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NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
PROPOSED WITHHOLDING REGULATIONS 


TITLE 316, CHAPTER 21 


REG-21-001 REQUIREMENTS OF WITHHOLDING TAX FROM WAGES 


REQUIREMENT TO WITHHOLD NEBRASKA INCOME TAX 


 


001.01 The following payments to resident or nonresident individuals or businesses are subject 
to Nebraska income tax withholding. 


001.02 Every employer paying any wages to a resident or nonresident individual must deduct 
and withhold for the Nebraska income tax if:  


001.02A The employer is maintaining an office or transacting business within the State 
of in Nebraska; and  


001.02B The wages making payment of any wages that are taxable under the Nebraska 
Revenue Act of 1967, as amended,; and  


001.02C The wages are subject to withholding under the Internal Revenue Code (I.R.C.), 
as amended, to a resident or nonresident individual shall deduct and withhold from such 
wages. 


001.03 The income tax withheld for each payroll period such must be an amount of tax as that 
will result in withholding from the employee's wages during each calendar year an amount be 
substantially equivalent to the tax reasonably estimated to be due as the result of the inclusion 
of including the employee's wages received during such calendar year in his or her adjusted gross 
income. 


001.02 001.04 Every payor who is making payment paying for personal services performed or to 
be performed substantially in this state to Nebraska must deduct and withhold income tax if the 
payments are to a nonresident individual who is not subject to withholding on such the payment 
under the Internal Revenue Code I.R.C., or to a corporation, partnership, or limited liability 
company (LLC) described in this subsection shall Reg-21-001.04C through 001.04C(5) deduct 
and withhold from such payment for the Nebraska individual income tax. 


001.02A 001.04A Payments to a nonresident for personal services a made by any 
person engaged in maintaining an office or transacting business in this state or with a 
business location in this state Nebraska to a nonresident individual for personal 
services are not subject to withholding if the payments made during the year total less 
than six hundred dollars ($600.00). 


001.02B 001.04B Payments to a nonresident made by any person who is neither 
maintaining an office, nor transacting business in Nebraska to a nonresident individual 
for personal services made by any person not included in 001.02A above are not subject 
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to income tax withholding if the payments made during the year total less than five 
thousand dollars ($5,000.00). 


001.03 001.04C Payments to the following business entities for personal services 
performed by nonresidents nonresident individuals are considered to be payments for 
personal services that are subject to income tax withholding under this regulation. 


001.03A 001.04C(1) For When a corporation which is receiving a payment for 
personal services performed or to be performed substantially in this state and of 
which Nebraska when all or substantially all of the shareholders are the persons 
performing personal services of the same type, such the payment shall be 
deemed the  is considered to be wages of the individuals performing the personal 
services and subject to the income tax imposed on individuals by the Nebraska 
Revenue Act of 1967. The amount withheld shall be deemed is considered to be 
income tax withheld from the individuals. 


001.03B 001.04C(2) For When a partnership which is receiving a payment for 
personal services performed or to be performed substantially in this state and of 
which Nebraska when all or substantially all of the partners are the persons 
performing personal services of the same type, such the payment shall be 
deemed is considered to be wages of the individuals performing the personal 
services and subject to the income tax imposed on individuals by the Nebraska 
Revenue Act of 1967. The amount withheld shall be deemed is considered to be 
income tax withheld from the individuals. 


001.03C 001.04C(3) For When a limited liability company LLC which is 
receiving a payment for personal services performed or to be performed 
substantially in this state and of which Nebraska when all or substantially all of 
the members are the persons performing personal services of the same 
type, such the payment shall be deemed is considered to be wages of the 
individuals performing the personal services and subject to the income 
tax imposed on individuals by the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967. The amount 
withheld shall be deemed is considered to be income tax withheld from the 
individuals. 


001.04C(4) When determining whether all or substantially all of the owners of a 
corporation, partnership, or LLC are providing personal services subject to 
withholding under this regulation, all or substantially all means: 


001.04C(4)(i) Eighty percent or more of the voting stock of a corporation, 
80% or more of the ownership of the partnership, or 80% or more of the 
ownership of the LLC.  


001.04C(4)(ii) A shareholder, partner, or member is considered to own 
any share of stock, or part of the partnership or LLC that he or she owns 
directly and every share, or part of the partnership or LLC that he or she is 
considered to own under the attribution rules of either I.R.C. §§ 267, 318, 
or 1563(e). 


001.04C(5) Personal services do not include services performed where capital 
furnished by the nonresident individual is a material income-producing factor. 
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Capital is considered a material income-producing factor whenever the value of 
the use of the capital, or the value of the capital furnished, exceeds 50% of the 
amount of the payment. 


001.04C(6) If more than one of the shareholders, partners, or members of the 
corporation, partnership, or LLC perform the personal services in Nebraska, the 
income tax withholding is considered to be divided between the nonresident 
individual owners performing the personal services in Nebraska in proportion to 
the ownership in the entity of each shareholder, partner, or member who 
performed the service in Nebraska. 


001.04D Contractors making payments to any contractor or any person that is not an 
employee for construction services are not subject to the requirement to withhold income 
tax on these payments.  


001.05 Every contractor who is maintaining an office or transacting business in Nebraska and 
making a payment or payments for construction services performed in Nebraska to any 
contractor or any person who is not an employee must deduct and withhold income tax equal to 
five percent of the payments if the recipient of the payment is not included in the Contractor 
Database. Payments to a contractor for construction services are not subject to withholding if:  


001.05A The payments made during the year to the contractor or person total less than 
$600; or  


001.05B The contractor or person receiving the payment is not subject to tax on the 
payment because of a treaty obligation of the U.S. 


 


 (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2753. November 11, 1998_____.) 
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REG-21-002 DEFINITIONS FOR INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING TAX PURPOSES 


 


002.01 For the purposes of these regulations, Reg-21-001 through Reg-21-019: 


002.01A The definitions in Reg-21-002.02 through Reg-21-002.11 apply; and 


002.01B The the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) I.R.C. and its applicable 
regulations with respect to regarding deductions and withholding of federal income tax 
by employers apply, (including the meaning of the various federal terms (such as like 
employer, employee, wages, payroll period, and withholding allowances) shall apply for 
Nebraska purposes, except as otherwise specifically provided in these regulations or 
where such the federal rules and definitions are clearly inconsistent with and inapplicable 
to the provisions of the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967, as amended.  


002.02 Construction services means services performed by a contractor. 


002.03 Contractor means any person engaged in the business of constructing, altering, repairing, 
dismantling, or demolishing buildings, roads, bridges, viaducts, sewers, water and gas mains, 
streets, disposal plants, water filters, tanks and towers, airports, dams, levees and canals, water 
wells, pipelines, transmission and power lines, and every other type of structure, project, 
development, or improvement within the definition of real and personal property, including 
constructing, repairing, or altering property to be held either for sale or rental. Contractor also 
includes any subcontractor engaged in the business of these activities and any person who is 
providing or arranging for labor for these activities, either as an employee or as an independent 
contractor, for any contractor or person. 


002.04 Contractor Database means the online database maintained by the Department of Labor 
of contractors registered under the Contractor Registration Act that provide construction services 
in the state. 


002.05 Department means the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 


002.06 Employee means any person defined as an employee under the I.R.C. and any pension 
recipient, contractor, corporate payee, partnership payee, or nonresident individual from whom 
Nebraska income tax withholding is required. 


002.02 002.07An employer is Employer means any person or organization qualifying as an 
employer for federal income tax withholding purposes and maintaining an office or transacting 
business within in Nebraska, whether or not a paying agency is maintained within the state.  


002.07A The fact that an employer may not be subject to Nebraska income tax is not 
relevant to the obligation to withhold for income tax purposes. 


002.07B 002.02A Employer also includes the State of Nebraska state, or any political 
subdivision, agency, or instrumentality thereof of the state, and the United States 
U.S., or and any agency or instrumentality thereof of the U.S. 


002.02B 002.07C Employer includes employee leasing companies, professional 
employer organizations, common paymasters, or any other organizations that provide 
payroll services for employees that are supervised by another organization. 
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002.07D For the purposes of these regulations, including the filing of returns and the 
imposition of imposing penalties, the term employer shall also include includes any payor 
required to withhold under Reg-21-001.04, Reg-21-001.02, and any contractor required 
to withhold under  Reg-21-001.05. 


002.03 Employee shall mean any person defined as an employee under the IRC and shall also 
include the nonresident individual, partnership, or corporate payee from whom withholding is 
required. 


002.04 For the purposes of withholding from nonresidents not subject to federal withholding, 
personal services does not include services performed where capital furnished by the nonresident 
is a material income-producing factor. Capital will be considered a material income-producing 
factor whenever the value of the use of capital, or the value of the capital furnished, is in excess 
of 50 per cent of the amount of the payment. 


Examples of such services include the construction of improvements to real estate where the 
nonresident contractor furnishes the materials incorporated into the improvement, or custom 
combining where the nonresident furnishes the machinery and equipment used. 


002.05 Substantially all shall mean: 


002.05A For a corporation, the shareholders who own eighty per cent of the voting stock. 
A shareholder will be considered as owning any share of stock owned directly and every 
share he or she is considered to own under either IRC section 267 or 318, and 


002.05B For a partnership, the partners who own eighty per cent of the partnership. A 
partner will be considered as owning any part of the partnership owned directly, and all 
parts of the partnership he or she is considered to own under either IRC section 267 or 
318. 


002.06. 002.08 Native American Reservation Indian shall mean means any enrolled member of a 
recognized Native American Indian Tribe, or any person who is at least one-fourth Native 
American Indian blood, who resides in Nebraska on a Native American Indian reservation. 


002.09 Payroll record means the payroll check stub, a Federal Form W-2, or any other payroll 
document the employer furnishes an employee. 


002.10 Personal services means services performed by an individual who is not an employee 
under the I.R.C. for the payor, including, but not limited to: consultants; entertainers; performers; 
practicing professionals, athletes; public speakers; and service on a corporate or other entity 
board of directors. 


002.07 Reservation shall mean all land within the original boundaries of any Native American 
Indian Reservation in Nebraska which has not been specifically removed by Act of Congress or 
Executive Order. 


002.11 002.08 Wages shall include means any payments that are subject to federal income tax 
withholding including gambling winnings. For the purposes of these regulations, including filing 
returns and imposing penalties, the term wages also includes: 


002.08A002.11A Wages shall also include the amount Amounts paid for personal 
services performed or to be performed in this state Nebraska from which income tax 
withholding is required.; 
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002.08B002.11B Wages shall also include the amount Amounts paid for pensions and 
annuities when the recipient has requested or when the payor is required to withhold 
federal income tax from such these payments.; 


002.11C Amounts paid by a contractor for construction services performed in Nebraska 
to; 


002.11C(1) Another contractor, or  


002.11C(2) Any person who is not an employee subject to withholding under 
Nebraska law.  


002.11D Wages include severance payments made upon termination or retirement of an 
employee pursuant to an employment contract or employer policy if determining the 
amount of the payments does not require future administration by the employer, and if 
the payments that were made to the employee prior to termination or retirement were 
considered wages. 


002.08C002.11E Wages shall do not include any employer contributions to retirement 
plans, such as I.R.C section § 401(k) plans, made on behalf of persons subject to federal 
income tax withholding on payments from the employer if the specific contributions are 
not subject to federal withholding. 


002.09 Federal Form W-2 shall include all versions of the form for reporting different payments 
subject to federal withholding, including the Federal Form W-2G, Federal Form 1099-R, and 
Federal Forms 1099-MISC reporting nonresident withholding. 


 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 48-2103 and 48-2117, and 77-2753. March 7, 2006 _____.) 
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REG-21-004 DETERMINING TAX TO BE WITHHELD THE AMOUNT OF INCOME 


TAX WITHHOLDING  


 


004.01 The Nebraska income tax to be withheld by an employer or a payor from wages must be 
determined in accordance with using one of the following income tax withholding methods on 
wages and other payments subject to withholding: 


004.01A Method I - The percentage method Percentage Method. The amount of income 
tax to be withheld will be is determined by subtracting from the gross wages the value of 
the withholding allowances claimed on the Federal Employee’s Withholding Allowance 
Certificate, Form W-4, from gross wages and taking the result to the withholding rate 
schedule or at multiplied by a comparable flat percentage.  


004.01A(1) The State Tax Commissioner shall must publish withholding rate 
schedules for the different pay periods.  


004.01A(2) The income levels and rates shall must be established so that the 
withholding will approximate the actual income tax liability using the standard 
deduction and personal exemption credit. The  


004.01A(3) These rate schedules as are published in the Nebraska Circular 
EN, Nebraska Tax Withholding, will and must be applied used by the employer to 
properly calculate the correct amount of withholding on the amount of wages or 
payments subject to income tax by Nebraska and subject to the withholding tax 
under the Internal Revenue Code, except payments subject to Subtitle C, Chapter 
24, section backup withholding as required by I.R.C. § 3406.  The Nebraska 
Circular EN may be found on the Department’s website. 


004.01B Method II - The wage bracket method Wage Bracket Method. The amount of 
income tax to be withheld will be is determined by taking the gross amount of wages and 
the number of withholding allowances claimed on the Federal Form W-4 to on the 
appropriate table in the Nebraska Circular EN, and using the amount shown where the 
row and column intersect. All employers and payors that hold an active Nebraska 
Withholding Identification Certificate will be mailed the The Nebraska Circular EN, 
Nebraska Tax Withholding, which contains the income tax withholding tax tables based 
upon the amount of wages paid, the length of the pay period, the number of federal 
withholding allowances claimed, and reflecting the above Nebraska withholding 
schedules, may be found on the Department’s website. 


