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TITLE 172  PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 75  LICENSURE OF HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALISTS  
 
75-001  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY:  These regulations govern the licensure of hearing instrument 
specialists under the Hearing Instrument Specialist Practice Act and the Uniform Credentialing Act 
(UCA).  Persons providing hearing instrument specialist services to clients located in Nebraska must 
be licensed as hearing instrument specialists in Nebraska unless they are exempt under the Act. 
 
75-002  DEFINITIONS 
 
Attest or Attestation means that the individual declares that all statements on the application are true 
and complete. 
 
Complete application means an application that contains all of the information requested on the 
application, with attestation to its truth and completeness, and that is submitted with the required 
fees and all required documentation. 

 
Licensure in another jurisdiction means holding a credential that authorizes the individual to engage 
in the profession of hearing instrument specialists which would otherwise be unlawful, from the 
District of Columbia or any state, territory, or possession of the United States of America, or any 
province of Canada. 
 
Military service means full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, a National 
Guard call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned 
officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Military 
service may also include any period during which a servicemember is absent from duty on account 
of sickness, wounds, leave, or other lawful cause.  (From the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 
U.S.C. App. 501 et seq., as it existed on January 1, 2007.) 
 
Served in the regular armed forces has the same meaning as “military service” in these regulations. 
 
 
75-003  INITIAL LICENSE:  To receive a license to practice as a hearing instrument specialist, an 
individual must submit a complete application, pay the appropriate fee, and meet the following 
requirements:   

 
1. Age and Good Character:  Be at least 21 years old and of good character;  
2. Citizenship/Lawful Presence: Be a citizen of the United States, an alien lawfully 

admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is 
eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act;  

3. Education:  Have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high 
school; and 
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4. Examinations:  Have successfully passed the following examinations: 
 

a. The International Licensing Exam for Hearing Healthcare Professionals with 
a passing score determined by a statistical equating process; and 

b. The Nebraska Practical Examination with a passing score of at least 70 in 
each subject. 

 
75-003.01 Passed Licensure Examination But Is Not Practicing:  An applicant who has met 
the education and examination requirements for licensure, passed the examination more 
than three years prior to the time of application, and who is not practicing at the time of 
application must: 
 

1. Complete 30 hours of continuing education from the categories listed in 172 
NAC 75-008.02, items 1-3 within three years of the application; and 

2. Submit documentation of completion of the continuing education hours which 
includes:  

 
 a. Signed certificate of completion; and 
 b. Course outline or course objectives; or 
 c. Copies of transcripts from the college or university. 

 
75-003.02  Licensed in Another Jurisdiction But Is Not Practicing:  An applicant who has met 
the standards for licensure based on a license in another jurisdiction and is not practicing at 
the time of application for licensure must: 

 
1. Complete 30 hours of continuing education from the categories listed in 172 

NAC 75-008.02, items 1-3 within three years of the application; and 
2. Submit documentation of completion of the continuing education hours which 

includes:  
  

a. Signed certificate of completion; and 
b. Course outline or course objectives; or 
c. Copies of transcripts from the college or university. 

 
75-003.03  Licensed in Another Jurisdiction and Currently Practicing:  An applicant who has 
met the requirements for licensure based on a license in another jurisdiction and who is 
practicing at the time of application for licensure must present proof that: 
 

1. S/he passed the International Hearing Society’s International Licensing 
Exam for Hearing Healthcare Professionals;  

2. The license was based on a practical examination that is equivalent to the 
Nebraska Practical Examination; and 

3. The Certification of Hearing Instrument Specialist License form was 
completed by the licensing agency. 

 
75-003.04  License Based on an Audiology License:  An applicant who is a licensed 
audiologist may be issued a hearing instrument specialist license by the Department without 
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an examination, if the licensed audiologist maintains a practice or intends to maintain a 
practice in which hearing instruments are regularly dispensed.    

 
75-003.05  Denied or Withdrawn Applications 

 
75-003.05A  Denied Applications:  An applicant for a hearing instrument specialist 
license whose application is denied by the Department will be allowed the return of 
his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the Department. 
Any examination fee will not be returned. 

 
75-003.05B  Withdrawn Applications:  An applicant for a hearing instrument 
specialist license may request to withdraw the application.  A request to withdraw an 
application will be granted: 

     
1. When the application is incomplete; or 
2. When the request for withdrawal is received within five business days 

of the receipt of a completed application. 
 

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be allowed the 
return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the 
Department. 

 
 
75-004  INITIAL TEMPORARY LICENSE:  To receive a temporary license to practice as a hearing 
instrument specialist, an individual must submit a complete application, pay the appropriate fee, and 
meet the following:   

 
1. Age and Good Character:  Be at least 21 years old and of good character;  
2. Citizenship/Lawful Presence: Be a citizen of the United States, an alien lawfully 

admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act, or a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is 
eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act; and  

3. Education:  Have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high 
school. 

 
75-004.01  Expiration of a Temporary Credential:  All temporary credentials will become null 
and void upon the Department’s notification that the temporary credential holder has passed 
the examination or a year from the issuance date, whichever comes first.  
 
