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CHAPTER 8-0681

COURT-AND-LEGALISSUES-JUVENILE OFFENDERS

EorChild \Welfare Cases
1-001 INTRODUCTION AND OVERVIEW

1-001.01 Statutory Authority: State law provides for the supervision of juveniles by
employees of the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services—Office of Juvenile
Services (DHHS-0JS). The Office of Juvenile Services Act (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 43-401 to 43-
424) spells out roles and responsibilities for the Office and its workers. The Nebraska
Juvenile Code (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 43-245 to 43-2,129) authorizes DHHS-OJS to accept for
evaluation or commitment juveniles who have been so ordered by a juvenile court.

1-001.02 Scope:

1-001.02A Placement Change Hearings: This chapter outlines the hearing process for
placement changes of juvenile offenders who have been committed to DHHS-OJS for
community-based services.

1-001.02B Parole Revocation: This chapter outlines the parole revocation process for
juvenile offenders who were committed to DHHS-OJS for placement at a Youth
Rehabilitation and Treatment center prior to July 1, 2013. These are juveniles who:
1. Have been adjudicated as a juvenile offender under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-247
(1), (2), or (4) by the court;
2. Have been committed to the care and custody of DHHS-OJS by the court; and
3. Were committed to DHHS-OJS for placement at a Youth Rehabilitation and

Treatment center prior to July 1, 2013
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8-004-421-002 PLACEMENT CHANGE HEARINGS FOR JUVENILE OFFENDERS

1-002.01 Levels of Treatment: There are three levels of levels of treatment for juvenile
offenders. From least restrictive to most restrictive, the three levels of placement are:
1. In the juvenile’s home;
2. Out of the home (but still in the community); and
3. At a Youth Rehabilitation and Treatment Center (YRTC), or a similar setting identified
by the Department, which may be a self-contained, staff secure or secure facility.

1-002.02 A placement change that moves a juvenile offender to a more restrictive setting
must be approved by the juvenile court pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-408.

- DHHS OJS may move a juvenile

offender to a new placement at the same level of treatment or at a less restrictive level of
treatment without court approval pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-408. Written notice must be
given to the court and the involved parties as listed above 15 days before the proposed
change. The yeuthjuvenile offender may request an admlnlstratlve hearing W|th|n 15 days of
thenotlce =Y Q) NLA INATA ' arBDicenn a¥a a = e OHepndge ala - our N
LegaLGwdebeek-feFJwenile—Q#ender—feFde#mHThe hearlnq will be he!d in accordance
with the Administrative Procedure Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-901 et seq. and 465 NAC 6.
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1-003 PAROLE REVOCATION PROCESS: The parole revocation process applies to

juvenile offenders who have been paroled from a YRTC when it is alleged that a juvenile

offender has violated or is about to violate a condition of his or her parole.

1-003.01 Preliminary Hearing: The Preliminary Hearing is an informal hearing

conducted by an impartial hearing officer within seventy-two hours of a juvenile
being apprehended and detained.

1-003.01A Purpose: The purpose of the Preliminary Hearing is to determine

whether there is probable cause to believe the juvenile has committed acts

which violate his/her Conditions of Liberty Agreement and where the juvenile

shall be held pending a Revocation Hearing.

1-003.01B Juvenile Rights: The juvenile is entitled to the following rights for the

Preliminary Hearing:

1.

7
3.
4.

Receive notice of the Preliminary Hearing. its purpose, and the alleged
violations prior to the commencement of the hearing;

Present relevant information and documentation;

Question adverse witnesses; and

Make a statement regarding the alleged parole violations.

1-003.02 Revocation Hearing: The Revocation Hearing is a formal hearing,

conducted by a hearing officer who is an attorney licensed to practice law, that is

designed to ensure due process rights of the juvenile and render a proper decision

regarding the revocation of parole.

1-003.02A Juvenile Rights: The juvenile is entitled to the following rights for the

Revocation Hearing:

il

2.

Notice of the alleged violations of parole at least twenty-four hours prior
to a hearing on the allegations;

A prompt hearing, within fourteen days after the Preliminary Hearing, if
the juvenile is being held pending the hearing:

Reasonable continuances granted by the hearing officer for the juvenile
to prepare for the hearing;

. Have his/her parents notified of the hearing and allegations and have

his/her parents attend the hearing;

Be represented by legal counsel at the expense of DHHS unless retained
counsel is available to the juvenile;

Compel witnesses to attend, testify on his/her own behalf, present
evidence, and cross-examine witnesses against him/her; and

Present a statement on his/her own behalf.
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1-003.02B Waiver and Admission: The juvenile may waive his/her right to a
Revocation Hearing and admit to the allegations. This may only occur after the

juvenile has:
1. Received notice of the alleged violations of his/her Conditions of Liberty

Agreement;
2. Been informed of the possible consequences of the Revocation Hearing:
3. Been informed of his/her rights pertaining to the hearing process: and
4. Been provided an opportunity to confer with his/her parents or pre-
commitment custodian and legal counsel.

The written waiver and admission must be submitted to the Revocation Hearing
Officer, who will submit a recommended disposition to the Administrator of the
Office of Juvenile Services or his/her designee.