004.01C If the calculation by an employer under either Method I or Method II results in 
income tax withholding from an employee that is less than 1½% of  gross wages minus 
tax-qualified deductions, the employer must obtain from the employee satisfactory 
evidence that a lesser amount of withholding is justified. Satisfactory evidence includes 
marriage or birth certificates; Social Security information for dependents; or other 
evidence that reasonably assures the employer that the employee is not improperly or 
fraudulently evading or defeating the income tax by reducing or eliminating withholding. 


13  316 Neb. Admin. Code, Chapter 21 
May 30, 2014  Income Tax Withholding Regulations 







Income Tax Withholding Regulations – Strikethrough Version 
 
004.02 Where If supplemental wages such as bonuses, commissions, overtime pay, and sales 
awards are paid at the same time as regular wages, the income tax to be deducted and 
withheld should be is determined as if the total of the supplemental and regular wages were a 
single wage payment for the regular payroll period. If these supplemental wages are paid at a 
different time, the employer may determine the tax to be withheld amount of income tax 
withholding by adding the supplemental wages to either to the regular wages for the current 
payroll period, or to the regular wages for the last preceding payroll period within the same 
calendar year,; or the employer may elect to withhold on the supplemental wages by using a flat 
withholding rate as determined and published in the Circular EN by the State Tax Commissioner. 


004.03 The Nebraska income tax is to must be withheld based on the basis of the same payroll 
period which that is properly used for federal income tax withholding purposes. 


004.04 In addition to the income tax required to be withheld under this regulation, an employer 
and employee may agree in writing that an additional amount will be withheld from the 
employee's wages and a payor and payee may agree that an additional amount be withheld from 
the payment subject to withholding.  


004.04A The agreement is effective for such any period as that the employer and 
employee or the payor and payee mutually parties agree to be bound.  


004.04B If the agreement fails to provide a termination date, either the employer or the 
employee or the payor or the payee party may terminate the agreement, by furnishing a 
written notice to the other party,. may terminate the agreement This notice is 
effective with respect to for the first payment subject to income tax withholding made on 
or after the beginning of the next calendar quarter which occurs occurring at least 30 days 
after the date on which such the notice is furnished. 


004.05 004.04C The amount deducted and withheld pursuant to an agreement as 
described in the above paragraph shall will be considered as income tax required to be 
deducted and withheld under the Nebraska Revenue Act,. and all All provisions of law 
and regulations applicable to such tax income tax withholding are also applicable with 
respect to any amount of income tax deducted and withheld pursuant to such the 
agreement. At no time can an employee and employer or a payor and payee may the 
parties agree to withhold an amount less than would be withheld using the established 
Nebraska withholding rate schedules or tables. 


004.06 004.05 The amount of income tax to be withheld from gambling winnings shall be is a 
flat withholding rate applied to the winnings. The flat withholding rate shall will be determined 
and published in the Circular EN by the State Tax Commissioner. 


004.07 004.06 The amount income tax to be withheld from pensions and annuities shall be is 
based on the federal income tax withholding method. The amount of income tax to be withheld 
from periodic payments shall be is calculated in the same manner as withholding from wages. 
The amount of income tax to be withheld from nonperiodic payments shall be is a flat 
withholding rate applied to such payment. The flat withholding rate shall be as determined and 
published in the Circular EN by the State Tax Commissioner. The recipient may also select an 
additional fixed amount to be withheld per periodic or nonperiodic payment. See Reg-21-004.04. 
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004.07 The amount of income tax withheld from payments for personal services performed or to 
be performed substantially in Nebraska by a nonresident individual other than an employee is 
determined under this section. 


004.07A If the individual provides a statement of ordinary and necessary business 
expenses reasonably related to providing the service, the amount of expenses may be 
deducted for purposes of determining the amount of income tax withholding.  The 
amount claimed for expenses may not exceed 50% of the total amount paid for personal 
services performed or substantially performed in Nebraska (Nebraska Withholding 
Certificate for Nonresident Individuals, Form W-4NA). 


004.07B For amounts less than $28,000, paid throughout any calendar year for the same 
personal services, the rate of income tax withholding is four percent of the total amount 
after deduction of allowable expenses, if any. 


004.07C For amounts of $28,000 or more, paid throughout any calendar year for the 
same personal services, the rate of income tax withholding is six percent of the total 
amount after deduction of allowable expenses, if any. 


004.07D If the amount to be paid throughout the calendar year for the same personal 
services was expected to be less than $28,000 at the beginning of the calendar year, and 
the amount withheld was four percent, but the amount paid for the same personal services 
becomes $28,000 or more during the calendar year, the amount of income tax 
withholding for amounts greater than $28,000 must be increased until the total amount 
withheld equals six percent for all payments. 


004.08 Corporate Directors. Except as provided in Reg-21-004.08B, if a corporation or other entity pays 
members of its board of directors fees for serving on its board, any amounts paid to nonresident directors 
is subject to income tax withholding.  


004.08A If all meetings are held in Nebraska, the total amount taxable under the I.R.C. is subject 
to income tax withholding as calculated under this section. If the corporation or other entity holds 
its meetings both within and outside Nebraska, the total amount taxable under the I.R.C. to the 
nonresident board member must be multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the 
number of meetings physically attended by the director in Nebraska or via electronic means while 
the director is physically located in Nebraska, and the denominator of which is all board meetings 
attended by the director either physically or electronically. The result is subject to income tax 
withholding as calculated under Reg-21-004.07. 


004.08B The corporation or other entity may, in lieu of withholding under Reg-21-004.07, remit 
income tax withholding to the Department on behalf of the nonresident directors on the total paid, 
including the amounts remitted on behalf of the nonresident directors, multiplied by the highest 
individual income tax rate.  


004.08B(1) If all meetings are held in Nebraska, the amount remitted to the Department 
is equal to the total amount taxable under the I.R.C., including the amount remitted to the 
Department on behalf of the nonresident director, multiplied by the highest individual 
income tax rate.  


004.08B(2) If the corporation or other entity holds its meetings both within and outside 
Nebraska, the total amount taxable under the I.R.C. must first be multiplied by a fraction, 
the numerator of which is the number of meetings physically attended by the director in 
Nebraska or via electronic means while the director is physically located in Nebraska, 
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and the denominator of which is all board meetings attended by the director either 
physically or electronically. The amount remitted to the Department is this result 
including the amount remitted to the Department on behalf of the nonresident director, 
multiplied by the highest individual income tax rate.  


004.08B(3) If the corporation or other entity elects this option, the nonresident board 
member may choose not to file a return, and the amount remitted as income tax 
withholding will be retained in satisfaction of the liability. The nonresident board 
member may also choose to file a return and claim the withholding as a credit against any 
Nebraska income tax liability. 


004.09 The amount of income tax to be withheld from payments made by a contractor for 
construction services performed in Nebraska to any contractor or any person that is not an 
employee is five percent of the total payments. A payment is exempt from withholding under this 
subsection if: 


004.09A The payments made during the year to the person or contractor total less than 
$600;  


004.09B The contractor making the payment determines that the contractor receiving the 
payment is registered in the Contractor Database; or 


004.09C The contractor or person receiving the payment is not subject to tax on the 
payment because of a treaty obligation of the U.S. 


004.08 004.10 Alternative methods of withholding Methods of Withholding. An employer 
using a federally-approved alternative method of calculating withholding may use the same 
method for computing state the income tax withheld. Such These methods include Annualized 
Wages, Average Wages, Cumulative Wages annualized wages, average wages, cumulative 
wages, and other methods allowed under Internal Revenue Code section I.R.C. § 3402(h). 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2753. March 7, 2006_____.) 
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REG-21-005 DETERMINING TAX TO BE WITHHELD INCOME TAX 


WITHHOLDING ON WAGES PAID TO A NEBRASKA RESIDENT -- WHEN OTHER 


STATES' WITHHOLDING APPLIES 


005.01 If an employer is required to withhold Nebraska income tax pursuant to Reg-21-
001, then all wages paid to a resident of Nebraska are subject to withholding even though if some 
or all of his or her work services for which the wages are paid are was performed outside of 
Nebraska. 


005.02 An If an employer is required to deduct and withhold income taxes of other states, 
political subdivisions of such other states, or the District of Columbia, from wages paid to a 
resident of Nebraska, shall the employer must deduct and withhold from those wages the amount 
of Nebraska individual income tax withholding determined under these regulations less minus 
the amount required to be deducted and withheld from those wages under the laws, rules, and 
regulations of such other another state, political subdivision of such another state, or the District 
of Columbia. 


Examples: 


005.02A If a Nebraska resident of Nebraska is paid $100 $1,000 per week by an 
employer who is required to deduct and withhold from his or her wages both Nebraska 
and Kansas income taxes from these wages, and if the amount of income tax required to 
be withheld is $2.00 $20 for Nebraska and $1.26 $12.50 for Kansas, the amount of 
Nebraska tax required to be deducted and withheld is $0.74 $7.50. 


005.02B If a Nebraska resident is paid $100 $1,000 per week by an employer who is 
required to deduct and withhold from his or her wages both Nebraska and Iowa income 
taxes from these wages and if the amount of income tax required to be withheld is $2.00 
$20 for Nebraska and $2.50 $25 for Iowa, then no Nebraska tax is to be withheld income 
tax withholding is required. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-2715 and 77-2753, and 77-2790. September 15, 1975_____.) 
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REG-21-006 DETERMINING TAX TO BE WITHHELD INCOME TAX 


WITHHOLDING ON WAGES PAID TO A NONRESIDENT 


006.01 An employer shall must deduct and withhold Nebraska income tax on from all wages 
paid to an employee who is a nonresident of Nebraska for services performed within in 
Nebraska. The tax income tax withholding to be deducted and withheld shall be is determined 
according to the methods contained in Reg-21-004. If the services work of a nonresident 
employee are is performed entirely within in Nebraska, his or her employer shall must deduct 
and withhold the income tax from all wages paid to such the employee. Wages paid to a 
nonresident employee for personal services rendered work performed entirely outside of 
Nebraska are not subject to Nebraska income tax withholding. 


006.02 If a nonresident employee performs services works partly within in and partly without 
outside Nebraska, he the employee should may file a Nebraska Nonresident Employee 
Certificate of for Allocation of Withholding Tax, Form 9N, with his or her the employer for the 
purpose of determining so that his the correct amount of Nebraska income tax withholding tax 
liability may be determined.  This section does not apply to income tax withholding on gambling 
winnings, pensions and annuities, nonresidents performing personal services substantially in 
Nebraska, or persons or contractors receiving payments from another contractor for construction 
services performed in Nebraska. The requirements of Reg-21-004.05 through Reg-21.004.09 
apply in these situations. 


006.03 The employer may withhold Nebraska income tax on the basis of the apportionment 
shown by the nonresident employee on his or her the certificate Form 9N, but must nevertheless 
make necessary adjustments during the year, so that the proper amount of income tax is withheld 
and deducted from the employee’s wages. For the purpose of making these adjustments, 
the proportion of remuneration portion of the employee’s wages which is paid 
for services rendered within work performed in Nebraska shall be is determined as follows: 


006.03A If the services are rendered work is performed by a traveling salesman sales 
representative, agent, or other employee whose compensation on the basis of commission 
depends whose pay is based directly on the volume of business transacted by him or her, 
the amount attributable to services within work in Nebraska is that proportion portion of 
the compensation wages received which the volume of from business transacted by the 
employee within the state of in Nebraska bears to the total volume of business 
transacted by him both within and without Nebraska. 


Example: 


Employee’s Nebraska Gross sales =  $1,000.00  


Employee’s Gross (Total) total sales =  $5,000.00  


Nebraska’s Proportion portion of Gross total sales =  20%  
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Nebraska Withholding withholding on total from Tables tables =  $10.00$300  


(x) Multiplied by the Nebraska Proportion portion of Gross total 
sales =                                    20%  


Nebraska Withholding Tax income tax withholding =  $2.00$60  


006.03B With respect to other For employees whose compensation is computed paid on 
an hourly basis, the amount of wages attributable to services within work in Nebraska is 
that portion of the total compensation wages, which the total number of hours to be 
worked within in Nebraska bears to the total number of hours to be worked both within 
and without Nebraska. 


Example: 


Employee’s Monthly Nebr.\ Hours monthly Nebraska hours =    80  


Employee’s Monthly Total Hours monthly total hours =  160  


Nebraska Proportion portion of Hours hours =  50%  


Nebraska Withholding withholding from Tables tables =  $10.00$300  


(x) Multiplied by the Nebraska Proportion portion of Hours hours =  50%  


Nebraska Withholding Tax income tax withholding =  $5.00$150  


006.03C With respect to For employees who are paid on a per mile per-mile basis, the 
amount of wages attributable to services within work in Nebraska is that proportion 
portion of the total compensation wages, which the monthly total number of miles 
traveled monthly within in Nebraska bears to the monthly total number of miles traveled 
monthly both within and without Nebraska. 


Example: 


Employee’s Monthly Nebr.\ Mileage monthly Nebraska mileage =  2,000  


Employee’s Monthly Total Mileage monthly total mileage =  10,000  


Nebr. Proportion Nebraska portion of the Mileage mileage =  20%  


Nebraska Withholding withholding from Tables tables =  $10.00$300 


(x) Multiplied by Nebr. Proportion Nebraska portion of Mileage 
mileage =  20%  
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Nebraska Withholding Tax income tax withholding =  $2.00$60  


006.03D With respect to For all other employees, the amount portion of wages 
attributable to services within work in Nebraska is that proportion of that portion of the 
total compensation wages which the total number of paid for working days employed in 
Nebraska bears to the total wages paid, number of working days employed both within 
and without Nebraska, exclusive of not counting nonworking days. Nonworking 
days usually include Saturdays, Sundays means all days given off work, for example 
weekends, holidays, and days absent because of illness, personal injury, vacation, or 
leave with or without pay. 


