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TITLE 172 PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE
CHAPTER 67 LICENSURE OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS

67-001 SCOPE AND AUTHORITY: These regulations govern the licensure of funeral directors
and embalmers under the Funeral Directing and Embalming Practice Act and the Uniform
Credentialing Act. Persons providing funeral directing and embalming services to clients located
in Nebraska must be licensed as a funeral director and embalmer in Nebraska unless they are
exempt under the Act.

67-002 DEFINITIONS: For purposes of these regulations, definitions in the Uniform Credentialing
Act and the Funeral Directing and Embalming Practice Act and the following definitions are hereby
adopted.

Attest or attestation means that the individual declares that all statements on the application are
true and complete.

Complete application means an application that contains all of the information requested on the
application, with attestation to its truth and completeness, and that is submitted with the required
fees and all required documentation.

Licensure in_another jurisdiction means holding a credential that authorizes the individual to
engage in the profession of funeral directing and embalming which would otherwise be unlawful,
from the District of Columbia or any state, territory, or possession of the United States of America,
or any province of Canada.

Military service means full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, a National
Guard call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a
commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration. Military service may also include any period during which a servicemember is
absent from duty on account of sickness, wounds, leave, or other lawful cause. (From the
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. App. 501 et seq., as it existed on January 1, 2007.)

Served in the regular armed forces has the same meaning as “military service” in these
regulations.
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67-003 INITIAL AND RECIPROCITY LICENSE: To receive a license, an individual must submit
a complete application, pay the appropriate fee, and meet the following:

67-003.01 Age and Good Character: Be at least 19 years old and of good character,;

67-003.02 Citizenship/Lawful Presence: Be a citizen of the United States, an alien
lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform
Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible
for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act;

67-003.03 General Education: Have earned the equivalent of 60 semester hours of
college credit, which includes:

a 6 semester hours of English;

b. 6 semester hours of accounting;
C. 8 semester hours of chemistry;
d
e

12 semester hours of biological science relating to the human body; and
6 semester hours of psychology or counseling;

Reciprocity: For reciprocity an applicant must have the following:
1. Education/Practice: Earned the equivalent of 60 semester hours of

college credit and either coursework as listed in 172 NAC 67-003.03
or practice as follows:

a. At least 5 years of practice as a licensed or certified Funeral
Director and Embalmer in another state. A year of
apprenticeship does not constitute licensure or certification
in this case. It must be 5 years of practice beyond the year
of apprenticeship; and

2. Continuing Education: Completed at least 16 hours of funeral
directing and embalming continuing education within the previous
24 months immediately prior to application;

67-003.04 Mortuary Science Education: Have completed a full course of instruction in an
accredited school of mortuary science. Hours earned in a school of mortuary science as
part of the mortuary program may not be used for the 60 semester hours;

67-003.05 Apprenticeship: Have completed a 12-month apprenticeship under the
supervision of a licensed Funeral Director and Embalmer practicing in the State of
Nebraska. The apprenticeship must:

a. Be registered with the Department prior to the start date;
b. Be completed in one of the following ways:

(1) 6 months split as specified in 172 NAC 67-004.01 or
(2) Full 12 months; and
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C. Consist of arterially embaiming 25 bodies and assisting with 25 funerais.
Reciprocity: Have completed 1 year of funeral directing and embalming practice

following licensure/certification in another jurisdiction is deemed equivalent to a
12-month apprenticeship.

67-003.06 Examination: Have successfully passed the national standardized examination

developed and administered by The International Conference of Funeral Service
Examining Boards, the Nebraska jurisprudence examination and Nebraska vital statistic
forms examination with a score of 75% or above on each examination.

67-003.07 Denied or Withdrawn Applications

67-003.07A Denied Applications: An applicant for a funeral directing and
embalming license whose application is denied by the Department will be allowed
the return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the
Department. Any examination fee will not be returned.

67-003.07B _Withdrawn Applications: An applicant for a funeral directing and
embalming license may request to withdraw the application. A request to withdraw
an application will be granted:

1. When the application is incomplete; or
2. When the request for withdrawal is received within five business
days of the receipt of a completed application.

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be allowed the
return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the
Department.