1-003.02C The revocation hearing will be held in accordance with the OJS Act,
Neb. Rev. Stat. §8 43-401 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, Neb. Rev.
Stat. 8§ 84-901 et seq., and 465 NAC 6.




REV.(10-24-2013)— NEBRASKA-HEALTH-AND RS




REV. (10-21-2013) NEBRASKA HEALTH AND PS
MANUAL LETTER # HUMAN SERVICES MANUAL 390 NAC 8-002

8-002 REVIEW OF ALL COURT ORDERS
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TITLE 395
CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES
PROTECTION AND SAFETY

CHAPTER 1 OVERVIEW

1-001: Legal authority is derived from the following: Titles IV-A and IV-E, the Indian Child
Welfare Acts, 25 U.S.C. section 1901, et seq., and Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-1501, ef seq., 45 CFR
Subchapter G, 45 CFR 233.110 and 233.120, Chapter 68, Article 7 of the Nebraska Revised
Statutes, Chapter 68, Article 12, Neb. Rev. Stat. 43-532 et. Seq; Neb.Rev.Stat. 43-401 thru 43-
423et seq; Neb. Rev. Stat. 43-245, the Juvenile Services and Delinquency Prevention Act, Neb.
Rev. Stat. 43-532 through 43-534; Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 43-532 to 43-534; Neb. Rev. Stat. 43-532
through 43-534.

1-002: Definitions: Definitions of terms or phrases provided within state statute apply to the
same terms or phrases when used within this Title.
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TITLE 395
CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES
PROTECTION AND SAFETY

CHAPTER 2 INVESTIGATIONS

2-001 CONFIDENTIALITY AND DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION

2-001.01 Confidentiality: Information pertaining to or stemming from investigations of
child abuse or neglect is confidential and will not be released to any person except as
authorized by state law or when ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction.

2-001.02 Persons or Agencies Allowed Access to Records: The Department will allow
access to records to any person legally authorized under Nebraska law. Such request
shall be in writing, dated, signed, notarized (unless notarization is not required under 2-
001.06A) and will identify the person’s authority to receive such records.

2-001.03 Format of Request: The request must be submitted using the Department
approved form and must describe with sufficient detail regarding the information sought.

2-001.04 Request by or on Behalf of a Child who is the Subject of a Report of Child
Abuse or Neglect: Upon request, a child who is the subject of the report of child abuse or
neglect or, if such subject is a minor or otherwise legally incompetent, the guardian or
guardian ad litem of the subject, is entitled to receive a copy of all information contained
in the Central Register pertaining to his or her case. If the request includes information to
be shared with a third party, a signed HIPAA compliant authorization to release
information is required. The Department will not release information that would be
harmful or detrimental to a child who is the subject of the report or that would identify or
locate a person who, in good faith, made a report or cooperated in a subsequent
investigation unless ordered to do so by a court of competent jurisdiction.

2-001.05: Summary of Findings and Actions. Upon request, a physician or the person in
charge of an institution, school, facility, or agency making a legally mandated report of
abuse or neglect will receive a written summary of the findings and actions taken by the
Department in response to such report.

2-001.05A The summary will contain the following:

The date of the report;

The name of the alleged victim;

The name of the alleged perpetrator;
The allegations; and

The findings.

ISP

2-001.05B If the report is substantiated, the summary may include the following:

1. Whether any services were offered and provided by the Department;

2. A description of practices that may have contributed to the abuse, neglect, or
exploitation, if identified; and

3. Recommendations of actions to prevent abuse, neglect, or exploitation and
to respond to allegations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.
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2-001.06 Central Register Checks: Central Register checks must be requested on a
form approved by the Department, which must include the name, date of birth, and
social security number of the subject of the Central Register check. Information is
released from the Register only when a valid signed authorization to release information
is obtained from the individual who is the subject of the Central Register check.
Information released to a third party is limited to:

1. Record Found,

a. Classification;

b. Date of the incident; or
2. No Record Found.

2-001.06A  Registration to Conduct Central Register Checks Electronically.
Organizations may register with the Department to conduct Central Register checks
electronically. An organization may request registration on a form provided by the
Department. The organization must agree to follow all terms of registration and must
not use the system to access any information without both the legal authority to do
so and the express written consent of the individual who is the subject of the Central
Register check. Prior to conducting a Central Register check, an employee or other
representative of the registered organization must verify the identity of the individual
consenting to the Central Register check and attest in writing that the individual's
identity has been verified.

2-001.06B Central Register Checks by Unregistered Organizations or Individuals:
Organizations and individuals which are not registered to conduct Central Register
checks electronically may submit such requests to the Department. Such requests
must be made on a form provided by the Department and must include the
notarized signature of the individual who is the subject of the Central Register
check.

2-002 NOTIFICATIONS

2-002.01 Perpetrator Notification: Upon completion of an investigation, the Department
will provide notification to the person who allegedly abused or neglected child as
required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-713.01.

2-002.02 Custodian Notification. The Department will provide the person or persons
having custody of the allegedly abused or neglected child or children a written notice of
the results of the investigation.
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2-003 EXPUNGEMENTS

2.003.01 Requests for Amendment, Removal, or Expungement of Register Information:
At any time subsequent to the completion of the Department's investigation, if the subject
of a report of child abuse or neglect believes that the information in the report is
inaccurate or being maintained in a manner inconsistent with the Child Protection Act, he
or she may request the Department to amend or expunge identifying information from the
report or remove the record of such report from the Register. Requests must be written
and submitted to the Department on a form approved by the Department.