Example: 


Employee Days days worked in Nebr. Nebraska in the Month 
month =  10  


Total Employee Days employees days worked in the Month month 
=  20  


Nebraska Proportion portion of the total Days days =  50%  


Nebraska Withholding withholding from Tables tables =  $10.00$300 


(x) Multiplied by the Nebraska Proportion portion of the days =  50%  


Nebraska Withholding Tax income tax withholding =  $5.00$150 


  


006.03E The apportionment calculations and examples in this section do not apply to 
income tax withholding on gambling winnings, pensions and annuities, nonresidents 
performing personal services substantially in Nebraska, or persons or contractors 
receiving payments from another contractor for construction services performed in 
Nebraska. The requirements of Reg-21-004.05 through Reg-21.004.09 apply in these 
situations. 


006.04 If an employee expects the portion of services rendered to his or her employer work 
performed in Nebraska to remain relatively constant with approximately the same as the prior 
year, he or she should the employee may compute the percentage of income applicable to such 
the prior years’ experience and use that percentage on the Form 9N. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-2733 and 77-2753. May 8, 1988 _____.) 
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REG-21-007 EMPLOYER'S RETURNS AND PAYMENT OF WITHHELD INCOME 


TAXES 


007.01 Every employer required to deduct and withhold tax Nebraska income tax from an 
employee's wages shall must file a withholding return and pay over to the Department of 
Revenue the taxes amount required to be deducted and withheld, or the amount actually deducted 
and withheld, whichever is larger. The return shall must be filed on using the 
Nebraska Employer's Quarterly Withholding Return, Form 941N. 


007.01A A return Form 941N is required for each filing period or portion of a filing 
period. The A return must be filed for every tax filing period, even if there has been no 
income tax withholding. 


007.01B The filing period is the reporting frequency as assigned by the Department. of 
Revenue. Normally For most employers, it will be quarterly, but in the case of employers 
who have small tax liabilities of , five hundred dollars ($500.00) or less for a calendar 
year, or who and employers that are allowed to file their federal returns annually, they 
may be assigned an annual filing frequency. 


007.01C The return Form 941N  must be received by the Department of Revenue, or if 
mailed, must be postmarked, on or before the last day of the month following the close of 
each filing period. 


007.01D Taxpayers Employers who file a Nebraska Quarterly Employer’s Withholding 
Return, Form 941N, have the option of filing electronically via the Internet must file the 
form and pay the Department in the manner and method that the Tax Commissioner 
prescribes for the efficient and proper administration of the Nebraska Revenue Act, 
including filing and paying electronically. Taxpayers can may access this system the 
electronic filing (e-file) program and the electronic payment options from the Department 
of Revenue's Web site Department’s website.  


007.02 When the total amount to be deducted and withheld by any employer for either the first or 
second month in a calendar quarter exceeds five hundred dollars ($500.00), the employer shall 
must make monthly deposits by filing a Nebraska Employer's Monthly Withholding Deposit, 
Form 501N, with the Department of Revenue. The Form 501N shall must be filed on or before 
the 15th day of the second and third month of each calendar quarter. The amount so paid shall be 
The amounts paid are allowed as a credit against any liability shown on the employer's next 
quarterly Nebraska withholding tax return Form 941N. 


007.02A Form 501N is not required to be filed when monthly payments are made 
electronically if the taxpayer is enrolled in the Department of Revenue's electronic funds 
transfer (EFT) program. 


007.03 On or before March 15 February 1 of each year, each employer shall must file with the 
Department of Revenue a copy of each statement furnished to each of its 
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employees which showed showing the total Nebraska income taxes withheld from wages during 
the prior calendar year. The This statement required to be filed is the state copy of Federal Form 
W-2. Any employer who furnishes more than 50 statements for any year must electronically file 
(e-file) the required copies in the manner approved by the Department. Taxpayers may access the 
e-file program from the Department’s website  


007.04 The employer shall must also file a Nebraska Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld, 
Form W-3N, on or before March 15 February 1 of each year in accordance with the instructions 
contained in Reg-21-013. 


007.04 007.05 The last Form 941N return of withholding tax for any employer which who 
discontinues its business or which permanently ceases to pay wages shall must be clearly marked 
“Final Return.” This return Form 941N and the full remittance payment for amounts deducted 
and withheld shall must be sent to the Department of Revenue on a Nebraska Employer's 
Quarterly Withholding Return, Form 941N. The employer shall file with the Department of 
Revenue must also file a completed Nebraska Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld, Form 
W-3N, and the state copies of Federal Form W-2, which shall cover that for the part of the 
calendar year in which that the employer operated its business or paid wages. 


007.05 007.06 An employer which temporarily ceased who ceases to pay wages temporarily, 
including an employer engaged in seasonal activities, shall must continue to file all 
applicable returns Form 941Ns but shall enter on the face of the return the date of the last 
payment of wages and the date when it expects to resume making such payments. 


007.06 007.07 Every employer which is considered under the Internal Revenue Code to be a 
successor of another employer under the I.R.C., shall be is a successor for Nebraska income tax 
withholding purposes and shall must file returns and make payments for Nebraska in 
a comparable similar manner. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-1784 and 77-2756. February 22, 2009_____.) 
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REG-21-008 INFORMATION STATEMENTS FOR EMPLOYEES 


008.01 Every employer required to deduct and withhold a income tax from an employee’s 
wages is required to must furnish to each such employee, in respect to those wages, a legible 
statement in duplicate, on a Federal Form W-2, showing the amount of wages paid by the 
employer to the employee during the calendar year, the amount deducted and withheld as tax, 
and the all other information required to be shown on such form the Federal Form W-2. To meet 
this requirement, an employer must furnish his or her employee with a "state copy" and an 
"employee’s copy" of the completed form Federal Form W-2. 


008.02 The required statement, in duplicate, shall must be furnished to the employee on or 
before March 15 February 1 following the close of such the calendar year., or if If his or her 
employment is terminated before the close of such the calendar year, the employer must provide 
the employee a copy of the Federal Form W-2 within 30 days after the last payment of wages is 
made. 


008.03 Every payor required to deduct and withhold income tax from a payment to a nonresident 
individual under Reg-21-001.02A 21-001.04A or Reg-21-001.04B is required to must furnish 
a legible statement showing the amount of the payments and withholding in duplicate on a 
Federal Form 1099-MISC to the payee. 


008.04 Every payor required to deduct and withhold income tax from a payment to a 
corporation, partnership, or limited liability company (LLC) under Reg-21-001.02  21-
001.04C is required to must furnish a legible statement showing the amount of the payments and 
withholding in duplicate on a Federal Form 1099-MISC to each shareholder, partner, or member 
of such the corporation, partnership, or LLC who performed services within the state in 
Nebraska. 


008.04A The total amount of the payment shall must be divided among the shareholders, 
partners, or members performing the service in Nebraska according to each of 
their interest ownership interests in the corporation, partnership, or LLC. The amount of 
income tax withheld, which is computed on the total payment to the corporation, 
partnership, or LLC, shall and must be divided among the shareholders, partners, or 
members in a similar manner. and The amount of withholding will be allowed as a credit 
on the Nebraska individual income tax returns of the shareholders, partners, or members. 


008.04B If the corporation, partnership, or LLC fails to provide to furnish the payor the 
information necessary to prepare the Federal Form 1099-MISC for the shareholders, 
partners, or members, the payor shall must prepare the Federal Form 1099-MISC in the 
name of the corporation, partnership, or LLC and shall deliver the copies normally given 
to the employee to the Department of Revenue in the same manner as forms that are not 
deliverable cannot be delivered under Reg-21-013.032. 


008.05 Every contractor required to deduct and withhold income tax from a payment to a person 
or contractor performing construction services in Nebraska under Reg-21-001.05 must furnish a 
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statement showing the amount of the payments and withholding on Federal Form 1099-MISC to 
the payee. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-2754 and 77-2756. May 14, 1994 _____.) 
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REG-21-009 PERSONS FROM WHOM THE TAX IS NOT WITHHELD PAYMENTS 


THAT ARE NOT SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 


 


009.01 The withholding tax does not apply to payments that are not either wages under the 
Internal Revenue Code, or payments for personal services performed in this state as described in 
Reg-21-001.02B. Resident self-employed persons are not subject to withholding. Partners are 
considered business proprietors and, therefore, amounts payable to resident partners are not 
subject to withholding, even though such payments are made as personal service compensation. 
Corporate directors are not employees, and therefore, director fees paid to directors who are 
residents of Nebraska are not subject to withholding. 


009.02 Generally, unless compensation paid to individuals is subject to federal withholding, or is 
a payment to a nonresident for the performance of personal services within this state, such 
compensation is not subject to Nebraska withholding. However, persons receiving such income 
may be required to make estimated tax payments. For an explanation of estimated tax payments, 
see Reg-20-001 through Reg-20-008. 


009.03 The income tax withholding tax requirement does not apply to wages paid to a Native 
American Reservation Indian who resides in Nebraska in Indian country, as defined in federal 
law, for services performed on a Native American Indian Reservation in Indian country in 
Nebraska. If the services are performed both on and off a Native American Indian Reservation in 
and outside Indian country in Nebraska, the allocation procedure contained in Reg-21-006.02 
must be used or the employer must withhold from the entire amount of the wages. 


009.04 009.02 The income tax withholding tax requirement does not apply to a Nebraska 
nonresident employee for services performed in more than one state who is exempted from 
Nebraska income tax by federal law covering certain railroad, motor carrier, and airline 
employees. 


009.03 The income tax withholding requirement does not apply to nonresident members of the 
U.S. Uniformed Forces, or spouses of these servicemembers who are residents of the same state 
as the servicemember and are in Nebraska to accompany the servicemember. 


 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2769, 77-2753, 49 U.S.C. 11502, & 14503, Oklahoma Tax Com’n v. Sac 
and Fox Nation, 508 U.S. 114 (1993), McClanahan v Arizona State Tax Comm’n, 411 U.S. 164 
(1973), and Bryan v Itaska County, Minnesota, 426 U.S. 373 (1976) March 7, 2006 _____.) 
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REG-21-010 INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING EXEMPTIONS 


010.01 In Except as provided in Reg-21.010.01B, when determining the proper tax amount of 
income tax to be deducted and withheld from an employee’s wages, the employer shall will 
allow the number of exemptions claimed by the employee on his or her Employee’s Withholding 
Allowance Certificate, Federal Form W-4, for federal income tax purposes.  


010.01A An employer shall rely upon the number of federal withholding exemptions 
claimed by the employee, and must maintain retain a completed copy of the Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance Certificate, Federal Form W-4, for audit purposes by the State of 
Nebraska. 


010.01B If the calculation by an employer using the number of claimed exemptions 
results in income tax withholding from an employee that is less than 1½% of  gross 
wages minus qualified tax deductions, the employer must obtain satisfactory evidence 
from the employee that a lesser amount of withholding is justified. Satisfactory evidence 
includes birth certificates or Social Security information for dependents or other evidence 
that reasonably assures the employer that the employee is not improperly or fraudulently 
evading or defeating the income tax by reducing or eliminating withholding. 


010.02 An Nebraska income tax withholding is not required if the employer who properly 
accepts a Federal Form W-4 claiming an exemption from federal income tax withholding on 
income because the employee had no federal income tax liability the previous year and expects 
no federal income tax liability for the current year shall not withhold from such employee for the 
Nebraska income tax. 


010.03 Any person employee who receives a state income tax credit, other than except the 
personal exemption credit, that is not based on the receipt of a federal income tax credit may 
request that his or her the employer to apply for permission from the Tax Commissioner for an 
alternative method of calculating the proper amount of income tax withholding. 


010.03A The request application must be made in writing by the employer. The request 
application must include: a  


010.03A(1) A proposed alternative method of determining the income tax 
withholding; and  


010.03A(2) the The identification of the specific employee for whom the method 
will be used; and the  


010.03A(3) The type and the expected amount of the credit. 


010.03B The income tax withholding must exceed the estimated tax liability by more 
than three hundred dollars ($300.00) for the Tax Commissioner to consider an alternative 
method of calculation to be considered by the Tax Commissioner. 
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(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2753(2). May 14, 1994 _____.) 
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REG-21-011 NEBRASKA INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING TO BE SEPARATELY 


STATED 


011.01 In each payroll record furnished to an employee by the employer for any purpose, the 
amount of Nebraska wages and income tax withholding tax shall must be stated separately from 
the wages and withholding tax for any other jurisdiction. The words "payroll record" as used in 
this regulation shall apply to the payroll check stub, a federal Form W-2, or any other document 
which the employer may furnish an employee. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-2753 and 77-2772. September 15, 1975 _____.) 


 


 


REG-21-012 EMPLOYEE LIABILITY CREDIT FOR AMOUNT INCOME TAX 


WITHHELD BY BUT NOT REMITTED TO THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 


012.01 Any amount of income tax actually deducted and withheld from a payment to an 
employee by his or her an employer is deemed to have been paid to the Department of Revenue 
on behalf of the employee, and may be taken as a credit on the employee’s income tax return 
even though if the employer subsequently fails to remit the withheld amounts income tax to the 
Department of Revenue. Such an employee shall be credited with having paid that amount of 
income tax for the taxable year beginning in the calendar year when the withholding occurred. In 
claiming said To claim the credit on his or her the income tax return for the taxable year, the 
employee shall must attach to his or her return the state copy of Federal Form W-2 or 1099-
MISC.  