67-004 APPRENTICE LICENSE: Individuals applying for an initial license as a Funeral Director

and Embalmer must complete an apprenticeship under the supervision of a licensed Funeral
Director and Embalmer practicing in the State of Nebraska. Apprenticeships must be served in
the State of Nebraska in a licensed Funeral Establishment and the first 25 funeral assists and 25
embalmings must be completed under direct onsite supervision of the supervising funeral director
and embalmer.

Applicants may complete the 12 months apprenticeship in either a split apprenticeship or a full
apprenticeship. Before beginning an apprenticeship, an individual must apply and be approved
by the Department for apprentice licensure.

67-004.01 Types of Apprenticeship:

1.

12-Month _Full _Apprenticeship. An applicant may serve a 12-month full
apprenticeship by serving over a continuous 12-month period following the
successful completion of a full course of study in an accredited school of mortuary
science and the successful passage of the licensing examination. Licensure will

3
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be for 12 months from the date of issuance, must be completed over a continuous
12-month period and will not be extended by the Board.

12-month _Split Apprenticeship. An applicant may serve a 12-month split
apprenticeship by serving 6 months prior to attending a school of mortuary science
and serving the remaining 6 months after graduation from a school of mortuary
science. Licensure will be for 6 months from the date of issuance, must be
completed over a continuous 6-month period and will not be extended by the
Board.

67-004.02 License: To receive an apprentice license, an individual must submit a

complete application, pay the appropriate fee, and meet the following:

67-004.02A Age and Good Character: Be at least 19 years old and of good
character;

67-004.02B Citizenship/Lawful Presence: Be a citizen of the United States, an
alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under
the Uniform Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United
States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act;

67-004.02C General Education: Have completed at least 39 of the 60 semester
hours of college credit, as specified in 172 NAC 67-003.03;

67-004.02D Mortuary Science Education and Examination: If requesting a 12-
Month apprenticeship or the final 6-month apprenticeship:

1. Have completed a full course of instruction in an accredited school
of mortuary science; and
2. Have successfully completed the licensing examination.

Items 1 and 2 above do not apply when requesting the first 6-Months of a split
apprenticeship; and

67-004.02EF Supervisor: Have a supervisor who is licensed and practicing as a
funeral director and embalmer in Nebraska.

67-004.03 Change in Supervisor: An individual who changes his/her supervisor or adds

a new supervisor must submit a complete application to the Department within 30 days
following the change. A complete application includes all required documentation and a
written application.

67-004.04 Denied or Withdrawn Applications

1; Denied Applications: An applicant for an apprentice license whose
application is denied by the Department will be aliowed the return of his/her
fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the Department.
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2, Withdrawn Applications: An applicant for apprentice license may request
to withdraw the application. A request to withdraw an application will be
granted:
a. When the application is incomplete; or
b. When the request for withdrawal is received within five business

days of the receipt of a completed application.

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be
allowed the return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be
retained by the Department.

67-005 EXAMINATIONS

67-005.01 Jurisprudence and Vital Statistics Forms Examination:

67-005.01A Eligibility: To be eligible to take the jurisprudence examination and
vital statistics forms examination, an applicant must:

1 Have received written notification from the Department approving a
12-month apprenticeship license; or

2. Have received written notification from the Department approving a
final 8-month apprenticeship license; or

3. Meet the requirements for licensing by reciprocity as specified in

172 NAC 67-003.

67-005.01B __Examination Registration: To register for the jurisprudence
examination and vital statistics forms examination, the applicant must submit a
complete application to the Department.

67-005.01C Special Accommodations: If special accommodations are requested,
such request may be submitted on a form provided by the Department.  |f the
applicant has a learning disability, a psychological disability, or hidden disability
that requires an accommodation in testing, an originally signed and dated
document must be submitted from an appropriate professional (education
professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist) verifying the applicant’s disabling
condition which requires special accommodations.

67-006 RENEWAL: An individual who wants to renew his/her license to practice as a funeral

director, embalmer or funeral director and embalmer must, prior to the expiration date, file an
application for renewal, pay the fee, and demonstrate compliance with continuing education

requirements.

67-006.01 Continuing Education: On or before February 1st of each even-numbered

year, each Funeral Director, Embalmer or Funeral Director and Embalmer holding an
active license in the State of Nebraska must:
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1. Complete at least 16 hours of acceptable continuing education hours
during the preceding 24-month period. A licensee may carry-over up to 4
hours earned beyond the 16 hours for the next renewal period.