2-003.02 Expungement Process: After receiving a written expungement request,
investigation information will be reviewed by the Department and a response will be sent
to the party requesting expungement. An individual requesting an administrative hearing
to appeal a decision by the Department must send a written request for a hearing in
writing to the Department’s Hearing Office within 90 days of the date the letter denying the
request was mailed. Administrative hearings will be carried out in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act and 465 NAC 6.
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TITLE 395
CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES
PROTECTION AND SAFETY

CHAPTER 3 FOSTER CARE: LICENSURE, APPROVAL, AND HOME STUDIES

3-001: FOSTER CARE LICENSE. A foster care license is the State's authorization to provide
care for children placed with the licensee, when the applicant has met licensing standards. A
license issued to an applicant is effective for two years, and identifies the ages of children cared
for, the number of children for whom the home is licensed, and the location of the licensed
home.

3-001.01: Fees for a License. A foster parent will not be charged a fee for a foster care
license.

3-001.02: General Limitations for Foster Care Licenses.

3-001.02A: Only one license can be issued for each address.

3-001.02B: To be licensed for foster care, a person must be age of majority. If legally
married, both spouses must be licensed, and meet all regulations in this section.

3-001.04: Application.

3-001.04A: Initial Application. The initial application must include the completed
application form, completed references, and health information form.

3-001.04B: Application for a Renewal License. The application for license renewal must
include the application form and health information form.

3-001.04C: Health Information. Each household member of the age of majority who will
provide care, including each applicant, must present health information to document that
she or he is physically and mentally capable of caring for children. For purposes of the
initial license, the health information must include the signature of a health practitioner.
For purposes of license renewal, a self-certifying report without the signature of a health
practitioner is acceptable.

1. Prescribed Medications: If the Foster Care Licensee or applicant indicates that
hel/she is currently taking prescribed medications, they must be listed on the
health report and signed by a health practitioner. The practitioner must describe
any impact the medications may have on the applicants ability to safely care for
children.




REV. (11-1-13) NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF PS
MANUAL LETTER # xx-2013 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 395 NAC 3-001.04C

2. Reguest for a Physical Exam: If the health information report indicates that an
applicant has a potential health (physical, behavioral or emotional) problem that
may interfere with the applicant’s ability to care for children, or if for some other
reason the licensing agent or agency has reason to believe such a health
problem exists, the licensing agent or agency must request a report by a
physician. This report must describe any impact the health problem may have on
the applicant’s ability to safely care for children. The Department will not pay for
the examination or report. If the applicant does not supply the requested report,
the license application will be denied.

If there is reason to believe that other persons in the household pose a health
(physical or behavioral ) related issue that could impact their ability to safely care
for children, the applicant must present appropriate health information from a
practitioner to allow determination that the condition does not impact the
applicant’s ability to safely care for children.

3-001.04D: References. For purposes of the initial application, each applicant must
provide the names and contact information of at least three individuals who can provide
positive written references. No more than one of the individuals may be related to the
applicant.

3-001.04E: Time-Frame for Processing the Application. The licensing agent or agency
must initiate action on an application within ten business days of receipt of the
completed application. If an applicant fails to provide the complete application, or fails to
cooperate in the licensing process, the application for a license will be denied.
Applications that have been determined to be incomplete for three months or longer will
be denied.

3-001.05: Character and Ability. All adults providing foster care must:
1. Be mentally and physically able to provide care and supervision to children;
2. Exercise reasonable judgment when caring for children; and
3. Not engage in or have a history of behaviors which would injure or endanger the
physical, mental health, or safety of children.

3-001.05A: Character and Ability of Others in the Home. A license may be revoked
when it has been determined that any individual residing in the home of a licensed foster
care provider has engaged in behaviors that have or would compromise the safety or
well-being of a child.
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3-001.06: Background Checks. The licensee and all other members of the household must
submit to required background checks, as follows:
1. State Central Register or Registry of child protection for any state in which the
applicant has lived within the past five years (if age 13 or older),
2. Adult Protective Services Central Registry (if age 13 or older);
3. Appropriate local law enforcement agency (if age 18 or older);
4. Sex Offenders Registry for any state in which the applicant has lived within the past
five years(if age 18 or older),
5. State-level criminal history (if age 18 or older); and
8. Fingerprint-based National Criminal History Check with the Identification Division of
the Federal Bureau of Investigation (if age 18 or older).

3-001.07: Release of Information. In order to perform the background checks, the licensing
agent or agency must obtain a signed written release of information from each individual
living in the home. The release must include all previous known names, including maiden
names and aliases. A child’s release of information must be signed by the child’s parent or
guardian.

3-001.08: Sharing Information. The Department is prohibited by federal rules and
regulations from sharing the results of the national criminal history check with any person or
entity, except as described below.

3-001.08A: Sharing Information with the Applicant. The Department can share the
results of the Criminal History Release of Information with the subject of the national
criminal history check when legal identification is provided. The Department will provide
the applicant with the opportunity to question the results and advise the applicant that
there are procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or update of the FBI record.