(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2755. May 14, 1994 _____.) 
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REG-21-013 MANNER OF FILING NEBRASKA RECONCILIATION OF INCOME 


TAX WITHHELD AND STATE COPIES OF FEDERAL FORMS W-2 


013.01 Electronic Filing. Where the number of state copies of Federal Form W-2 or Federal 
Form 1099-MISC is substantial, they may be forwarded to the Department of Revenue in 
packages of convenient size. When this is done, the packages should be identified with the name 
and Nebraska employer identification number of the employer and the packages should be 
numbered consecutively. (For example: 3 packages should be numbered "1 of 3", "2 of 3", and 
"3 of 3".) Form W-3N should be placed in package number 1 and the number of packages should 
be indicated on that form. 


013.01A Beginning with state copies of Forms W-2 and other statements reporting withholding 
for payments made in 2008 to be transmitted in 2009, any Any employer, payor, or agent who 
furnishes more than two hundred fifty statements 50 Federal Forms W-2, Forms 1099-MISC, or 
other statements reporting withholding for a year shall must electronically file (e-file) the 
required copies electronically in a manner approved by the Tax Commissioner that is compatible 
with federal electronic filing e-file requirements or methods. 


013.02 If an employer‘s total payroll consists of a number of separate units or establishments, or 
the employer is filing Federal Forms W-2G to report gambling winnings or Federal Forms 1099-
MISC to report nonresident withholding, the state copies of Federal Form W-2 or 1099-MISC 
may be assembled accordingly and a separate list submitted for each unit, establishment, or type 
of form being submitted. In such case, a summary list should be prepared, the total of which 
should agree with the corresponding entry made on Form W-3N. 


013.03 013.02 Undeliverable Forms. Any If an employer cannot deliver any employee copies 
of Federal Form Forms W-2 or 1099-MISC to employees be attached to the state return which, 
after reasonable effort, cannot be delivered to employees, should these employee copies must be 
transmitted with the Nebraska Employer’s Quarterly Withholding Return, Form 941N, during 
the month of due the following July of the next calendar year. Any undeliverable state copies of 
Federal Form W-2 or 1099-MISC submitted to the Department of Revenue should be 
accompanied by a signed letter stating explaining that they were submitted because they could 
not be delivered to the employees involved. 


013.04 013.03 Corrected or Reissued Forms. When Federal Forms W-2 or 1099-MISC are 
corrected by the employer or are reissued by an employer, such these forms must be clearly 
marked either “corrected by employer” or “reissued by employer” and copies must be furnished 
to the employee and to the Department of Revenue as required by the Regulations. If a correction 
is necessary, the employer may also use Federal Form W-2c to make the correction.  


013.05 013.04 All Copies to be Complete and Legible. All copies of any forms prepared by the 
employer and furnished to the employee or to the Department of Revenue shall must be 
completed in full, including the ID of the employer and the state income tax withholding, and 
must be entirely legible. In the event that said If the copies are not fully completed or are not 
legible, they will not be considered to have been furnished by the employer in compliance with 
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the law, thereby subjecting the employer and the employer may be subject to the penalties for 
noncompliance as prescribed by provided in Reg-21-0176. 


013.06 013.05 Retention of Records Every employer is to must retain copies of 
all reconciliations forms filed with the Department of Revenue and copies of all documents 
furnished to employees for at least three years. If the employer reports Federal Form W-2 or 
1099-MISC information on magnetic media electronically, the employer may retain either the 
supporting documentation or a an electronic copy of the magnetic media for the time required. If 
the Department issues a balance due notice or a notice of proposed deficiency determination for 
a taxable year, the taxpayer must retain all records relating to that taxable year until the balance 
due or proposed deficiency determination has been satisfied, abated, settled, or disallowed, and 
has become final. 


013.06 Availability of Records. The Department, or its agents, has the right to examine, inspect, 
or make and retain copies of any records, electronic media, and equipment of any person to audit 
or review the accuracy of any income tax withholding return filed; or if no return is filed by the 
person, to ascertain and determine the amount that must be paid. 


013.07 Administrative Subpoena. The Tax Commissioner may require any person to provide 
records that are necessary to make a proper determination of any person’s compliance with and 
the liability under the laws of this state.  If a reasonable request to produce records is refused, the 
Tax Commissioner may issue an administrative subpoena. 


013.07A An administrative subpoena must clearly state the scope of the demand for 
records and any other requirements, and state when, where, and how to comply with the 
administrative subpoena. 


013.07B An administrative subpoena may be enforced by the Attorney General, acting on 
behalf of the Tax Commissioner, in an action filed in the district court for Lancaster 
County. 


013.07C The Tax Commissioner may also apply to the district court of the county of 
residence for an individual, for an order directing compliance with the request for 
records. If the records are in the custody of a corporation, partnership, or LLC the order 
may be directed to any principal officer of the corporation, or any principal officer, 
responsible partner, or responsible member of the partnership or LLC. If any individual 
refuses an order from the district court, he or she is guilty of contempt of court. 


013.08 Records Reconstruction. Records that are destroyed by a natural disaster should be 
reconstructed by the taxpayer to the greatest extent possible from records kept by financial 
institutions, employers, vendors, and others. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-375, 77-2756, 77-2771, 77-2772, 77-2786(1), 77-27-109, 77-27,115, and 
77-27,119(3). February 22, 2009_____.) 
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REG-21-014 EMPLOYER'S LIABILITY FOR WITHHELD TAXES INCOME TAX 


WITHHOLDING 


014.01 Every employer required to deduct and withhold Nebraska income tax from the wages of 
an employee is liable for payment of such tax the withholding whether or not it is collected from 
the employee. For purposes of assessment and collection, any amount required to be with held 
withheld and paid over to the Department of Revenue, plus any additions, penalties, or 
interest, shall be  is considered the a tax obligation of the employer. 


014.02 Any amount of income tax actually withheld from employees shall constitute constitutes 
a special fund held in trust for the Department of Revenue. 


014.03 No employee shall have has any right of action against his or her an employer in respect 
to  regarding any money income tax deducted and withheld from his or her wages and paid over 
to the Department of Revenue in compliance with or in intended to be in compliance with the 
Nebraska Revenue Act. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2757. September 15, 1975 _____.) 


 


 


REG-21-015 EMPLOYER'S FAILURE TO WITHHOLD INCOME TAX 


015.01 If the any employer fails to deduct and withhold the income tax as required under the 
Nebraska Revenue Act, and thereafter, the but the employee ultimately pays any income tax that 
is due when he or she files the return that relates to the withholding, the employer will not be 
assessed a deficiency for the withholding, but may be assessed income tax against which the 
withholding tax may be credited, is paid, the tax required to be deducted and withheld shall not 
be collected from the employer by the Department of Revenue. Such payment of the tax does 
not, however, operate to relieve the employer from liability for penalties, interest, or other 
additions caused by related to the failure to deduct and withhold income tax. 


015.02 The employer will not be is not relieved under this regulation from liability for payment 
of the income tax withholding tax unless he or she can show prove that the employee’s 
individual income tax, against which the withholding tax may be credited, has been paid. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2758. September 15, 1975 _____.) 
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REG-21-016 EMPLOYER'S PENALTIES FOR FAILURE TO WITHHOLD AND 


REMIT INCOME TAXES, FILE A RETURNS, AND PAY WITHHELD TAXES OR 


FAILURE TO PROPERLY WITHHOLD FROM WAGES – PENALTY OR FILE 


FEDERAL FORM W-2 


016.01 Any employer who fails to file a any income tax withholding tax return by the required 
due date, determined with regard to an extension of time to file, shall be is subject to a penalty 
of five percent (5%) of the amount required to be shown on the return for each month or portion 
of a month in which the return is late, up to twenty-five percent (25%), or twenty-five dollars 
($25.00), whichever is greater.  


016.01A Penalties assessed under Reg-21-016.01 are due and payable at the time the 
assessment is final.  If the amounts due are not paid when final, an additional penalty of 
10% of the total amount due, excluding interest and other penalties, will be added to the 
amount due. 


016.01B The penalty may be abated upon a showing if the employer can show that there 
was a reasonable cause for the late filing and that it was not the result of willful neglect.  


016.01C For purposes of determining the amount of the penalty, the amount shown on 
the return shall be is reduced by the amount of tax paid prior to the due date and any 
credit properly claimed on the return. 


016.02 If an employer, without intent to evade the provisions of the Act, shall withhold 
withholds income tax from his or her employees’ wages but shall fail fails to file a return on 
Form 941N and pay the tax remit the amount withheld, he or she shall be the employer is liable 
for those taxes together with and interest at the rate specified in section Neb. Rev. Stat. § 45-
104.02 from the due date of the return until the date payment is received. In addition, the 
employer shall be is liable for a penalty of 5% of the amount unpaid. If the penalty is not paid 
within ten 10 days of the notice and demand for payment thereof, interest shall also apply applies 
to the amount of the penalty. 


016.03 If the employer fails to withhold the proper tax amount of income tax withholding as 
required under the Nebraska Revenue Act, without an intent to defraud or evade, interest will be 
imposed at the rate specified in section Neb. Rev. Stat. §  45-104.02, on the amount which 
should have been withheld and paid. plus the 5% The employer is also subject to a 5% penalty 
on the amount which should have been withheld and paid to the Department of Revenue. 


016.04 If the nonpayment of income tax withholding tax to the Department of Revenue is a 
result of fraud by the employer, the amount of penalty shall be is 50% of the unpaid amount 
instead of 5%.  


016.05 If the employer willfully fails to collect the proper amount of income tax 
withholding, or to account for and pay over the proper amount of income tax withholding, or 
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willfully attempts to evade and or defeat the income tax withholding obligation, the 
penalty assessed shall be is 100% of the amount of tax evaded, not collected, or not accounted 
for and paid, instead of 5% or 50%.  


016.06 If the employer's conduct is done it can be determined that the employer acted with a 
fraudulent intent, the Department of Revenue may assess an additional penalty of up to one 
thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  


016.07 In all these situations described by Reg-21-016.04 through Reg-21-016.06, the employer 
is subject to interest at the rate specified in section Neb. Rev. Stat. § 45-104.02, on the amount 
due and on any penalty not paid within ten 10 days of notice and demand of for payment. 


016.08 A penalty of $500 for each occurrence may be assessed if any person, for frivolous or 
groundless reasons, or with intent to delay or impede the administration of the Nebraska 
income tax: 


016.08A Fails to file a return or to pay any income tax due; or  


016.08B Files what purports to be a return that does not contain sufficient information to 
calculate the liability or indicates that the self-assessed liability is substantially incorrect. 


016.08C This penalty is in addition to any other penalties that may be imposed. 


016.09 If any employer fails to file the state copy of Federal Form W-2 with the Department, or 
fails to provide the statement of income tax withholding to the payee, on or before the due date, 
or on or before the due date resulting from an extension, the employer is subject to a penalty of 
$2 for each statement not filed. If the employer can prove that the failure to properly file was the 
result of a reasonable cause and not negligence, the Department will not assess this penalty. The 
maximum penalty assessable under this regulation on any one employer during any calendar year 
is $2,000. 


016.10 If any employer employing 25 or more employees fails to either: (a) withhold at least one 
and one-half percent of the wages of any employee; or (b) obtain satisfactory evidence from the 
employee justifying a lower withholding amount as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2753(1)(b), 
the employer may be assessed a penalty of not more than $1,000 per violation. 


016.11 If any nonresident individual provides false information to an employer or payor 
regarding wages subject to Nebraska income tax withholding, which resulted or would result in 
the amount of income tax withholding being less than 75% of the correct amount, or if any 
employer knowingly uses this false information, the employer or individual may be assessed a 
penalty equal to the total amount of income tax withholding evaded and $1,000.  


016.12 Willful failure to keep, retain, or make available any records as required under this 
regulation is a Class II misdemeanor.  If records are destroyed in a natural disaster, the failure to 
retain those records is not considered willful. 
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016.13 Criminal Penalties 


016.13A Any taxpayer, with intent to evade or defeat the Nebraska income tax, who 
claims an excessive number of exemptions is guilty of a Class II misdemeanor. 


016.13B Any person who willfully attempts in any manner to evade the Nebraska income 
tax is guilty of a Class IV felony, in addition to any other penalties.  


016.13C Any person required to withhold, deduct, and truthfully account for and pay 
over any income tax withholding who willfully fails to withhold, deduct, or truthfully 
account for and pay over is guilty of a Class IV felony, in addition to other penalties. 
016.13D Any person who willfully makes and signs any return, statement, or other document, 
which contains or is verified by a written declaration that it is made under the penalties of perjury, 
and who does not believe the return, statement, or document to be true and correct as to every 
material matter, is guilty of a Class IV felony. 
 
016.13E Any person who willfully aids or procures the preparation or presentation of a return, 
affidavit, claim, or other document, which is fraudulent or which is false as to any material 
matter, is guilty of a Class IV felony. 
 
016.13F Statute of Limitations. The statute of limitations for criminal prosecution for the offenses 
in this section is four years after the commission of the offense except that any violation of Reg-
21-016.12A or C is three years after the commission of the offense.  
 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-2757, 77-2758, 77-2788, 77-2789, 77-2790, 77-27,113, 77-27,114 and 
77-27,116. November 11, 1998_____.) 