2. Take the Nebraska Jurisprudence Examination at least 1 time every 10

years.

67-006.01A Continuing Education Hour/Credit Calculations. The following

provides the hour/credit calculations:

1:

Academic Credit: All 16 hours of continuing education hours per a
biennial renewal period may be obtained through academic credit;
hours are calculated as follows:

a. 1 semester hour of academic credit equals 15
continuing education hours; and
b. 1 quarter hour of academic credit equals 10

continuing education hours;

Home Study/Internet/Other Electronic Means: A maximum of 8
hours of continuing education hours per a biennial renewal period
may be obtained through home study programs.

Continuing Education Workshops: All 16 hours of continuing
education hours per a biennial renewal period may be obtained
through continuing education workshops, lectures, or interactive
satellite/web workshops. 60 minutes of participation equals 1
continuing education hour. Credit will not be awarded for breaks
and meals.

Jurisprudence Examination: 4 hours of continuing education hours
will be granted for licensees receiving a score of 75% or above on
the jurisprudence examination. A licensee must take the
jurisprudence examination at least 1 time every 10 years.

Tours: A maximum of 2 hours of continuing education credit per a
biennial renewal period may be obtained through a funeral directing
and embalming related tour. Conducting a tour of the licensee’s
facility does not constitute continuing education. 60 minutes of tour
participation equals 1 continuing education credit.

Exhibits/Displays: A maximum of 2 hours of continuing education
hours per a biennial renewal period may be obtained through a
funeral directing and embalming related exhibit/display. If a
continuing education workshop provides an exhibit or display area,
a licensee may earn 1 continuing education credit per workshop for
viewing the exhibits/displays.
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District/State/National Association Meetings: A maximum of 8 hours
of continuing education hours per a biennial renewal period may be
obtained through attendance at a District, State, or National
Association Business Meeting. 60 minutes of participation
constitutes 1 continuing education credit. Only 1 hour may be
obtained per meeting.

67-006.01B Acceptable Continuing Education Topic Areas: The Board does not

approve continuing education programs/activities. In order for a continuing
education activity/program to be accepted for renewal or reinstatement of a
license, the activity must include one or a combination of the following topic areas:

SOV NOORWN =

0.

Communication/Media;
Counseling/Arbitration;

Customer relations;

Disaster training;

Embalming practice;

Funeral directing practice;

Management (stress/personnel/business);
Marketing/advertising;

Personal development; or

Pre-need.

67-006.01C Continuing Education Workshop/Program Criteria: To be considered

acceptable for continuing education, a workshop/program must meet the following

criteria:

=N

Be at least 60 minutes in duration;

Objectives must relate to the topic areas defined in 172 NAC 67-
006.01B;

Presenters of programs must be qualified by education, experience
or training;

Must be open to all Funeral Directors and Embalmers licensed by
Nebraska who meet the pre-requisites for the program; and

The provider must have a process for verifying attendance and
issue a certificate of attendance. Each certificate must include the

following:
a. Program name;
b. Name of the participant and his or her license
number;
C. Provider's name;
d. Date the program began and ended; and
e. Number of hours received by the licensee.

67-006.01D Criteria for a Home Study Program/Internet/Other Electronic Means:

To be considered acceptable, a home study program must meet the following

criteria;



DRAFT
6/10/2014

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF 172 NAC 67

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Objectives must relate to the topic areas defined in 172 NAC 67-

006.01B;

Author(s) of home study programs must meet the following

qualifications:

a. Have experience in the content and subject matter;

b. Have expertise in teaching and instructional methods suitable
to subject presented; and

C. Have suitable academic qualifications, certification
credentials, and/or experience for subject presented; and

Must be a post-test or other method of assessment which verifies

that the licensee completed the program.

67-006.02 Waivers of Continuing Education:

67-006.02A Military Service

1.

2.

Licensees actively engaged in military service are not required to pay the
renewal fee.

The Department may waive continuing competency requirements if a
licensee has served in the regular armed forces of the U.S. during part of
the credentialing period immediately preceding the renewal date.

