sometimes used by the sewer department), sales or use tax is due on the portion of the total amount paid that reflects the use by the taxable department. 

093.16A(1) The governmental unit may allocate the amount paid for the property between the exempt department and the taxable department by any method that reasonably reflects the use of the property by each department, and pay sales tax or remit use tax on the portion of the sales price that reflects the allocation to the taxable department.

093.16A(2) If a taxable department and tax exempt department divide the cost of the property, the portion of the sales price paid or reimbursed by each department is presumed to reflect the use by each department.

093.16B If a taxable department and an exempt department make simultaneous and continuous use of property, like duct space, pole space, or meters, 100% of the sales price of the property is taxable. Any charges made between departments for simultaneous and continuous use of property are exempt from sales tax.
093.16C For purposes of this section, “department” means a portion of a governmental unit listed in 093.04 through 094.06 that is responsible for a specific function of the governmental unit whether or not that portion has separate accounting, management, or property. 

(Section 2-953.01 21-1901, R.R.S. 2007, sections 77-2704.16, 77-2704.17, 77-2704.19, and 77-2704.20, R.R.S. 2009, section 77-2704.15, R.S. Supp. 2012, and 4 U.S.C. section 107 and 29 U.S.C section 103. February 22, 2009 _____.)

REG-1-110 CLAIMS FOR REFUND OF SALES OR USE TAX

110.01 Any person who has overpaid any sales or use tax may file a claim for a refund of the amount of tax overpaid. A claim for refund of sales or use tax (claim) must be filed with the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department) in accordance with Reg-33-002.01A.

110.01A The Department will not accept a claim if the amount claimed is less than $2.

110.01B If the claimant desires a hearing, a request for hearing must be made when the claim is filed or prior to the Tax Commissioner taking action on the claim. A claim is not presumed to be a request for a hearing.

110.01C Only the person who made the overpayment, or the person’s attorney-in-fact, executor, personal representative, or administrator, may file a claim. 

110.01D A claim must be filed within the time specified in Reg-33-002.01B.

110.02 The Tax Commissioner must allow or disallow a claim within 180 days after it has been filed. 

110.02A A request for a hearing waives the 180-day period. The claimant and the Tax Commissioner may also mutually agree to extend the 180-day period. 

110.02B If a hearing has not been requested, and the Tax Commissioner has not acted on the claim within 180 days or the period agreed to by the claimant and the Tax Commissioner, whichever is later, the claim is deemed to have been allowed.

110.02C Within 30 days after disallowing any claim in whole or in part, the Tax Commissioner will notify the claimant of the action taken in the same manner as a notice of deficiency determination.

110.03 The amount of overpayment may be credited or offset against any sales, use, income, or any other  tax, and any fees, interest, or penalties then due and payable to the state from the claimant.  Any remaining balance may be refunded to the claimant or its successor.  All refunds of sales and use tax will be paid electronically.  

110.04 Interest will not be allowed on claims unless the tax was originally paid pursuant to a notice of proposed deficiency issued by the Department under Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-2709 or 77-2710.  
 (Sections 77-27,194.01, 77-4108.01, 77-5729, and 77-5804, R.R.S. 2009, section 77-1784, R.S. Supp., 2010, and section 77-2708, R.S. Supp. 2011. _____)
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