3-001.08B: Sharing Information with Attorneys or Courts. The Department can share all
background check results except the National Criminal History Check with courts and
attorneys.

3-001.08C: Sharing Information regarding Interstate Compact on the Placement of
Children Licensure. The Department will include the results of all background checks
except for the National Criminal History check when appropriate, or can state that there
is no known criminal history.
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3-001.09: Action Based on Criminal History and Child Abuse/Neglect Reports. If the
individual has a criminal history or history of child abuse or neglect, the Department will
determine if the criminal history allows or prohibits licensure, based on the following criteria:

3-001.09A Denials Based on Criminal History: The Department will deny foster care
licensure to any applicant currently charged, indicted, or convicted for any of the
following crimes:

(1) Aggravated or armed robbery;

(2) Assault, first or second degree;

(3) Child abandonment;

(4) Child abuse;

(5) Child molestation or debauching a minor;

(6) Child neglect;

(7) Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor

(8) Domestic Violence,

(9) Exploitation of a minor involving drug offenses;

(10) Felony controlled substances offenses within past 5 years;

(11) Felony violation of custody;

(12) Incest;

(13) Kidnapping;

(14) Murder, first or second degree;

(15) Sexual abuse of a minor;

(16) Sexual assault;

(17) Sexual exploitation of a minor, including child pornography; or

(18) Voluntary manslaughter.

3-001.09B Crimes Not Identified Above: Crimes other than those identified above will be
reviewed on a case-by-case basis to determine the impact or potential impact on the
applicant’s ability to safely care for children and the likely bearing of the crime or the
history on the applicant's ability to provide foster care. The Department will make a
decision regarding issuance of a license based on this review.

3-001.09C: Action Based on the Central Register of Nebraska. The Department will
deny licensure if any household member is identified as a perpetrator on the Central
Register of Nebraska or another state.

3-001.10: Participation in Activities. The licensee must:
1. Permit each child to participate in age appropriate family, neighborhood, school,
religious, cultural, and community activities; and
2. Permit each child to practice and further his/her own religious beliefs.
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3-001.11: Maximum Number of Persons for Whom Care Can Be Provided. Care provided at
any time is limited to no more than six (6) children under the age of majority, including
children related to the foster parent(s) by blood, marriage, or adoption, and any other
child(ren) who may be living in the home. No more than four (4) of these children may be
age 12 or younger. When the licensee is also providing care for adults requiring 24 hour
supervision, the total number of children and adults for whom care is provided cannot
exceed a total of six (6).

3-001.11A: Ratio. For every four (4) children residing in the home, at least one adult
responsible for their care and supervision must reside in the home.

3-001.11A1: Exception. The Department may grant an exemption to allow for the
continued placement of children when five (5) or more children are receiving care in
a licensed foster home and:

1. A foster parent dies;

2. The foster parents divorce or separate; or

3. A foster parent is absent from the household for an extended period of time

due to:
a. Active military duty; or
b. lliness.

3-001.12: Discipline. The foster parent(s) must provide age appropriate discipline for
children in their home. The following are prohibited by foster parents or any caregiver of the
foster children.
Denial of necessities;
Chemical or mechanical restraints;
Derogatory remarks, abusive or profane language;
Yelling, screaming or threats of physical punishment;
Physical punishment of any kind to include spanking, slapping, shaking, biting,
striking, kicking;
. Rough handling; and

7. Denial of visits or contact with parent(s), sibling(s), or others, as designated by the

Department.

The foster parent shall not delegate discipline of a child to anyone who is not in a caregiver
role.
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3-001.13: Confidentiality. All information concerning a child and his or her family is
considered confidential and will only be disclosed for purposes that benefit the child.
Pictures and information regarding the child will not be posted on social media sites.

3-001.14: Cooperation. The licensee must cooperate with the licensing agent and licensing
agency.

3-001.15: Records. The licensed care-giver is responsible for ensuring each child in their
care has routine medical, vision and dental care necessary for the child’s well-being. The
licensed caregiver will maintain and keep the child’s medical history to include the following
accurate written information on each child in their care:

1. Full name of child;

2. Name, address, and phone number of the child’s physician;

3. Name, address, and phone number of the person or agency holding legal custody of
the child;
Past (if available) and current immunizations;
The administering of all medications;
Significant health problems;
Emergency medical treatment and intervention received; and

No ok

3-001.16° Transportation Safety. The licensee is responsible to transport and accompany
children in their care to necessary medical, dental, vision and other health (physical or
behavioral) related appointments. The licensee is responsible to ensure that safety
restraints are available and used for each child transported, in compliance with Neb. Rev.
Stat. Sections 60-6,267, 60-6,268, and 71-1907. Failure to comply with transportation safety
will result in an action being taken against the licensee.

3-001.17: On-Site Visits. The licensee must agree to on-site home visits by the licensing
agent and agency having legal custody of a child.

3-001.18: Environmental Requirements.