 
 
 
REG-21-017 EMPLOYER'S FAILURE TO FILE FEDERAL FORM W-2 - PENALTY 


017.01 If any employer fails to file with the Department of Revenue the state copy of federal 
Form W-2 on or before the date specified, or on or before the due date resulting from an 
extension, that employer shall be subject to a penalty of $2.00 for each statement not so filed. If 
the employer can prove that the failure to properly file was the result of a reasonable cause and 
not negligence, the Department of Revenue will not assess this penalty. The maximum penalty 
assessable under this regulation on any one employer during any calendar year shall be $2,000. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2789(2). September 15, 1975.) 
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REG-21-018 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE MAY REQUIRE AN EARLY RETURN 


AND PAYMENT OF INCOME TAX WITHHELD 


018.01 The Department of Revenue may, by after notice is given to the employer, upon an 
employer require such the employer to make file a return and pay to the state the income tax  
deducted and withheld by such the employer at any time, or from time to time at frequent 
intervals, whenever if the Department of Revenue determines such this action is necessary for 
the protection of revenue to assure that the income tax withheld is remitted to the 
Department. The Department of Revenue will include in such notice a direction requiring the 
employer to remit the withheld taxes to the state. The notice provided for in this paragraph shall 
be served either personally or by registered or certified mail. 


018.02 Whenever any employer fails to collect, trustfully account for, pay over, or make file a 
return of the tax as required by the Nebraska Revenue Act, the Department of Revenue 
may serve give notice requiring such an the employer to collect the taxes any income tax 
withholding which become becomes collectible after the service of receiving the notice, and 
pay them the withholding immediately to the Department of Revenue either electronically, by 
certified check, or by bank draft. The interval of such this collection and remittance, as 
prescribed by this regulation, may be as frequent as the end of each payroll period. The 
Department of Revenue may require that a certified check or bank draft for the payment of 
withheld taxes must be received as early as the next business day following the close of the 
payroll period. Such A notice of these requirements shall remain remains in effect until the 
Department serves a notice of cancellation is served on the employer by the Department of 
Revenue. 


018.03 All notices described in this regulation may be served personally or by first class mail, to 
the last known address of the employer in the records of the Department. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2756. September 15, 1975 ____.) 
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REG-21-019 CORRECTING MISTAKES IN INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 


019.01 If less than the correct amount of income tax withholding is paid by the employer to the 
Department of Revenue, a proper adjustment shall must be made on the first return filed after the 
error is discovered. If no tax withholding is withheld deducted, or if less than the correct 
amount of tax is withheld from any wage payment wages, the employer is authorized to may 
deduct the amount of undercollection from later wage payments wages paid to the 
employee. However, the The employer personally is liable to the Department of Revenue for any 
underpayment, and reimbursement of the employer is a matter for private settlement between the 
employer and the employee. 


019.02 In any filing period, if more than the correct amount of income tax withholding 
is actually deducted from any wage payment wages and paid to the Department of Revenue, the 
excess deducted shall will not be repaid directly to the employer or to the employee. The 
Department of Revenue may credit any overpayment against any income tax liability imposed by 
the laws of the State of Nebraska on of the employee. Any balance shall will then be refunded by 
the State Treasurer pursuant to the law regarding refunds.  


019.03 If there has been an overpayment of income tax withholding tax to the Department of 
Revenue by the employer, a refund shall will be made to the employer, but only to the extent that 
the amount of overpayment was not actually deducted and withheld by the employer from 
any wage payment wages. 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§  77-2753, 77-2757, and 77-2791. September 15, 1975 _____.) 


 


REG-21-020 EMPLOYERS WITH PAYROLLS ON AUTOMATIC DATA EQUIPMENT 


020.01 Any employer who uses automatic data equipment for computing payroll may submit a 
computer print-out or magnetic tape in lieu of the state copy of Federal Form W-2, or may use 
electronic methods to transfer the information, when filing this information with the Department 
of Revenue. However, before any computer print-out, magnetic tape, or other electronic 
reporting can be accepted by the Department of Revenue, the employer must have obtained 
written approval from the Department of Revenue, based upon compatibility of the employer’s 
system and the system used by the Department of Revenue. 


(Section 77-2772, R.R.S. 1943. May 14, 1994.) 
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Title 350 – Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division 
Chapter 10 - Real Property Regulations 
 
 
REG-10-001  PURPOSE 
 
 001.01  These regulations address the duties, procedures, and recordkeeping responsibilities of county 
assessors when valuing real property. They also detail the duties and powers of the county board of equalization 
requiring that all real property in the county is assessed uniformly and proportionately. 
 


Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 37-335, 77-102, 77-103, 77-103.01, 77-112, 77-117, 77-123, 77-124, 77-126, 77-128, 
77-129, 77-130, 77-131, 77-132, 77-202, 77-604, 77-682, 77-702, 77-802, and 77-1245, 77-1303, and 77-1359. 
MM/DD/YYYY 
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REG-10-0012  DEFINITIONS 
 


0012.1501  Actual value shall mean means the market value or fair market value of real property in the 
ordinary course of trade.  It is the most probable price, expressed in terms of money, that a property will bring if 
exposed for sale in the open market or in an arm's-length transaction between a willing seller and a willing buyer, 
both of whom are knowledgeable concerning all the uses to which the real property is adapted and for which it is 
capable of being used.  In analyzing the uses and restrictions, the analysis shall include a consideration of the full 
description of the physical characteristics of the property and the property rights being valued.  Actual value may be 
determined using professionally-accepted mass appraisal methods, including, but not limited to, the: (1) sales 
comparison approach,; (2) income approach,; and (3) cost approach. 


 
0012.1602  Assessment shall mean means the act of listing the description of all real and personal property, 


determining its taxability, determining its taxable value, and placing it on the assessment roll. 
 
0012.1703  Assessment roll shall mean means a complete and verified list of all real property in a county 


and the associated assessments as defined in REG-10-0012.16. 
 
0012.0804  City size shall mean means the population of a city in which a parcel of real property is located. 
 
0012.2205  Class or subclass of real property shall mean means a collection of properties that share one or 


more common characteristics that affect value and that are not found in other properties outside the class or subclass.   
 


0012.2205A  For agricultural or horticultural land, class or subclass shall includes, 
but is not be limited to,: irrigated cropland,; dry cropland,; grassland,; wasteland,; nurseries,; feedlots,; 
orchards,; location,; geographic characteristics,; and other market characteristics that are appropriate for 
the valuation assessment of a the class or subclass of agricultural or horticultural land. at seventy-five (75) 
percent of its market value.   


 
002.05A(1) In the case of agricultural or horticultural land subject to special valuation, 


class or subclass includes, but is not limited to: irrigated cropland; dry cropland; grassland; 
wasteland; nurseries; feedlots; orchards; location; geographic characteristics; and other market 
characteristics that are appropriate for the valuation of a class or subclass of agricultural or 
horticultural land at 75% of its special value as if the land were available only for agricultural or 
horticultural purposes, or uses without regard to any other purpose, or use that could be applied to 
the land.   
 
0012.2205B  For all other real property, class or subclass shall includes, but is not be limited 


to, improvement status,; parcel type,; zoning,; location,; city size,; parcel size,; geographic characteristics; 
or market characteristics that are appropriate for the valuation of a class or subclass of real property. at one 
hundred (100) percent of its market value.  For the purposes of this regulation, market characteristics shall 
mean means the social and economic factors in the market that affect the value of real property. 


002.05C Geographic characteristics shall mean means the physical characteristics of the earth, 
land, region, or site that may have an effect on value. 
 
0012.2006  Clerical error shall mean means the transposition of numbers, mathematical error, computer 


malfunction causing programming and printing errors, data entry error, items of real property other than land 
identified on the wrong parcel, incorrect ownership, or certification of an incorrect valuation to political 
subdivisions, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-128.  


 
0012.1407  Equalization is means a process by which the valuations of similar or comparable properties are 


reviewed, to assure that equivalent amenities characteristics receive equivalent consideration and treatment in the 
assessment process. 


 
0012.0308  Farm site shall means the portion of land contiguous to land actively devoted to 


agriculture, which includes containing improvements that are agricultural or horticultural in nature, including any 
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uninhabitable or unimproved farm home site, all of which is contiguous to agricultural or horticultural land.  This 
land shall will not be classified as agricultural or horticultural land and shall will not include a home site.  


 
001.13  Highest and best use shall mean the most reasonable and most probable use of the property that 


will support the highest present value.  It is the recognition of the contribution of that specific use to community 
environment or community development goals in addition to wealth maximization of individual property owners. 


 
0012.0209  Home site shall mean means land within a parcel, which is used or intended to be used for 


residential purposes. 
 
0012.0209A  Farm home site shall mean means one acre or less of land that is contiguous to a 


farm site and upon which is located a residence and necessary improvements needed for residential 
purposes. land contiguous to a farm site which includes an inhabitable residence and improvements used 
for residential purposes and which is located outside of urban areas or outside a platted and zoned 
subdivision. This land shall not be must not be classified or assessed as agricultural or horticultural land. 


 
0012.0710  Location shall mean means the physical site of real property by one of the following 


descriptions: 
 


0012.07C10A  Rural shall mean means all real property outside of an urban or suburban area.  
Unincorporated villages and subdivisions outside the legal jurisdiction of an incorporated city or 
village shall be are classified as rural. 


 
0012.0710B  Suburban shall mean means a parcel of real property located outside of the limits of 


an incorporated city or village, but within the legal jurisdiction of an incorporated city or village. 
 
0012.07A10C  Urban shall mean means a parcel of real property located within the limits of an 


incorporated city or village. 
 
0012.1811  Omitted property shall mean means, for the current tax year, any taxable real property that was 


not assessed on March 19.  Beginning January 1, 2014, the date is March 25 for counties with a population of at 
least 150,000 inhabitants.  Omitted property also means any taxable real property that was not assessed for any prior 
year.  Omitted property does not include exempt property or listing errors of an item of property on the assessment 
roll. 


 
0012.2112  Parcel shall mean means a contiguous tract of land under the same ownership and in the same 


tax district and section of land. A Pparcel may includes all lots in a block that belong to the same owner and are in 
the same tax district.  Parcel shall also means an improvement on leased land (IOLL).  A parcel cannot contain more 
than one section.   


 
0012.0913  Parcel size shall mean means the size of the parcel of land in square feet or acres. 
 
0012.2814  Predominant use shall mean means the most common, frequent, or prevailing use of the land. 


 
0012.0515  Property parcel type shall mean means the predominant use of the parcel of real property at the 


time of assessment regardless of the parcel's legal use or zoning. 
 


002.15A  Agricultural or horticultural land means a parcel that is primarily used for agricultural or 
horticultural purposes, excluding any land associated with a building or enclosed structure located on the 
parcel. Agricultural or horticultural land includes wasteland lying in or adjacent to, and in common 
ownership or management with, other agricultural and horticultural land. 


 
0012.0515FB  Agricultural or horticultural purposes shall mean means used for the commercial 


production of any plant or animal product in a raw or unprocessed state that is derived from the science and 
art of agriculture, aquaculture, or horticulture.  Agricultural or horticultural purposes shall include includes 
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land retained or protected for future agricultural or horticultural purposes under a conservation easement as 
provided in the state Conservation and Preservation Easement Act (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 76-2,111 to 
76-2,118), except when the parcel or a portion thereof of the parcel, is being used for purposes other than 
agricultural or horticultural.  Land enrolled in a federal or state program in which payments are received for 
removing such the land from agricultural or horticultural production shall will be considered as being used 
for agricultural or horticultural purposes.   


 
0012.0515FB(21)  See, Agricultural Land and Horticultural Land Regulations, Chapter 14. 
 
0012.0515FB(12)  Land encumbered by an easement under the federal Wetlands Reserve 


Program cannot be used for agricultural or horticultural purposes, and therefore cannot be 
characterized as agricultural or horticultural land, and must be valued at its actual value. 


 
0012.0515HC  Centrally assessed shall mean means operating real property valued by the 


Property Tax Administrator.  See, Property Valued by the State Regulations, Chapter 30.  
 


0012.0515D  Commercial shall mean means all parcels of real property predominantly used or 
intended to be used for commerce, trade, or business. 


 
0012.0515GE  Exempt shall mean means real property that receives a property tax exemption 


pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section §§ 77-202 (1) (a) (b) (c) (d).  See, Property Tax Exemption 
Regulations, Chapter 40. 


 
0012.0515IF  Nebraska Game and Parks Commission (Commission) payments in lieu of tax shall 


mean means the annual payment made in place of, or as a substitute for, a property tax for land acquired by 
the Game and Parks Commission for wildlife management purposes.  The payments shall be are for the 
same as what  amount that the real property taxes would have been if the land was privately owned and 
based upon the land use at the time of acquisition by the Commission.  See, In Lieu of Tax Regulations, 
Chapter 41. 


 
0012.0515DG  Industrial shall mean means all parcels of real property predominantly used or 


intended to be used for the to process or manufacture of goods or materials. 
 
0012.0515JH  For mobile homes and mineral interests and mobile homes, see, Regulations 10-


0012.018E and 10-0012.018F respectively. 
 
0012.0515BI  Multi-family shall mean means dwellings predominantly used for occupancy by 


more than two families. 
 
0012.0515EJ  Recreational shall mean means all parcels of real property 


predominately predominantly used or intended to be used for diversion, entertainment, and relaxation on an 
occasional basis.  Some of the these uses would include are fishing, hunting, camping, boating, hiking, 
picnicking, and the or having an access or view that simply allows relaxation, 
diversion, and entertainment, and relaxation. 


 
0012.0515AK Single family residential shall mean means all parcels of real property 


predominantly used or intended to be used as a dwelling place or abode whether occupied by the owner, 
tenant, or lessee; and where occupancy is for a period of time usually year-a-round year-round, as opposed 
to a transitory occupancy by a single family or two families. 
 