67-006.02B  First Licensed: The Department waives continuing education

requirements for individuals who were first credentialed within the 24-month period
immediately preceding the renewal date.

67-006.02C Medical: The Board may waive continuing education for individuals

who have been suffering from a serious or disabling iliness or physical disability
which prevented completion of the required number of continuing education hours
during the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date.

67-006.03 Inactive Status: When an individual wants to have his/her license placed on

inactive status, s/he must notify the Department in writing. There is no fee to have a
license placed on inactive status and continuing education is not required.

67-007 DISCIPLINARY ACTION

67-007.01 Grounds for Discipline: A funeral directing, embalming or funeral directing and

embalming license may be denied, refused renewal, or have other disciplinary measures
taken against it for grounds specified in Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-178, 38-1423 and 38-1424
or for unprofessional conduct.

67-007.02 Unprofessional Conduct: Unprofessional conduct means any departure from

or failure to conform to the standards of acceptable and prevailing practice of funeral
directing and embalming or the ethics of the profession, regardless of whether a person,
patient, or entity is injured, but does not include a single act of ordinary negligence.
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Unprofessional conduct also means conduct that is likely to deceive or defraud the public
or is detrimental to the public interest. Unprofessional conduct includes but is not limited
to the acts set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-179 and the following:

1. Refusal to cooperate or failure to furnish requested information during a
licensing or discipline investigation by the Department;

67-008 REINSTATEMENT: This section applies to individuals previously licensed in Nebraska
who seek the authority to return to practice in Nebraska with a valid Nebraska license. Individuals
may apply for reinstatement as follows:

1. An individual whose license has expired, been placed on inactive status, voluntarily
surrendered for an indefinite period of time, or suspended or limited for disciplinary
reasons, may apply for reinstatement at any time.

2. An individual whose license has been voluntarily surrendered for a definite period
of time may apply for reinstatement after that period of time has elapsed.

3. An individual whose license has been revoked may apply for reinstatement only
after a period of two years has elapsed from the date of revocation.

4. An individual whose license has been permanently voluntarily surrendered is not
eligible for reinstatement and may not reapply for a new credential of the same
license type.

The voluntary surrender of a license may be unrelated to disciplinary matters, or may be done to
resolve a pending disciplinary matter, in lieu of disciplinary action, or in response to a notice of
disciplinary action.

67-009 FEES: Fees referred to in these regulations are set out in 172 NAC 2, unless otherwise
specified.
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CHAPTER 68 LICENSURE OF FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENTS AND BRANCH

ESTABLISHMENTS

68-001  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY: These regulations govern the licensure of funeral
establishments and branch establishments under the Funeral Directing and Embalming Practice
Act and the Uniform Credentialing Act.

68-002 DEFINITIONS: For purposes of these regulations, definitions in the Uniform
Credentialing Act and the Funeral Directing and Embalming Practice Act and the following
definitions are hereby adopted.

Aftest or attestation means that the individual declares that all statements on the application are
true and complete.

Complete application means an application that contains all of the information requested on the
application, with attestation to its truth and completeness, and that is submitted with the required
fees and all required documentation.

68-003 ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE: Any person who wishes to operate a branch establishment
or Funeral Establishment must obtain an establishment license.

Funeral establishments may be licensed for one or a combination of the following services:

1. The care and preparation of dead human bodies for burial, disposition, or
cremation;

2. Conducting funeral services for dead human bodies; or

3. Arranging funeral services for dead human bodies.

Branch establishments may be licensed if they are a subsidiary of a licensed funeral
establishment and must include an area where any portion of the funeral service or arrangements
for the disposition of a dead human body is conducted and must include at least one or a
combination of the following rooms/areas:

1. A casket display room; or
2. A viewing area; or
3. An area for conducting funeral services.

68-003.01 Qualifications: To receive a license, an individual must submit a complete
application, pay the appropriate fee, and meet the following:

1. Manager License: The proposed manager must have a current active
Nebraska
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Funeral Director's or Funeral Director and Embalmer's license;

2. Good Character. The proposed manager must have good character;

3. Citizenship/Lawful Presence: The manager and owner, if the owner is a
sole proprietor, must be a citizen of the United States, an alien lawfully
admitted into the United States who is eligible for a license under the
Uniform Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United
States who is eligible for a license under the Uniform Credentialing Act; and

4, Self-Evaluation: Complete a self-evaluation inspection report showing
compliance with 172 NAC 68-008 and, if applicable, 172 NAC 68-009; and

68-003.02 Branch Establishment: If the application is for a branch establishment, the

branch establishment must be a subsidiary of a licensed funeral establishment.