3-001.18A: Facilities. The licensee shall assure that:
1. A minimum of 35 square feet per individual excluding bedrooms, bathroom(s),
and kitchen;
2. Bedrooms or sleeping areas meet the following criteria:
a. At least 35 square feet for each child occupying the bedroom or sleeping
area;
b. Each child must be provided with a bed, bedding, and a place to store his
or her belongings; and
c. When required by the placing agency or the Department, the licensee
must provide separate bedrooms for children of opposite sexes.
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3-001.18C: Water Supply. The licensee shall ensure that the water supply meets one of
the following criteria:
1. If from a private well: Water must be tested at initial application and annually
thereafter, by a DHHS-certified lab, for bacteria and nitrates; or
2. Water comes from a municipal source.

3-001.18D: Nutrition and Food Service. The licensee shall ensure that each child will
be provided with a minimum of three meals per day which meet their daily nutritional
needs.

3-001.18E: Hazardous Materials and Equipment. The licensee shall ensure that:

1. Drugs, cleaning agents, poisons, and other potentially hazardous items,
materials, or equipment are inaccessible to youth or are used by youth under
supervision of a caregiver;

2. All weapons and firearms are unloaded and locked or stored in a ljocked cabinet
or area; and

3. All ammunition is stored in a locked cabinet or area and stored separate from the
firearms.

3-001.18F: Outdoor Recreational Area. The licensee shall ensure that the grounds are
clean, well-drained, and hazard-free.

3-001.18G; Waste Disposal. The licensee shall ensure that:
1. Garbage that is stored outside the home must be stored in containers and
disposed of regularly; and
2. A sewer system is used.

3-001.18H: Pets. The licensee shall ensure that household pets:
1. Have no history of aggression;
2. Are licensed, if required by local or state statute or ordinance, and are current on
any necessary or required vaccinations.

3-001.19: Fire Safety.

3-001.19A: Fire Safety for All Foster Homes. The licensee must assure that:
1. A plan for evacuation from fire or like hazards is formulated and practiced with
foster children;
2. The home has:

a. At least two exits on grade level,

b. At least two means of escape from every level of the home that is used
for sleeping. One of the exits may be a window that is at least 5.7 square
feet of clear space and no more than 44 inches off the ground; and

c. Operable smoke detectors, maintained according to manufacturer's
recommendations, which are located on each level of the home. For
bedrooms located below grade level and used by foster children, the
detectors must be single station approved detectors.
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3-001.20: Fire Safety or Sanitation Requests. The licensing agent will submit all requests
regarding fire safety or sanitation requirements to the state or local fire authority or to the
state or local health department for a decision on suitability of the suggested alternative.

3-001.21: Compliance Checklist. Prior to licensure, re-licensure, or a license amendment,
the licensing agent must complete a Department-designated compliance checklist. In order
to complete the checklist for licensure or re-licensure, the licensing agent must make an on-
site visit to the home.

3-001.22: Alternative Compliance. The Department may approve the request of an applicant
or current licensee to comply with a licensing standard in a different way from what is stated
in the standard but still meets the intention of the standard. The applicant/licensee must
submit the request in writing. The licensing agent must approve prior to licensing. The
applicant/licensee must resubmit the alternative compliance request for approval each time
a license is requested to be issued, amended, renewed, or reinstated.

3-001.23: Waiver of Licensing Requirements for Relatives. The following regulations can be
waived for relatives who will provide care only to children related to them by blood, marriage,
or adoption:

1. 3-001.11 Maximum Number of Persons for Whom Care Can Be Provided

2. 3-001.29 Training

3. 3-001.15 Fire Safety for All Foster Homes: requirement that the home has at least

two exits on grade level; and
4. 3-001.04D References

Waivers will be granted:
1. On a case-by-case basis;
2. When it is determined that waiver of the specific regulation does not compromise
the safety, sanitation, or civil rights of the child or children to be placed; and
3.  When it is determined that placement in the relative’s home is appropriate and in
the best interests of the child or children to be placed.

3-001.24: Declaratory Ruling. An applicant/licensee may request a declaratory ruling
regarding the application of a requirement to his/her particular situation. Both the
applicant/licensee and the licensing agent must submit written statements to the Director,
including the following information:

1. The requirement being questioned;

2. The decision being sought;

3. All pertinent facts about the specific situation; and

4. The rationale for his/her interpretation.
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3-001.25: Amending a License. A license can be amended at the written request of the
foster parent when the foster parent wants to change the number or age of children cared
for, or the address, except that if the change requires application of additional or different
regulations, those requirements must be met before the amended license is issued. If the
reason for the request is change of address, a compliance checklist must be completed for
the new residence to assure that it meets licensing requirements and a new license
application is needed. Following the issuance of a license, if a foster parent makes changes
in number of children for whom s/he is licensed or the ages of the children cared for, the
license will be amended after the licensee requests a change. If the request results in a
different licensing standard, a new license application is needed and the regular evaluation
process conducted. Amending a license does not change the end date of the original
license.

3-001.26: Renewal of License. In order for renewal of a license to occur, all licensing
requirements and processes applicable to the original license must be applied, unless
specified otherwise in the description of the individual requirement.

3-001.27: Extending a License. A current license can be extended for 90 days when the
licensee has submitted a completed renewal application to the Department prior to the
expiration of current license. A provisional license cannot be extended.

3-001.28: Provisional License. The Department may issue a time-limited, nonrenewable
provisional license to an applicant who is unable to comply with all licensure requirements
and standards, has a documented plan to comply, and is capable of compliance within the
time period stated in the license as approved by the licensing agent and licensing agency.