0012.1116  Property record card shall mean means a master record located on the front of or cover at 


the beginning of the property record file and shall serve serves as a reference to and inventory of all portions of the 
property record file.  It shall contain  must contain a summary of the general data relevant to the parcel it represents.  
This may be in the form of an electronic file that can be printed on demand. 
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0012.1017  Property record file shall mean means a file that contains the property record card, worksheets, 
supplemental data, and transfer information.  All portions of the property record file shall be are interrelated through 
codes and references, which shall be are recorded on a property record card.  This may be in the form of an 
electronic file that can be printed on demand. 
 


0012.0118  Real property shall mean means all land, buildings, fixtures other than trade fixtures, 
improvements, certain mobile homes, cabin trailers and similar property, mineral interests, and all privileges 
pertaining to real property. 
 


0012.01B18A  Building shall mean means an improvement to real property enclosing a space 
within its walls and usually, but not necessarily, covered by a roof and designed for habitation, shelter, 
storage, business, trade, or manufacture.  a structure designed for habitation, shelter, storage, trade, 
manufacture, religion, business, education and the like.  A structure or edifice enclosing a space within its 
walls, and usually, but not necessarily, covered with a roof. 


 
              0012.01A18B  Fixtures (other than trade fixtures), shall include means any item of property that is: 


 
0012.01A18B(1)  Annexed or physically attached to or incorporated into the real 


property; 
 
0012.01A18B(2)  Appropriated to the use of the real property to which it is annexed.  If 


the property is a necessary or useful adjunct addition to the real property to which it is annexed, 
then it has been appropriated to the use or purpose of the real property; and 


 
0012.01A18B(3)  Intended to be annexed to the real property.  Intention shall be is 


inferred from the nature and extent of the annexation and appropriation, unless the owner 
of the item or the owner of the real property provides documentation that the intention is 
otherwise.  


 
0012.01A18C  Examples of fixtures are items which are common to the maintenance and 
operation of structures a building such as central air conditioning, heating system, common 
lighting, and plumbing. All of which these examples add to the value of a structure building or 
appreciably prolong the useful life of the structure building and basically are considered a 
capital improvement real property since they would meet the criteria required in REGS 10-
001.01A(1) through 10-001.01A(3). 


 
 
0012.0118CD  Improvement shall mean means any addition made to real property, amounting to 


more than mere a repairs, such as sidewalks, streets, sewers, or utilities. 
 


0012.0118DE Mineral interest shall mean means the ownership of any mines, minerals, quarries, 
mineral springs and wells, oil and gas wells, overriding royalty interests, and production payments with 
respect to oil and gas leases.  The A mineral interest includes the executor executor’s rights to sell or lease 
the property, to receive bonus payments and delay rentals, and to participate in the production through 
royalty payments.  See, Mineral Interests Regulation, Chapter 13. 


 
0012.0118EF  Mobile home, cabin trailer, and similar property shall mean means every portable 


or relocatable device of any description without motive power, which are is used, or designed to be used for 
residential, office, commercial, agricultural, or other similar purposes.  Mobile homes, cabin trailers, and 
similar property that are unoccupied and held for sale at the location of the business, by persons engaged in 
the business of selling such this type of property and cabin trailers, are not included. 


 
0012.0118FG  Privileges pertaining to real property shall mean means the right to sell, lease, use, 


give away, or enter, and the right to refuse to do any of these.  All rights may or may not be vested in one 
owner or interest holder. 
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0012.2419  Special valuation shall mean means the actual value of the land if the land were available only 


for agricultural or horticultural purposes or uses, without regard to any other purpose or use to for which the land 
may be used. 


 
0012.2520  Special valuation assessment shall mean means seventy-five (75) percent 75% of the special 


valuation. 
 


0012.0421  Status shall mean means improved, unimproved, or improvements on leased land. 
 


0012.0421A  Improved land shall mean means land upon which buildings or structures are 
located. 


 
0012.0421CB Improvements on leased land (IOLL) shall mean means any item of real 


property defined in REG-10-001.01A through REG-10-001.01E which is located on land owned by a 
person other than the owner of the item. 


 
0012.0421BC  Unimproved land shall mean means land without buildings or structures. 


 
002.22  Structure means anything constructed or erected, requiring permanent attachment to real property 


or attached to something permanently affixed to real property. 
 
0012.2323  Taxable value and assessed value shall have the same meaning, mean the values set on real 


property by a government as a basis for levying taxes. Taxable value and assessed value have the same meaning and 
can be used interchangeably. 


 
0012.2924  Trade fixture shall mean means an item of machinery or equipment, used in commercial, 


manufacturing, or processing activities. The degree of attachment shall have no does not influence towards the 
classification of the machinery or equipment as real property.  Trade fixtures are items of personal property which 
are placed upon or affixed to real property for the sole purpose of carrying on a trade or business.  Since having 
failed to meet the criteria outlined in REGS 10-001.01A(1) through 10-001.01A(3), trade fixtures are not considered 
to become part of the real property nor do they constitute capital improvements to the real property. 


 
0012.1925  Undervalued and overvalued property shall mean means any taxable property that is assessed 


by the county assessor, but has a taxable value lower or higher than other taxable property with which it is required 
to be equalized. 


 
0012.1226  Valuation is means the act or process of estimating actual value of real property, pursuant to 


Assessment Process Regulations, Chapter 50. 
 
001.26  Recapture valuation shall mean the actual value.  Recapture valuation will only be determined 


through tax year 2008. 
 
001.27  Recapture valuation assessment shall mean eighty (80) percent of the recapture valuation for tax 


years 2006 and 2005.  For tax years 2007 and 2008, the recapture valuation assessment shall mean seventy-five (75) 
percent of the recapture valuation.  Recapture valuation assessment will only be determined through tax year 2008. 


 
0012.0627  Zoning shall mean means the public regulation and enforcement of the use of land by a county 


or incorporated city.  An incorporated city is granted legal zoning jurisdiction for a specific area outside of the city 
limits based on the class of the city.  The class of city and the area of jurisdiction are as follows: 


 
0012.0627A  Metropolitan class (population 300,000 or more) - three miles; 


 
0012.0627B  Primary class (population 100,001 - 299,999) - three miles; 
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0012.0627C  First class (population 5,001 - 100,000) - two miles; 
 


0012.0627D  Second class (population 801 – 5,000) - one mile; 
 
0012.0627E  Village (population 100 – 800) - one mile. 


 
 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 37-335, R.R.S. 2004, Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections §§ 77-102, 77-103, 77-103.01, 77-


112, 77-117, 77-123, 77-124, 77-126, 77-128, 77-129, 77-130, 77-131, 77-132, 77-202, 77-604, 77-682, 77-702, 77-
802, and 77-1245, R.R.S. 2003 Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-123, 77-132, 77-202, 77-802, 77-1303, and 77-1359., 
R.S. Supp 2006 and 77-103 and 77-702, R.S. Supp., 2007) MM/DD/YYYY. 
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REG-10-0023  PROCEDURES 
 
0023.01  All real property including as defined in REG-10-0012, including any buildings, fixtures other 


than trade fixtures, and buildings and structures under construction, and any mobile homes or cabin trailers that are 
owned by a dealer and are and not located at the location of the dealer’s business location, shall will be assessed as 
of January 1, 12:01 a.m. annually.  The assessment level of real property shall be is: 
  


0023.01A  All real property, other than agricultural land and horticultural land, shall be is valued 
at one hundred (100) percent 100% of its actual value.;  


 
0023.01B  Agricultural land and horticultural land shall be is valued at seventy-five (75) 


percent 75% of its actual value.; 
 
0023.01C  Agricultural land and horticultural land, which has value for purposes other than for 


agriculture or horticulture, and meets the qualifications for special valuation assessment, shall be is valued 
at 75% of the special valuation. its special valuation assessment defined in REGS-10-0012.25 and 11-
002.04 and at its recapture valuation assessment as defined in REGS-10-001.27 and 11-002.06.  
 
0023.02  County Assessor’s Powers and Annual Duties. 
 


0023.02A  On or before March 19 of each year the The county assessor shall must prepare an 
assessment roll of all taxable real property. on or before March 19 of each year. Beginning January 1, 2014, 
the date will be March 25 of each year for counties with a population of at least 150,000 inhabitants. 


 
003.02A(1)  Beginning January 1, 2014, county assessors in any county with a 


population of at least 150,000 inhabitants must provide preliminary valuation notices to real 
property owners on or before January 15 of each year. The notices must either be mailed or 
published on a website maintained by the county assessor or by the county.1 The county assessor 
must also send the notices of valuation change on or before June 1 to every owner of record or 
lessee as of May 20. 


 
003.02A(1)(a)  Beginning January 1, 2014, in counties with at least 150,000 


inhabitants, the county assessor must provide an opportunity for real property owners to 
meet in person with the county assessor’s office to review the property owner’s real 
property record file and the assessed valuation placed upon the property for the upcoming 
assessment year. The meeting must take place between January 15 and March 1. 


 
003.02A(1)(b)  If the real property owner does not notify the county assessor’s 


office of his or her intent to meet by February 1, he or she waives the opportunity to meet 
with the county assessor’s office. 


 
003.02A(1)(c)  During the meeting, the county assessor’s office must provide 


the real property owner the basis for the valuation shown on the preliminary notice and 
accept any information the real property owner provides that is relevant to the valuation 
of the property.2 


 
0023.02B  After March 19, the The county assessor shall not cannot change the valuation of any 


real property for the current year, except as ordered by the Tax Equalization and Review Commission or 
the county board of equalization. after March 19 of each year.; Beginning January 1, 2014, the date will be 
March 25 of each year for counties with a population of at least 150,000 inhabitants. 


 


1 LB384 2011 Section 6. 
2 LB384 2011 Section 8. 
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0023.02B(1)  The county assessor must shall report any current-year overvalued or 
undervalued real property or any current-year omitted real property to the county board of 
equalization after March 19 and on or before July 25, except: After March 19 or 


 
003.02B(1)(a)  Beginning January 1, 2014, a county with at least 100,000 


inhabitants that has adopted a resolution to extend the deadline for hearing protests can 
extend this report submission to August 10. 


 
003.02B(1)(b)  Beginning January 1, 2014, in a county with at least 150,000 


inhabitants, reporting will occur after March 25 and on or before July 25.  A resolution to 
extend the deadline for hearing protests can extend this report submission to August 
10. or on or before August 10 in a county with a population of over one hundred 
thousand 100,000 inhabitants that has adopted a resolution to extend the deadline for 
hearing protests. 
 
0023.02B(2)   The county assessor shall must report at any time, to the county board of 


equalization, any omitted real property that was not reported to the county assessor pursuant to 
Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-1318.01 and any clerical errors pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 
Section § 77-128 that result in a change to  of the assessed value to the county board of 
equalization.  


 
0023.02C  After April 1, and on or before June 1, the county assessor shall must implement all 


adjustments to value as ordered by the Tax Equalization and Review Commission. 
 
0023.02D  On or before June 1, the county assessor shall must publish in a newspaper of general 


circulation that the assessment roll is complete, the notices of valuation changes have been mailed, 
and provide the final date for filing a protest. 


 
0023.02E  On or before June 1, the county assessor shall must send notices of valuation changes 


by first class mail, to every owner of record or lessee as of May 20,  that is responsible for paying the 
property taxes pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-202.11 as of May 20, whose assessed valuation has 
changed from that of the previous year.  The notice shall must describe the real property and state the old 
and new valuation, the convening date of the county board of equalization, and the dates for filing a 
valuation protest, and also provide the average level of value of all classes and subclasses of real property 
as determined by the Tax Equalization and Review Commission. 


 
0023.02F  On or before June 6, the county assessor shall must post in the county assessor’s office, 


and mail to a designated newspaper of general circulation and licensed broadcast media in the county, the 
assessment sales ratios as determined by the Tax Equalization and Review Commission and any other 
statistical measures. 


 
0023.02G  The county assessor may correct the assessment roll at any time for clerical errors that 


do not result in a change of value. 
 
0023.02H  The county assessor shall must attend all meetings of the county board of equalization 


when such the meetings pertain to the assessment or exemption of real property. 
 


003.02H(1)  The county assessor may appoint a designee to attend meetings of the county 
board of equalization when the county assessor is unable to attend. 
 
0023.02I  The county assessor shall must annually, on or before June 15, prepare a plan of 


assessment describing the assessment actions that he or she would like to will be implemented for the next 
assessment year and two years thereafter.  The plan shall must identify the classes and or subclasses of real 
property that the county assessor plans to examine during the following this three-year period.   
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0023.02I(1)  The plan shall must examine the level, quality, and uniformity of assessment 
along with proposed measures and resources, needed to achieve and maintain the statutory and 
administrative requirements.   


 
0023.02I(2)  The county assessor must shall annually, on or before July 31 present the 


plan of assessment to the county board of equalization on or before July 31 of each year.  
The county assessor may amend the plan when necessary because as a result of county board 
actions in the adopted budget that affect affecting the county assessor’s office.  A copy of the plan 
and any amendments to the plan shall  will be mailed to the Department of Revenue, Property 
Assessment Division on or before October 31 each year.   


 
0023.02J  When the date for filing or submitting any form, report, tax valuation notice, valuation 


data, adjustments to value, published notices, or any other requirement under REG 10-0023.02, falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the items will be considered timely filed if performed in person or 
postmarked on the next business day.  When any document is sent by ordinary regular, certified, or 
registered mail, the postmarked certification or registered date shall will be used to determine the date 
filed.  When any document is sent by either certified or registered mail, the certification or registration date 
shall be used as the postmarked date. 