68-003.03 Denied or Withdrawn Applications

68-003.03A Denied Applications: An applicant for a funeral establishment or
branch establishment license whose application is denied by the Department will
be allowed the return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be
retained by the Department.

68-003.03B Withdrawn Applications: An applicant for a funeral establishment or
branch establishment license may request to withdraw the application. A request
to withdraw an application will be granted:

1. When the application is incomplete; or
2. When the request for withdrawal is received within five business
days of the receipt of a completed application.

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be allowed the
return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the
Department.

68-003.04 License Not Transferable: A license is issued only for the premises and

manager named in the application and is not transferable or assignable.

68-003.05 License Display: The establishment license must be conspicuously displayed

in the branch establishment and/or funeral establishment.

68-003.06  Establishment Manager Responsibilities: The designated manager is

responsible for all transactions conducted at the establishment, in compliance with the
statutes, rules and regulations relating to funeral directing and embalming and
establishments.
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68-004 AMENDED LICENSE FOR EXISTING ESTABLISHMENTS. An establishment license is
issued only for the premises, the owner and manager named in the application and is not
transferable or assignable. An establishment may amend its license as follows:

68-004.01 __Change in Establishment Manager. The applicant must apply to the
Department for and obtain another license at least 15 days prior to the change in manager
and submit the required fee for a reissued license.

In the event of an immediate termination of a manager or in the event of the death of the
manager, the application for a change in manager must be submitted to the Department
within 5 days following notification of termination or death of the manager. During this
period of time, the establishment may operate as long as a licensed funeral director and
embalmer is providing funeral directing and embalming services in accordance with the
Funeral Directing and Embalming Practice Act and Rules and Regulations 172 NAC 67
and 172 NAC 68. Such exception terminates after the 5-day period.

68-004.02 Change in Establishment Name: The applicant must apply to the Department
for and obtain another license at least 30 days prior to the change in name and submit the
required fee for a reissued license.

68-004.03 Change in Owner: The applicant must apply to the Department for and obtain
another license at least 15 days prior to the change in owner and submit the required fee
for a reissued license.

68-004.04 Change of Establishment Location: The applicant must apply to the
Department for and obtain another license as specified in 172 NAC 68-003 at least 30
days prior to the change.

68-004.05 Change in_ Services Provided - Adding a Preparation Room: For
establishments that have been licensed without a preparation room and wish to add a
preparation room for the care and preparation of a dead human bodies for burial,
disposition or cremation, the applicant must:

1. Notify the Department of the establishment’s intent to have a preparation
room; and
2. Have received a successful inspection rating within 30 days of the

anticipated change in services.

68-005 ORGANIZED OR SCHEDULED FUNERAL SERVICES AND AUTHORIZED SERVICES
BY UNLICENSED PERSONS AND STUDENTS IN MORTUARY SCHOOLS:

1. A licensed funeral director and embalmer must be present at each organized or scheduled
funeral service (including a wake where an organized service is conducted or a religious
service), burial and internment, whenever a dead human body is present. No person who
is not licensed as a funeral director and embalmer or serving as an apprentice can embalm
dead human bodies for burial or cremation.
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Persons, who are not licensed as funeral directors and embalmers, may assist in
implementing arrangements made by a licensed funeral director and embalmer as long as
they are under his/her supervision and responsibility.

These activities include:

Driving/maintenance of funeral vehicles and facilities;

Administrative duties;

Applying cosmetics;

Arranging or shampooing the hair of the deceased,

Ceremonial assistance (such as bathing, clothing/dressing and casketing
the deceased body) and,;

Religious services pursuant to 68-005, item 1.

© 000w
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2. Persons may, at the direction of a licensed funeral director and embalmer, make first calls
or removals of dead human bodies. Exception: Instances in which removals are
performed by public authorities in emergency situations.