3-001.29: Training. The licensee must complete training as follows:

1. Initial license: Not less than 21 clock hours of Department-approved pre-service
training before initial licensure, with such training obtained within the 12 months
immediately prior to licensure.

2. Renewal license: At least 12 clock hours of Department Approved Inservice
Trainings annually within the effective dates or his/her license.

3-001.29A: Activities Counted as Training. To be counted toward the pre-service or in-
service training requirements, training must be approved by the Department.

3-001.29A1: Documentation. The applicant/licensee must provide written
documentation of training received.

3-001.30: Licensing Action. A licensing action includes any of the following:
Denial,

Revocation;

Placing the license into provisional status;

Suspension; or

Closure.
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The Department will provide written notice of all licensing actions, including the reason for
the action and, when applicable, the right to appeal the action, to the applicant or licensee.

3-001.30A: Revocation. The Department will revoke the license of any licensee who
does not comply with requirements after having been given written notice in accordance
with noncompliance procedures.

3-001.30B: Provisional License. The Department may change an existing license to
provisional status when:

1. The current licensee is unable to comply with licensing regulations that do not
present an unreasonable risk to the health, safety, or well-being of the foster
children in the care of the applicant;

2. The licensee provides a written plan for coming into compliance and agrees to
that plan in writing; and

3. The time frame for coming into compliance does not exceed 180 days or extend
beyond the end date of the license, whichever comes first.

The licensing agent must submit a request to the Department providing justification for
the issuance of a Provisional License. The licensing agent must follow up to assure that
compliance was met within the stated time frame. If it is not, the license will be revoked.

3-001.30C: Suspension of a License.
A license may be suspended when one of the following exists:

1. When a complaint of suspected child or adult abuse or neglect has been
received but the Department has not yet made a finding.

2. When the licensee has been placed on the APS Central Registry or the Child
Abuse and Neglect Central Register as a perpetrator and the licensee has
appealed that decision.

3. When any Department representative observes conditions or behaviors that may
indicate suspected child or adult abuse or neglect.

4. When a licensee or member of the household has a criminal charge filed against
him or her involving a crime against children or other crimes, which may affect
the care of children; or

5. When a child under care dies.

When a court action is taken or an appeal decision is made regarding the issue which
resulted in the suspension, the license must be reinstated or revoked. In no case will a
suspension extend beyond the end date of the current license. Suspension of a license
is not an appealable action.

3-001.31: Appeal of Negative Licensing Actions. The licensee has the right to appeal the
revocation or denial of a license within ten days of delivery of a letter from the Department
that provides notice of the intention to take the action. If the Licensee submits a written
appeal within ten days of delivery of notice, the licensing action will not be taken until the
appeal decision is issued by the Director of the Division of Children and Family Services.
Such appeals will be carried out in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act and
465 NAC 6.
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3-002: APPROVAL OF FOSTER HOMES. Prior to placement of a child who is a ward of the
Department into a foster home, the Department will approve the home, or will obtain approval
through the ICPC process when applicable.

3-002.01: Emergency Approval of Relative and Kinship Homes. Emergency approval of a
relative or kinship is allowed when approval prior to placement is unfeasible, subject to the
following requirements. A relative is defined as being related by blood, marriage or adoption.
Kinship is defined when at least one of the primary caretakers has previously lived with or
has had significant contact with the child or children or sibling of a child and has a bond with
the child.

3-002.01A: Emergency Approval Requirements.

1. Visit to the home of the potential caregiver, including a face-to-face meeting with
at least one of the prospective adult caregivers (If the placement is made by law
enforcement, the visit by the worker must be made no later than the following
working day);

2. Assurance that there is adequate housing;

3. Assurance that the adult caregiver is able to adequately meet the needs of the
child;

4. Completion of relevant background checks on all household members:

a. For household members age 13 through 17 the background check must
include a check of the:
1) CPS Central Register for all states in which the individual has lived
within the past five years; and
2) Adult Protective Services Central Registry.
b. For household members age 18 and older the background check must
include:
1) CPS Central Register check;
2) Adult Protective Services Central Registry check;
3) Sex Offender Registry check for all states in which the individual has
lived within the past five years;
4) Local law enforcement agency check; and
5) Emergency, name-only check with the NE State Patrol;

3-002.01B: Emergency Approval Time Limit. Emergency approval will not extend beyond
sixty days from the date of placement without an extension done by the Department.

3-002.02: Non-Emergency Approval of Relative and Kinship Homes.

3-002.02A: Requirements.
1. Completion of relevant background checks on all household members:
a. For household members age 13 through 17 the background check must
include a check of the:
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1) CPS Central Register; and
2) Adult Protective Services Central Registry.

b. For household members age 18 and older the background check must

include:
1) CPS Central Register for all states in which the individual has
lived within the past five years;
2) Adult Protective Services Central Registry check;
3) Sex Offender Registry check;
4) Local law enforcement agency check; and
5) National fingerprint-based criminal history check.
2. Completion of the appropriate home study.

3-002.02B: Action Based on Required Checks. If a person living in the potential relative

or kinship foster home has a felony conviction, is on the Sex Offender Registry or has a
substantiated finding on the CPS Central Register or APS Central Registry, non-
emergency approval shall be denied, unless an exception is given, by the Department.