 
0023.03  Protests to the County Board of Equalization. 
 


0023.03A  On or before June 30, all All protests of valuation for real property shall must be in 
writing, written in triplicate, signed, and filed with the county clerk on or before June 30.  If June 30 
falls upon a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the protest will be considered timely filed if performed in 
person or postmarked on the next business day. 002.03B  If the protest is not timely filed, it shall will 
automatically be dismissed. 


 
0023.03CB  Each protest, shall must have attached or contain a written statement of why the 


requested change in assessment should be made.  If the protest pertains to real property, the The 
statement shall must contain a description adequate to identify the parcel of the real property.  If the protest 
pertains to tangible personal property, the statement shall contain the physical description of the property.  
If no statement is provided, the protest shall will automatically be dismissed. Each protest can only pertain 
to one parcel, not a combination of parcels. 
 


0023.03CB(1)  The protest may be, but is not required, to be, be prepared on the Property 
Valuation Protest, (Form 422 or Form 422A).  Failure to use the Property Valuation Protest (Form 
422 or Form 422A) shall not result in the protest not being accepted for will not affect the filing 
or cause it to be being dismissed.  Neither Tthe Property Valuation Protest (Form 422 or Form 
422A) is not required to be promulgated by the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 


 
002.03C(2)  Each protest filed can only pertain to one parcel, and not a combination of 


parcels. 
 
0023.04  County Board of Equalization Powers and Duties. 
 


0023.04A  The county board of equalization shall must fairly and impartially equalize the 
valuation of all items of real property in the county, so that all real property is assessed uniformly and 
proportionately.  


 
0023.04B  The county board of equalization shall must meet from between June 1 through July 


25, for the purpose of correcting the current year's assessment, for any real property that was 
omitted property not reported to the assessor pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-1318.01, and any 
undervalued or overvalued real property.  Any county board of equalization of a county with over one 
hundred thousand 100,000 inhabitants can may extend the deadline for hearing protests from July 25 to 
August 10 if a resolution is adopted annually before July 25.  No hearing of the The county board of 
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equalization may not hold a hearing on a protest with on a protest shall be held before a single 
commissioner or supervisor.  The assessor shall make no corrections of the current year's assessment after 
March 19, until so ordered by the board, except for clerical errors that do not result in a change of value on 
the assessment roll. 


 
003.04B(1)  Beginning January 1, 2014, in counties with a population of at least 150,000 


inhabitants, the county board of equalization must allow protesters an opportunity to meet in 
person with the county board of equalization or a referee. 
 
0023.04C  After July 25, or after August 10, if the county board of equalization has adopted a 


resolution to extend the deadline for hearing protests, the county board of equalization shall not cannot 
change the valuation of any real property for the current year unless there was a clerical error as defined in 
REG-10-001.20, or the real property was omitted real property and not properly reported to the county 
assessor pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-1318.01. 
 


0023.04C(1)  The county clerk shall must mail to the protester on or before August 2, or 
on or before August 18 in a county that has adopted a resolution extending the deadline for 
hearing protests, to the protestor a written notice of the county board of equalization’s action 
taken decision regarding the on his or her protest.  The notice shall must state that a report of 
the board’s decision is available at either the county clerk’s or county assessor’s office, whichever 
is appropriate.  The notice shall also state that a copy of the report may be used to complete an 
appeal to the Tax Equalization and Review Commission.3  Nothing in this regulation shall 
prohibit prohibits a county from providing a copy of the report of the board’s county board of 
equalization’s decision to the protestoer along with the written notice of the board’s decision.   


 
0023.04C(2)  If July 25 or August 10, falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the 


county board of equalization shall must hear and decide protests on the previous business day. 
 


0023.04C(3)  The county clerk or county assessor shall will prepare a report for each 
protest filed. The report shall should contain a signed statement by the chairperson of the county 
board of equalization stating the board’s decision and basis for the decision, a description of 
the real property affected, the recommendation of the county assessor, the recommendation of a 
referee if applicable, the date the county board of equalization heard the protest, the date of the 
decision, and the date notice of the decision was mailed to the protester.  Attached to the 
report shall should also be a copy of the property record file that substantiates the assessed value, 
unless the county assessor certifies to the county board of equalization that a copy of the file is 
maintained in either paper or electronic form in the county assessor’s office.   


 
0023.04C(3)(a)  One copy of the report, if given prepared by the county 


clerk, shall must be given to the county assessor on or before August 2. The county 
assessor shall not cannot make a change to the values prepared and submitted by the 
county clerk until the such report is completed. as required by REG-10-002.04C(3). 


 
0023.04D  The county board of equalization may petition the Tax Equalization and Review 


Commission for a class or subclass adjustments on or before July 26.  Except that any Any county that has 
adopted a resolution extending the deadline for hearing protests waives any right to petition the Tax 
Equalization and Review Commission for adjustment of a class or subclass of real property for that 
year. For properties that have already received an adjustment from the county board of equalization, an 
additional adjustment may be made so that the total adjustments are equal to the Tax Equalization Review 
Commission’s ordered adjustment.  


 
0023.05  Beginning on July 26 and on or before August 24, or on or before September 10 if the county has 


adopted a resolution to extend the deadline for hearing protests, any action of the county board of equalization taken 


3 LB384 2011 Section 14. 
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pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section §§ 77-1502 or 77-1504 may be appealed to the Tax Equalization and Review 
Commission pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-5013.  An appeal shall will be considered timely filed if 
postmarked by August 24, or September 10 if the county has adopted a resolution to extend the deadline for hearing 
protests. 


 
0023.06  Overvalued or Undervalued Real Property and Properly Reported Omitted Real Property. 


 
002.06A  After March 19 and on or before July 25, or on or before August 10 in a county with 


at least population of over one hundred thousand 100,000 inhabitants that has adopted a resolution to 
extend the deadline for hearing protests, the county assessor shall must report to the county board of 
equalization any current year overvalued, or undervalued real property, and current year omitted real 
property which that was properly reported to the county assessor,. but was omitted from the assessment 
roll.  Beginning January 1, 2014 in counties with a population of at least 150,000 inhabitants, the dates the 
county assessor is to report any current year overvalued or undervalued real property and omitted property 
that was properly reported are after March 25 and on or before July 25, or on or before August 10 in a 
county with a population of over 100,000 inhabitants that has adopted a resolution to extend the deadline 
for hearing protests. 


 
0023.06B  Beginning June 1 and on or before July 25, or on or before August 10 in a county that 


has adopted a resolution to extend the deadline for hearing protests, the county board of 
equalization shall must meet to consider and correct the current year assessment for 
overvalued, or undervalued and current year properly reported omitted real property, and give written 
notice of the assessed value to the record owner, agent, or lessee that  who is responsible for paying the 
property taxes pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-202.11 at his or her last-known address. 


 
0023.06B(1)  Protests for current year properly reported omitted real property and current 


year undervalued or and overvalued real property shall must be filed with the county board of 
equalization within thirty 30 days after the mailing of the notice by the county board of 
equalization. The procedures for filing a protest are shall be the same as those in REGS-10-
0023.03A through 10-0023.03CB, except for the date restrictions. 


 
0023.06C  All protests relating to current year undervalued and overvalued real 


property, shall must be heard and decided by the county board of equalization on or before September 15 
(or on or before September 30 if the county has adopted a resolution to extend the deadline for hearing 
protests). 


 
0023.06C(1)  If September 15 or September 30, falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal 


holiday, the county board of equalization shall must hear and decide protests on the previous 
business day. 


 
0023.06D  All protests relating to current year omitted real property, which was properly reported 


to the county assessor pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-1318.01, should be heard and decided as 
soon as possible preferably within thirty days, by the county board of equalization within 30 days 
of after the date the protest was filed with the county board of equalization. 


 
0023.06E  The county clerk shall must mail to the protester within seven days, to the protestor a 


written notice of the county board of equalization’s action taken on decision regarding the his or her 
protest within seven days.  The notice shall must state that a report of the board’s decision is available at 
either the county clerk’s or county assessor’s office, whichever is appropriate.  The notice shall also state 
that a copy of the report may be used to complete an appeal to the Tax Equalization and Review 
Commission.  Nothing in this regulation shall prohibits a county from providing a copy of the report of 
the county board of equalization’s decision to the protestoer along with the written notice of the board’s 
decision. 
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0023.06F  The Final decisions of the county board of equalization final decisions 
on concerning undervalued and overvalued current year real property may be appealed to the Tax 
Equalization and Review Commission pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-5013 on or before October 
15 (or on or before October 30 if the county has adopted a resolution to extend the deadline for hearing 
protests). 


 
0023.06G  The Final decisions of the county board of equalization final decisions concerning 


current year omitted real property, which was properly reported to the county assessor, may be appealed to 
the Tax Equalization and Review Commission within thirty 30 days after the board’s final decision. 


 
0023.06H  After July 25 (or after August 10 if the county has adopted a resolution to extend the 


deadline for hearing protests), the county board of equalization shall not cannot change the valuation of any 
real property that is undervalued, or overvalued, or omitted real property which was properly reported to 
the county assessor for the current year.  Only real property with a clerical error or omitted real property 
not properly reported to the county assessor pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-1318.01, may can be 
changed at any time by the county board of equalization. 


 
0023.07  Clerical Errors and Omitted Real Property not Properly Reported to the County Assessor.  


 
0023.07A  The county board of equalization may meet at any time after June 1 for the current 


year, and any time between January 1 and December 31 for any prior former year or years, for the purpose 
of assessing any omitted real property which was not properly reported to the county assessor pursuant to 
Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-1318.01 and for any clerical errors as defined in REG-10-0012.20 that result 
in a change of valuation.  The county board of equalization shall must send written notice of the assessed 
value to the record owner, agent, or lessee that who is responsible for paying the property taxes pursuant 
to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-202.11 at his or her last known address. 


 
0023.07B  Protests for clerical errors and omitted real property pursuant to REG-10-


0023.07A shall must be filed with the county board of equalization within thirty 30 days after the mailing 
of the written notice of the assessed valuation.  The procedures for filing a protest shall be are the same as 
those in REGS-10-0023.03A through 10-0023.03CB, except for the date restrictions. 
 


0023.07C  The county board of equalization shall may meet at any time for the purpose of hearing 
and deciding protests relating to clerical errors and omitted real property not properly reported to 
the county assessor pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-1318.01.   


 
0023.07C(1)  All protests relating to clerical errors and omitted real property, which was 


not property properly reported to the county assessor, should be heard and decided as soon as 
possible preferably within thirty days, by the county board of equalization after within 30 days 
of the date the protest was filed with the county board of equalization. 
 
0023.07D  The county clerk must shall within seven days after the county board of equalization 


decision, send notification to the protester of the board’s county board of equalization’s decision within 
seven days.  The notice must shall state that a report of the board’s decision is available at either the county 
clerk’s or county assessor’s office, whichever is appropriate.  The notice shall also state that a copy of the 
report may be used to complete an appeal to the Tax Equalization and Review Commission.  Nothing in 
this regulation shall prohibit prohibits a county from providing a copy of the report of the county board of 
equalization’s decision to the protestoer along with the written notice of the board’s decision. 


 
0023.07E  The county clerk must shall within seven days, send a report to the Property Tax 


Administrator stating the description of the property, the reason the omitted property was not assessed by 
the county assessor, and a statement of the county board of equalization’s  justification for its action within 
seven days.  A copy of the report shall will also be retained by the county clerk for public inspection. 
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0023.07F  The action of the county board of equalization pursuant to REG-10-0023.07C may be 
appealed within thirty 30 days after the board’s final decision, to the Tax Equalization and Review 
Commission pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-5013.  
 


0023.07G  No prior year assessment shall can be made to any omitted real property where the 
ownership has changed by any means other than by will, inheritance, or gift. 
 
0023.08  If failure to give notice pursuant to REG-10-002.02E, REG-10-002.04C(1), REG-10-002.06B, 


REG-10-002.06D, REG-10-002.07A and REG-10-002.07D prevented the timely filing of a protest or appeal, an 
owner, agent, or the lessee that who is responsible for paying the property taxes pursuant to Neb. Rev. 
Stat. Section § 77-202.11 and has a right to protest or appeal may petition the Tax Equalization and Review 
Commission, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-5013, on or before December 31 of the year the notice should 
have been sent, for a determination of the actual valuation or special valuation assessment. 


 
0023.08A  No petition or appeal shall  can in any manner suspend the collection of any tax or the 


duties of officers relating thereto during the pendency of the petition or appeal, and all taxes affected 
thereby, which may be collected, shall must be distributed as though no petition or appeal were pending. 


 
0023.08B  If, by final order of the Tax Equalization and Review Commission, it is determined 


that the such tax or a part thereof of the tax should be refunded, the county treasurer is authorized to make 
the refund upon receiving a certified copy of the such final order. 
 
0023.09  On or before October 15 of each year, the county board of equalization shall will levy the taxes 


necessary for county purposes and shall include all levies necessary to fund tax requests of other political 
subdivisions. 
 


0023.10  All real property taxes shall be are due and payable on December 31 next following the date of 
levy.  One-half of the real property taxes become delinquent on May 1 and the second half on September 
1 next following the date the taxes become due, except in counties having a population of more than one hundred 
thousand 100,000.  In those counties, with a population of more than one hundred thousand  the delinquent dates are 
April 1 and August 1 next following the date the taxes become due. 