3. A student may participate in a student practicum/internship in a licensed funeral
establishment in Nebraska, if the student’s school is accredited by and in good standing
with the American Board of Funeral Service Education (ABFSE). The student may assist
with funeral directing and embalming services when the student is in a recognized
practicum/internship, under the supervision of the school of mortuary science, and under
the direct on-site supervision and responsibility of a Nebraska licensed funeral director
and embalmer.

68-006 TRANSPORTATION AND FINAL DISPOSITION OF DEAD HUMAN BODIES

68-006.01  Communicable Disease: Persons who have died due to communicable
diseases such as cholera, typhus, plague, shigellosis or hemorrhagic fever must be
completely wrapped before removal from the premises.

1. Bodies dead of communicable diseases listed in 172 NAC 68-006.01 must
be thoroughly and promptly embalmed and will be held in isolation from the
public for a period of 24 hours following the embalming.

2. All bodies dead of any of the communicable diseases listed in 172 NAC 68-
006.01 which are not promptly and completely embalmed must be encased
immediately after death in a body transfer case or shipping case that is
constructed out of 20 gauge steel and is hermetically sealed, and under no
condition will the body be removed from the container.

3. This rule does not prohibit a public funeral, nor does it relieve persons who
are quarantined as contacts from quarantine requirements.

Persons who have died due to a communicable disease other than those listed in 172
NAC 68-006.01 require no further special handling if they are embalmed.
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68-006.02 Out-of-State Transportation: In case a body is to be transported out of the
state of Nebraska, the Nebraska Funeral Director and Embalmer in charge of the body
must determine the regulations governing the transportation of bodies in the other state,
or states, and must comply fully with the requirements of such regulations, must oversee
the removal while the body is in Nebraska, and must comply with the requirements under
172 NAC 68, and with the Interstate Commerce Commission’s requirements for
transportation by common carrier.

68-006.03 In-State Transportation of Bodies.

1. Un-Embalmed Bodies:

a. Dead human bodies, which have not been embalmed, must not be
transported by common carrier. Transportation may be made by
privately owned conveyance under the supervision and
responsibility of a licensed Funeral Director.

b. in the event the body is placed immediately after death in a body
transfer case or shipping case that is constructed out of 20 gauge
steel and is hermetically sealed, the body may be transported, in
the same manner as an embalmed body.

2. Embalmed Bodies: There are no additional restrictions to the
transportation of embalmed bodies other than those contained in the exist-
ing Nebraska statutes, provided the body is embalmed by arterial and
cavity injection using current accepted practices and chemicals.

a. Exception: In the event the remains are to be sent to the State
Anatomical Board, cavity work should be avoided when possible.

68-006.04 General Rules Relating to Embalmed Bodies, Un-Embalmed Bodies and
Final Disposition of Dead Human Bodies.

68-006.04A Un-Embalmed Body: An un-embalmed body may be retained in
storage at a constant temperature of less than 40 degrees Fahrenheit for not more
than 96 hours from receipt of the deceased body. An un-embalmed body may be
retained in storage beyond the 96 hours if:

1. Wiritten notification of a criminal proceeding is received; or
2. Upon receipt of a court order.

When such a body is removed from storage it must be embalmed, buried, or
cremated within 24 hours following the removal from storage.

68-006.04B_Embalmed: Final disposition of a dead human body, which has been
embalmed, must be made within 30 days after death. [f death did not occur in
Nebraska, final disposition of a dead human body must be made within 30 days
after receipt of the dead human body.
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1. Exception: If unforeseen circumstances occur which would prevent
final disposition of a dead human body within the required 30 days
after death, the license holder must request special permission from
the Director of the Division of Public Health to extend the final
disposition date.

a. To attain special permission, the license holder must submit
a written request to the Division, stating the following:

i. Name of Funeral Establishment and license holder
overseeing the final disposition;

ii. Name of the deceased;

iii. Date of death of the deceased; and

iv. An explanation of the basis for extending the final
disposition, such as but not limited to: family
dispute, criminal investigation, military burial,
shipments outside of the United States, or similar
acts.

b. The Director may authorize an extension of the required
final disposition date of a dead human body up to 30 days.
If final disposition has not occurred by the ending date of the
extension, the license holder must seek court action
regarding final disposition of the decedent’s remains.