If a household member’s background check reveals a criminal conviction other than a
felony, or there is reason to believe the individual is currently charged, or under
indictment for a crime, or has any other criminal record, approval can be granted only in
writing, by the Department.

3-003: HOME STUDIES.

3-003.01: Home Study. The Department will complete a home study when one of the

following conditions exists:

1.

2.
3

An individual or legally married couple has applied to the Department to become a
licensed foster or adoptive home;

An individual or legally married couple is renewing their foster care license;

The individual or legally married couple is being considered for placement of a child
related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption on an approval basis;

The Department may complete a home study if the individual is the non-custodial
parent of a child in the custody of the Department;

The Department is requested through the ICPC to complete a home study for a
potential foster or adoptive person or parent of a child in the custody of an agency or
under the jurisdiction of a court in another state; or

The Department is ordered by a court to complete a home study on a stepparent
desiring to adopt his or her stepchild.

3-003.02: Age of Majority. The applicant must be the age of majority in order to be

considered eligible for a home study, unless an exception is made by the Department.

3-003.03: Completed Home Study. In order to be complete, a home study must be in writing,

include information regarding all required elements, and have the written approval of the
Department. If at any point, the Department determines that the subject of the home study is
unable or unwilling to provide the required care, the home study will be considered
incomplete, and approval of placement will be denied.
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3-004: PROVISION OF LIABILITY AND DAMAGE INSURANCE. The Department will provide
insurance coverage for foster parents for liability and damage. Any foster home or adoptive
home licensed or approved by the Department or Indian Tribal Councils within Nebraska are
covered by insurance for the period of time that an HHS or HHS/OJS ward is placed in the
home. This insurance coverage also exists for any foster or adoptive home licensed or
approved by the Department, or Indian Tribal Councils within Nebraska, for the period of time
that a child covered under a IV-E contract is placed in the home. The foster parent(s) in the
home are considered as ‘the insured’. The Department covers the cost of the insurance
premium for each foster home. When a foster parent requests reimbursement for damages to
property incurred by the ward the Department will:

1. Provide the foster parent with the claims adjustor’s phone number; and

2. Provide information to the claims adjustor when requested.

3-005: NATIVE AMERICAN FOSTER CARE LICENSING. Native American Foster Homes are
foster homes which are licensed through a tribal entity and are located on tribal ground.

3-005.01: Number of Children. The maximum number of children in Native American Foster
Homes shall be based on tribal traditions and customs, not number of persons in the home,
without compromising the safety of children, adults in care, and others in the household.

3-005.02: Initial Application.

3-005.01A: Emergency Approval Requirements. Native American Foster Family Homes
will comply with the following:

1. Each household member of the age of majority who will provide care including
each applicant must present health information to document that she or he is
physically and mentally capable of caring for children. For purposes of the initial
license, the health information must include the signature of a health practitioner.
For purposes of license renewal, a self-certifying report without the signature of a
health practitioner is acceptable, unless there is reason to believe that a health
practitioner’s statement is warranted.

2. If the individual indicates that he/she is currently taking prescription medications,
the licensing agency must assess the need for a written physician’s statement
regarding the medication’s effect on the individual’s ability to care for children.

3. Additional information regarding the physical and/or psychological condition of
the Native American foster parent(s) is warranted only when such conditions may
adversely affect the care, nurturance and training of the children.

3-005.03. License Renewal. Native American Licensees must complete the renewal
process under the same terms and conditions as the original license. The Native American
Foster family may request to have a liaison person present for the on-site visit.

3-005.04: Requirements of Native American Foster Families. Principal consideration will be
given to the foster family’s capacity to provide nurturance, understanding, Native American
culture to children, a stable environment, supervision, and protection of children.
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3-005.05: Environmental Requirements. The foster home shall have:

Adequate toilet facilities;

Adequate bathing facilities;

Safe heat sources in each room used by children;

Refrigeration for perishables;

Adequate sleeping arrangements;

Working smoke detectors;

All weapons and ammunition stored in a locked cabinet or area; and

Grounds around the foster home that are safe and free of hazards considering the
age and development of children in care.
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3-006: COMPLAINTS.

3-006.01; Licensing Violations. The Department will investigate any licensed foster home
after receiving an allegation of violation of licensing regulations.
1. The Department will accept complaints from anyone who witnessed a violation.
2. The identity of a complainant is not public information.
3. Only if found credible by the Department can such an allegation or complaint result in
a negative licensing action.

3-006.02: Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect. Upon receipt of a complaint alleging child
abuse/neglect, or when suspecting abuse or neglect in the foster home, the licensing agent
must:
1. Inform the complainant of his/her responsibility to report the situation to the proper
law enforcement agency and to the Department; and
2. Immediately report the alleged abuse/neglect to the proper law enforcement agency
and the Department.