 
 
Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 49-1202 and 49-1203, R.R.S. 2004, Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-203, and 77-204, 


R.R.S. 2003, 77-1315, 77-1315.01, 77-1317, 77-1380, 77-1501, 77-1502, 77-1504.01, 77-1507, 77-1613.04, 77-
5013, and 77-5022, R.S. Supp., 2006, and Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-702, 77-1311, 77-1343, 77-1344, 77-1345, 
77-1504, R.S. Supp.) Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 49-1202, 49-1203, 77-203, 77-204, 77-702, 77-1311, 77-1315, 77-1315.01, 
77-1317, 77-1343, 77-1344, 77-1345, 77-1501, 77-1502, 77-1504, 77-1504.01, 77-1507, 77-1613.04, 77-5007, 77-
5013, 77-5022, and 77-5023. MM/DD/YYYY. 
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REG-10-0034  MANUALS  
 


0034.01  Every county assessor shall will use all manuals issued by the Property Tax Administrator and the 
Tax Commissioner as a basis for the performance of his or her  their duties.  Classifications or assessment methods 
included in any manual shall will be used as a basis for the assessment of all real property uniformly throughout 
each county.  Unless otherwise provided by law, no deviation from the such classifications or assessment 
methods shall be is allowed, unless the each deviation is necessary for compliance with the laws of the state or 
regulations promulgated by the Property Tax Administrator and the Tax Commissioner.  Thorough documentation 
of each deviation, clearly stating the reasons for the deviation,  therefore, shall must be included in the property 
record file of the parcel in question. 


 
0034.02  The county assessor shall must use the Nebraska Assessor's Reference Manual, as issued and 


updated by the Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division or Property Tax Administrator and the Tax 
Commissioner, in the performance of his or her their duties. 
 


0034.03  The Marshall Valuation Service, including associated handbooks, as published and updated by 
Marshall and Swift Publishing Company, shall must be used for uniform identification of the physical characteristics 
of real property.  If an a county assessor wishes to utilize an alternative characteristics system, the county 
assessor shall make such must make this request in writing to the Property Tax Administrator. If the Property Tax 
Administrator is satisfied that the alternative method provides a characteristics system that reasonably corresponds 
with the Marshall and Swift Valuation Service to assure consistency comparison with other counties, he or 
she shall will grant approval in writing to the county assessor. 


 
0034.04  If the Property Tax Administrator has reason to believe that any county assessor has failed to 


properly implement any manual as required by law, a hearing shall will be held pursuant to the Administrative 
Procedures Act of the Nebraska statutes.  See, Practice and Procedures Regulations, Chapter 90, and Proceedings 
Instituted by the Department of Revenue, Chapter 91. 
 


(Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 77-1363, R.S. Supp., 2006 and §§ 77-702, 77-1311, and 77-1330, 77-1363, and 
77-1374.R.S. Supp., 2007.) MM/DD/YYYY. 
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REG-10-0045  RECORD KEEPING 
 


0045.01  Every county assessor shall must prepare and maintain a property record file which shall includes 
a property record card, for each parcel of real property in the county, including improvements on leased land, in the 
county.  The property record file and property record card shall must be updated annually by the county assessor to 
reflect any changes made to the assessment information for of the property. 
 


0045.01A  Each property record card shall must contain the following items.: 
 
0045.01A(1)  The legal description, which shall must be prepared using one of the 


following methods: government survey; lot number of a recorded plat; metes and bounds; or, tax 
lot number.  The legal description on the record card shall must be sufficiently complete so that 
the parcel can be located and identified.  If a metes and bounds description is used, it shall must 
begin at a known point that can be readily identified and the description must close.  If there are 
more than 160 characters in the legal description, a tax lot number system shall must be 
developed.  If the county does not have a tax lot number system, pursuant to Neb. Rev. 
Stat. Sections §§ 23-304 through 23-307, the county assessor shall will keep a copy of the 
complete legal description in the record file or in a reference book in his or her office.;  


 
0045.01A(2)  The book and page number of the last deed of record during the past five 


years and any changes of record ownership including an area for noting splits or additions to the 
original parcel during the past five years.; 


 
0045.01A(3)  The current Current record owner’s name and mailing address.; 
 
0045.01A(4)  The Situs address of the parcel if it is different from the owner's mailing 


address, if applicable; 
 
0045.01A(5)  The cadastral Cadastral map book and page numbers, or GIS reference 


number if applicable; 
 
0045.01A(6)  The current Current property classification code pursuant to REG-10-


0045.02; 
 
0045.01A(7)  The tax Tax district code as determined by the county; 
 
0045.01A(8)  The current Current year and one or more prior years’ history of the final 


assessed value of the land and improvements, except that this shall not be a requirement for real 
property that receives a property tax exemption pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 77-202 (1) (a) 
(b) (c) or (d); 


 
0045.01B  Each property record file shall must contain the following (if applicable): 


 
0045.01B(1)  A picture of the improvements or main  buildings structures if applicable; 
 
0045.01B(2)  A sketch of the improvements or main buildings structures if applicable; 
 
0045.01B(3)  A ground plan sketch or aerial photograph if there are multiple 


improvements in addition to the main structures if applicable; 
 
0045.01B(4)  The school School district codes as prescribed by the Nebraska Department 


of Revenue, Property Assessment Division; 
 
0045.01B(5)  Four or more prior years’ history of the final assessed value of land and 


improvements.  Also Further, a complete history of each incremental adjustment or change made 
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within an assessment year to the assessed value of the parcel must be recorded in the file, 
including the nature of the change and an indication of the assessment body or official ordering the 
change;. 


 
0045.01B(6)  Other codes created by the county assessor that are relevant to the specific 


parcel, such as coded expressions for the legal description, account numbers, or other 
identifiers; and. 


 
0045.01B(7)  The property record file shall must contain a correlation section that 


summarizes the results of each approach to value that has been completed for the parcel.  Also 
there There must shall also be a narrative statement that provides an explanation of the correlation 
process and the final estimate of value. 


 
0045.02  All real property must shall be identified by a property classification code on the property record 


card. The classification code is vital for the stratification of real property into classes and or subclasses.  The 
classification number shall must be derived from the following numerical coding system:  


 
(A) Status 


1. Improved 
2. Unimproved 
3. IOLL 
 


(B) Property Parcel Type (Predominant Use of Parcel) 
1. Single Family 
2. Multi-Family 
3. Commercial 
4. Industrial 
5. Agricultural 
6. Recreational 
7. Mobile Home 
8. Minerals Non-Producing 
9. Minerals Producing 
10. State Centrally Assessed 
11. Exempt 
12. Game and Parks In Lieu (Wildlife Preservation Only) 
 


(C) Zoning 
1. Single Family 
2. Multi-Family 
3. Commercial 
4. Industrial 
5. Agricultural 
6. Recreational 
7. Other 
0. None 
 


(D) Location 
1. Urban 
2. Suburban 
3. Rural 
 


(E) City Size 
1. 300,000 and over (metropolitan city) 
2. 100,001-299,999 (primary city) 
3. 12,001-100,000 (first class city) 
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4. 5,001-12,000 (first class city) 
5. 2,501-5,000 (second class city) 
6. 800-2,500 (second class city) 
7. 101-799 (village) 
8. 1-100 (village) 
9. Unincorporated village or Not applicable 
 


(F) Parcel Size (Square feet or Acres) 
1. 1 sq. ft.-10,000 sq. ft. 
2. 10,001 sq. ft.-20,000 sq. ft. 
3  20,001 sq. ft.-1.00 acre 
4. 1.01 acre-2.00 acres 
5. 2.01 acres-5.00 acres 
6. 5.01 acres-10.00 acres 
7. 10.01 acres-20.00 acres 
8. 20.01 acres-40.00 acres 
9. 40.01 acres-160.00 acres 
10. 160.01 acres-one section 
 
0045.02A  The agricultural land and or horticultural land capability groups may be platted on 


aerial photographs or in an electronic data file.  The photograph or data file shall must indicate the 
ownership boundaries and the date of physical inspection by the county assessor. 


 
0045.03  All land in the state may of Nebraska can be identified using the public land survey system.  The 


entire state has been laid out in townships north North of the baseline running from east to west along the Kansas-
Nebraska border, and ranges east East and west West from the 6th parallel which runs perpendicular to the baseline 
approximately 108 miles west West of the eastern Eastern tip of the state.  The parcel should be identified using the 
public land survey system legal description.   


 
0045.03A  Government lots may be identified using the appropriately assigned government lot 


number.  Some government lots are irregularly shaped lots which most often occur along the north North 
and west West sections in a township. 


 
0045.03B  Irregular lots may be identified using the appropriately assigned "tax lot" number. 


 
0045.04  Every county assessor shall must prepare and annually maintain a cadastral map system.  


It shall must consist of a series of layers, sheets, and or books accurately showing each parcel of land to 
scale.  Any As many of the following items that as are pertinent shall must be shown on each sheet.: 


 
0045.034A  General  
(1) Title of map 


A.  Township 
B.  Range  
C.  Section or sections 
D.  Subdivision 
E.  Block 
F.  Lot 
G.  Parcel 


(2) Book and page number as found in the register of deed's office 
(3) City 
(4) Arrow indicating north 
(5) Scale of map 
(6) Page number of bordering maps on respective edges 


 
0045.034B  Descriptive information 
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(1) Sections, townships, and ranges if more than one 
(2) Subdivisions, if they cover only a portion of the map and are not in the title 
(3) Property ownership lines with essential courses and distances - shown by solid lines 
(4) Dimensions of lots and tracts - showing original plotted areas in dotted lines if parcel 


includes a greater area 
(5) Lot numbers shown in the center of the lot 
(6) Parcel number - which shall be circled or otherwise highlighted on the parcel 
(7) Original block number 
(8) Assessor's  County assessor’s block number, which shall must be enclosed elliptically or 


otherwise highlighted 
(9) Acreage of any parcel containing one acre or more, or fractions of an acre thereof;, or, if 


the county has implemented a lot and block system of identification, then the lot and 
block 


(10) Width of streets and roads 
 


0045.034C  Street names 
 


0045.034D  Highway route numbers designating whether federal, state, or local 
 


0045.034E  Ownership and use of public property (courthouse, library, school, park, etc.) 
 


0045.034F  Creeks, rivers, ditches, bridges, lakes, etc. 
 


0045.034G  In the preparation of a cadastral map, the following scale of measurement shall must 
be used as applicable: 
 
Urban lot Scale - 1 inch   = 100 feet 
Large urban and suburban Scale - 1 inch   = 200 feet 
General rural Scale - 1 inch   = 1,320 feet 
General rural and range Scale - 4 inches = 1 mile 


 
A cadastral map shall must be printed on permanent materials of a permanent 


nature that will facilitate reproduction.  Each sheet or page of a cadastral map shall must be uniform in size.  
The county assessor shall must update and maintain the cadastral map to reflect any changes in the 
information contained therein.  The requirements mandated in this regulation shall will not prohibit a 
county from using electronic records that encompass such items such as the Nebraska Geographic 
Information Systems after approval from the Property Tax Administrator. 


 
   (Neb. Rev. Stat. Section §§ 77-702, 77-1303 77-1329, and 77-1331.R.R.S. 2003, Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 


77-1303, R.S. Supp., 2006 and Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-702 and 77-1331, R. S. Supp., 2007.) MM/DD/YYYY. 
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REG-10-0056  IMPROVEMENTS ON LEASED LAND 
 


0056.01  Improvements on leased land or leased public land are real property and shall must be assessed in 
the same manner as other real property.  The taxes on the improvements on leased land shall must be collected by 
levy and sale of the interest of the owner of the improvement in the same manner as in all other cases for the 
collection of taxes on other real property. 
 


0056.02  Improvements on leased public land shall must be assessed, together with the value of the lease, to 
the owner of the improvements as real property.  The situs of the improvements on leased land shall must be the 
same as the land upon which the improvement is located.  The Improvements on Leased Public Land Assessment 
Application, Form 402P, shall must be filed stating that the specifically described improvements on such  the leased 
public land are the property of the lessee.  This form shall must be filed with the county assessor of the county 
wherein the land is located.  Form 402P shall be filed on or before March 1 and must be signed by the owner of the 
improvements.  A new Form 402P is required to must be filed following any change in the improvements or 
ownership. 
 


0056.03  Improvements on leased land, other than leased public land, shall must be assessed to the owner 
of the leased land unless Assessment Application, Form 402, is filed stating that specifically described 
improvements on the such leased land are the property of the lessee.  This form shall must be filed by March 1 with 
the county assessor of the county wherein where the land is located by either the owner of the land or the owner of 
the improvements before March 1.  A new Form 402 is required to must be filed and signed by the owner of the 
improvements following any change in the improvements or ownership. 


 
0056.04  When improvements are placed on leased land, and but are to be listed separately to the owner of 


the improvements, the actual value of the land and improvements shall must be determined without regard to the fact 
that the owner of the improvements is not the owner of the land. 
 


0056.05  If either the owner of the improvement or the owner of the land claims that the value of his or 
her their interest in the real property is reduced because by reason of the terms of the contract or because of the 
prospective termination or expiration of the term, he or she shall must serve notice of such this claim in writing 
by certified mail on the owner of the land or the owner of the improvement before January 1 and at the same time, 
serve similar notice on the county assessor, together with an affidavit, that notice was served on the other party 
before January 1.  Upon finding, from the evidence submitted, that If the claim is determined to be valid, the county 
assessor shall must proceed to apportion the total value of the improvements between the owner of the 
improvements thereof and the owner of the land, as their respective interests appear. The county assessor shall must 
give notice to the parties of the findings by certified mail, on or before June 1. 


 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections §§ 77-117, and 77-1375, R.R.S. 2003 and Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections77-702, 77-


1374, 77-1375, and 77-1376. , R.S. Supp., 2007.) MM/DD/YYYY. 
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