68-007 FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT AND BRANCH ESTABLISHMENT INSPECTIONS: All
establishments will receive an initial and thereafter a routine inspection. The inspection will
include compliance with 172 NAC 68-008.

68-007.01 Initial Self-Evaluation Inspection: Under 172 NAC 68-003, the applicant must
conduct a self-evaluation inspection prior to the proposed opening date of the
establishment.

68-007.02 Initial On-Site Inspection: The Department will conduct an on-site
unannounced inspection within 90 days following issuance of an initial establishment
license.

68-007.03 Timing of Inspections: The Department may conduct an on-site unannounced
inspection at any time it deems necessary.

68-007.04 Focused Selection Inspections: The Department may conduct an
unannounced inspection of an establishment when the Department is informed of one or
more of the following:

1. The passage of 6 years without an inspection;
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A complaint alleging a violation of statutes and/or regulations relating to
funeral establishments and branch establishments;

Change of services or location; and

Any other event that raises concerns about the maintenance or
management of the establishment.

68-008 FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT REQUIRED DOCUMENTS, PHYSICAL STRUCTURE

AND EQUIPMENT/SUPPLIES: A funeral establishment must have the following:

68-008.01 Documents: Documents must be posted and/or available as follows:

it

The current license of the funeral establishment must be conspicuously
displayed;

The current license of the manager and all licensed embalmers, registered
apprentices, licensed funeral directors and licensed funeral directors and
embalmers employed by the funeral establishment must be conspicuously
displayed,

A sign which displays the name of the current or proposed funeral
establishment. The sign must be located on or at the front of the building in
a position where it clearly is visible and legible from the outside of the
building, or provide documentation that it is on order; and

Copies of written statements containing a list of principal services and
furnishings to be supplied by the funeral director or funeral director and
embalmer for the preparation and burial or cremation of a deceased body
(i.e., general price list).

68-008.02 Physical Structure: The physical structure must be maintained to ensure safety

of the public and to ensure compliance with the equipment and sanitation requirements.

1.

Conducting Funeral Services: [f services will include conducting funeral
services for dead human bodies, the funeral establishment must have:

a. Room(s) for:

(1) Counseling families or next of kin;
(2) Conducting the funeral service; and
(3) Viewing the deceased.

The room(s) must have floor to ceiling walls on all sides, and must
be either a part of the funeral establishment or located at a licensed
branch establishment, which is within a reasonable distance of the
funeral establishment. The room(s):

(1) Must have space for public seating;
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(2) Must have space for viewing the deceased body; and
(3) May have an adjacent area for cosmetic services and
dressing of the deceased body for viewing purposes.

A casket selection area, which has either a catalogue or electronic
media for ordering caskets, or has sample caskets displayed.

Motor vehicles, such as, but not limited to: funeral coach, sedans
and vans.

A general price list (GPL).

Preparation for Final Disposition: If services include the care and

preparation for burial, disposition or cremation, the funeral establishment
must include:

a.

A preparation room for preparing dead human bodies for burial or
other final disposition which has floor to ceiling walls on all sides.
The preparation room must be clean and sanitary and contain at a
minimum the following:

(1) Flooring and walls that are cleanable, such as tile or other
suitable hard surface;
(2) Adequate drainage, lighting and ventilation;
(3) At least one sink with running water,
(4) At least one service sink or floor drain for use of drainage
from the embalming table and for use with the aspirator;
(5) Fully closing doors;
(6) The following instruments and supplies with ample storage
thereof:
(a) Head covers;
(b) Shoe covers;
(c) Goggles;
(d) Masks;
(e) Heavy duty or surgical gloves;
) Disinfectant spray;
(9) Adequate materials for use with contagious diseases
(contagious disease kit);
(h) Embalming Gown with sleeves;

0] Porcelain or stainless steel embalming table;

) Embalming machine;

(k) Hydro or electrical aspirator with arterial tubes and
drain tubes;

)] Pair of spring forceps;

(m)  Aneurysm needles;

(n) Pair of scissors;

(o) Different sizes of suture needles;
(p) Scalpel with extra blades;
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(q) Razor with extra blades;
n Trocar with suitable length of hose;
(s) Cavity Fluid Injector;
® Sanitary and medical waste container;

(u) Arm and head supports; and
(v) Cavity, special and arterial fluids.