3-006.03: Complaints_Concerning Practice. When a foster or adoptive parent has a
complaint regarding a the Department casework decision or implementation of a policy or
regulation involving himself or herself, the complaint will be addressed through the informal
process of a meeting between the foster or adoptive parent, CFS Specialist, and CFS
Supervisor. If possible, a plan to resolve the complaint will be developed. The foster parent
will be advised in writing of the plan or reason for no action.
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CHAPTER 6 EDUCATION

6-001: Eligibility. Eligibility for payment for elementary and secondary education for children who
are in the custody of the DHHS is determined based on the following:

6-001.01: Authorized Costs. DHHS will pay the authorized costs associated with the

education of a child when the child is:

Age five through eighteen; and

A ward of DHHS or DHHS-0JS, a Tribal court, or a Nebraska court; and

Not living with a parent or guardian, or in a foster home; and

At least one of the following:

a. The child is attending a school that is not where the child resided at the time
s/he became a ward, not in the district where a parent or guardian resided at
the time the child became a ward, and not in the district where a parent or
guardian now resides; or

b. The child is placed by DHHS, Tribe, or court with custody in a residential
treatment facility with a school and is attending the facility school.

HPON -~

6-001.02: Eligible facilities.

6-001.02A: Public_School. The public school is eligible if the ward resides in a
licensed group home, Center for Developmental Delay, or a licensed child caring
facility.

6-001.02B: Residential Treatment Facility with a School. The facility is eligible for
payment if the school is identified as an Interim Program Non-Public School by the
Nebraska Department of Education.

6-001.02C: Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital. The facility is eligible for payment if the
school is identified as an Interim Program Non-Public School by the Nebraska
Department of Education.

6-001.02D: County Detention Center. The Detention Center is eligible for payment if
the Detention Center is under the authority of a county, and the school is identified
as an Interim Program Non-Public School by the Nebraska Department of Education.

6-001.02E: Facility In Another State. A school run by a facility in another state is
eligible for payment if the facility is considered by Nebraska to be a group home,
psychiatric hospital, or residential treatment facility.

6-001.03: Public Schools, Services Eligible for Payment Disbursement from DHHS funds.
Payment will be made from DHHS funds to the school district, based on the child's dates
of enroliment.

6-001.03A: Regular Education. If an eligible child is receiving regular education, the
payment rate is determined by the Department of Education’s per pupil rate for that school.
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6-001.03B: Regular Program with Special Needs. If an eligible child is in a full-time regular
program, and receives other services such as speech therapy or physical therapy, those
services will be paid based on the approved rate established by the Nebraska Department
of Education.

6-001.03C: Disabled Students. If an eligible child is disabled and requires educational
programming or other special services, payment will be authorized for costs relating to the
child’s special educational programming as determined by the school.

6-001.03C(1): Special Services. Special Services such as speech therapy or physical
therapy will be paid based on the approved rate established by the Nebraska
Department of Education. Payment will be based on the percentage of time the child
receives these services.

6-001.04: Payment Disbursement to Facility, Schools from DHHS Funds. Payment will be made
from DHHS funds to the facility, based on the child's dates of placement and days attending
school at the facility, at the rate established by the Nebraska Department of Education.

6-001.04A: Additional Considerations. Payment will be made for:
1. The day the child is placed at the facility, but will not be made for the day the child
leaves the facility;
2. Days the child is at the facility and is attending school;
3. No more than the number of days in the school calendar on which the Department
of Education based the education rate.

6-001.04B: Rate of Payment. The rate paid to an Interim School will be no more than that
established by the Nebraska Department of Education.

6-001.04C: Billing for Payment from DHHS Funds. A public school district or Interim School
must submit its bills for education costs to DHHS at the intervals and within timeframes
established by DHHS.

6-001.04D: Required Documentation. Documentation which coincides with the dates being
submitted for payment must be submitted along with the bill for DHHS funds.

6-001.05: Right to Request Reconsideration. If DHHS determines the child or school, or service
does not meet the criteria for reimbursement, DHHS will notify the school of the decision in
writing. The program may request reconsideration of the decision of DHHS within thirty days after
the date of the denial notice.
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6-001.06: Education-Related Services that May Be Eligible for DHHS Funding.

6-001.06A: Summer School. DHHS may authorize and pay for summer school for a child if
the child’s need to enroll is documented by the school and:

1. The school does not offer summer school free to others;

2. The low income family rate will be paid, if the school has one;

3. Funding sources other than DHHS funds have been explored and are not available.

6-001.06B: Payment of Tuition When a Ward Is Placed Out of State. When a ward of DHHS
is placed out of state and attends a public school in that state, DHHS will pay tuition if
required to do so by the other state. Payment will be made at the rate established under the
statute or regulations of the other state.

6-001.07: Education-Related Costs Not Paid from DHHS Funds. Children in the following
education situations are not eligible for payment from DHHS funds, either because the child is
ineligible or the setting is ineligible:

1. Child lives in another school district and continues to attend school in his/her resident
school district;

2. Child is placed in a foster home or developmental disabilities extended family home;

3. Childis in an independent living situation;

4. Child is attending pre-school (DHHS may pay for pre-school if it is covered under another
program, such as Child Care);

5. Child has been expelled from school;

6. Juvenile who has run away or absconded from another state and is being held in a
County Detention Center under the Articles and Rules of the Interstate Compact for
Juveniles (ICJ); or

7. Juvenile charged as adult who is being held in a Juvenile Detention facility due to his/her
age.
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CHAPTER 6-000 LICENSING EOSTER HOMES.—GROUP HOMES, CHILD CARING
AGENCIES. AND CHILD PLACING AGENCIES

6-001 — 6-0024 (Reserved)
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