68-008.02A Materials or supplies which come in contact with a dead human body
must not be used more than once without being first completely cleansed,
disinfected, and then laundered.

68-008.02B Bandages, cotton, and other waste materials must be destroyed or
placed in the bio-waste receptacle for removal by a waste removal service
immediately at the conclusion of each case to the end that all disease-producing
organisms are destroyed and the public health thereby protected.

68-008.02C All equipment within a motor vehicle used for the transportation of
deceased persons, which comes in contact with a deceased person, must be
thoroughly disinfected immediately at the conclusion of each instance of
transportation to the end that all disease producing organisms are destroyed and
the public health thereby protected.

68-009 BRANCH ESTABLISHMENT REQUIRED DOCUMENTS, PHYSICAL STRUCTURE
AND CASKET SELECTION AREA. A branch establishment must have the following:

68-009.01 Documents: Documents must be posted and/or available as follows:

1. The current license of the funeral establishment must be conspicuously
displayed;
2. The current license of the manager and all licensed funeral directors and

licensed funeral directors and embalmers employed by the funeral
establishment must be conspicuously displayed;

3. A sign which displays the name of the current or proposed branch
establishment. The sign must be located on or at the front of the building in
such a position where it clearly is visible and legible from the outside of the
building, or provide documentation that it is on order; and

4. If funeral arrangements are made at the branch location, copies of written
statements containing a list of principal services and furnishings to be
supplied by the funeral director or funeral director and embalmer for the
preparation and burial or cremation of a deceased body (i.e., general price
list).
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68-009.02 Physical Structure: The physical structure must be maintained to ensure safety
of the public and compliance with the equipment and sanitation requirements. The
physical structure must have:

1. Adequate ventilation;
2. Adequate lighting to maintain public safety; and
3. If viewing of the deceased body is provided at the branch location, the

viewing room(s) must have floor to ceiling walls on all sides;

68-009.03 Casket Selection Area: If the branch establishment has a casket selection
area, the area may include a catalogue or electronic media for ordering caskets or have
sample caskets displayed.

68-010 CLOSING AN ESTABLISHMENT: When an establishment manager anticipates closing
an establishment, the Department must be notified in writing of the closing date. The Department
will then change its records to reflect the current status of the establishment.

The establishment must retain its pre-need records in compliance with the Burial Pre-Need Sale
Act and upon closing the establishment, it must forward said records to another funeral
establishment in Nebraska. The establishment must remove all signage relating to the name of
the funeral establishment or branch establishment upon its closing.

68-011 RENEWAL An individual who wants to renew his/her license to operate as a funeral
establishment or branch establishment must, prior to the expiration date of February 1, of even-
numbered years, file an application for renewal and pay the fee.

68-012 DISCIPLINARY ACTION

68-012.01 Grounds for Discipline: A branch establishment or funeral establishment
license may be denied, refused renewal, or have other disciplinary measures taken
against it for grounds specified in Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-182, 38-1423 or 38-1424 and the
following:

1. Refusal to cooperate or failure to furnish requested information during a
licensing or discipline investigation by the Department.

68-013 REAPPLICATION: This section applies to establishments previously credentialed in
Nebraska who seek the authority to return to operation in Nebraska with a valid Nebraska license.

1. An establishment whose license has expired, voluntarily surrendered for an
indefinite period of time, or suspended or limited for disciplinary reasons may apply
at any time to the Department for and obtain another license as specified in 172
NAC 68-003.

10
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2. An establishment whose license has been voluntarily surrendered for a definite
period may apply after that period of time has elapsed, to the Department for and
obtain another license as specified in 172 NAC 68-003.

2 An establishment whose license has been revoked may apply for another license,
only after a period of two years has elapsed from the date of revocation, to the
Department for and obtain another license as specified in 172 NAC 68-003.

4. An individual whose license has been permanently voluntarily surrendered may
not apply for another license.

The voluntary surrender of a credential may be unrelated to disciplinary matters, or may be done
to resolve a pending disciplinary matter, in lieu of disciplinary action, or in response to a notice of
disciplinary action.

68-014 FEES: Fees referred to in these regulations are set out in 172 NAC 2, unless otherwise
specified.

11
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