75-004.02  Renewal or Reissuance of a Temporary Credential:  A temporary license is valid 
for no more than one year from the date of issuance but may be renewed for one additional 
year if the applicant fails the licensure examination.  A renewal or reissuance may take place 
any time after the expiration of the license.  Continuing competency is not a requirement for 
renewal or reissuance of a temporary credential. 

 
75-004.03  Denied or Withdrawn Applications 

 
75-004.03A  Denied Applications:  An applicant for a temporary hearing instrument 
specialist license whose application is denied by the Department will be allowed the 
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return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the 
Department.  Any examination fee will not be returned. 
 
75-004.03B  Withdrawn Applications:  An applicant for a temporary hearing 
instrument license may request to withdraw the application.  A request to withdraw 
an application will be granted: 

 
1. When the application is incomplete; or 
2. When the request for withdrawal is received within five business days 

of the receipt of a completed application. 
 
If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be allowed the 
return of his/her fee, except for a $25 administrative fee to be retained by the 
Department. 

 
 
75-005  SUPERVISION OF A TEMPORARY HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST:  Any person 
who practices as a temporary hearing instrument specialist must be supervised by a credentialed 
hearing instrument specialist.   
 

75-005.01  Training:  The supervisor must meet with the temporary credential holder face to 
face twice weekly during the first 90 days of the initial training period, which will commence 
upon the issuance of the temporary credential.  Thereafter, the supervisor must meet with 
the temporary credential holder monthly to evaluate the temporary credential holder’s 
performance.  The training during the initial 90-day training period will include: 

 
1. Basic physics of sound; 
2. The anatomy and physiology of the ear; 
3. The function of hearing instruments; 
4. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction testing and bone conduction 

testing; 
5. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry; 
6. Masking; 
7. Recording and evaluation of audiograms and speech audiometry to 

determine proper selection and adaptation of a hearing instrument; and  
8. Taking ear mold impressions. 
 

75-005.02  During the first 25 hours of training, the temporary credential holder must not 
have patient contact.  Training will be done by observation only.  During the second 25 hours 
of training, the temporary credential holder will have patient contact.  The training will cover 
the following: 

 
  1. Taking client history; 

2. Ear inspection; 
3. Audiometric assessment; 
4. Audiometric interpretation; 
5. Candidate for hearing instrument use; 
6. Selection of hearing instruments; 
7. Taking ear mold impressions; 
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8. Evaluating hearing instruments; 
9. Fitting hearing instruments; and 
10. Post fitting care. 
 

75-005.03  Upon completion of the initial training, the supervisor must document the training 
on a form provided by the Department. 
 

 
75-006  LICENSURE EXAMINATION:  To be eligible to take the Nebraska Practical Examination 
administered by the Department, an applicant must have: 

 
1. Met all the requirements for licensure pursuant to 172 NAC 75-003.01, items 1-3; 

and  
2. Submitted a complete application and the fee to the Department at least 30 days 

prior to the administration of the examination.    
 
75-006.01  Examination Period:  The Nebraska Practical Examination will be offered a 
minimum of two times per calendar year.  The applicant will be notified of the date, time, 
place, and other information pertinent to administration of the examination. 
  
75-006.02  Examination Passing Scores:  To receive a credential, each applicant must pass 
the International Licensing Exam for Hearing Healthcare Professionals and the Nebraska 
Practical Examination with the following scores: 
 

1. International Licensing Exam for Hearing Healthcare Professionals with a 
passing score determined by a statistical equating process; and 

2. The Nebraska Practical Examination with a passing score of at least 70 in 
each subject. 

 
The Department will notify the applicant in writing of examination results.  

 
75-006.03  Re-Examination:  An applicant who fails the International Hearing Society’s 
International Licensing Exam for Hearing Healthcare Professionals and/or the Nebraska 
Practical Examination may retake the examination as follows:  
 

1. International Licensing Exam for Hearing Healthcare Professionals:  
 
a. An applicant who fails the exam must retake the entire examination. 
b. The applicant will be entitled to reschedule the examination.  

 
2. Nebraska Practical Examination: 
 

a. An applicant who fails only one subject of examination must retake 
the subject failed. 

b. An applicant who fails both subjects of the examination must retake 
the entire examination. 

c. The applicant will be entitled to take the next scheduled examination. 



10-21-14 NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF 172 NAC 75 
DRAFT HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES  

 6 

 
75-006.04  An applicant who is retaking an examination must submit to the Department: 
 

1. A complete application from the Department; and  
2. The required licensure fee according to 172 NAC 2 along with any other 

applicable fees. 
  
 
75-007  RENEWAL:  An individual who wants to renew his/her license to practice as a hearing 
instrument specialist must, prior to the expiration date, file an application for renewal, pay the fee, 
and demonstrate compliance with the continuing education requirements.  All hearing instrument 
specialist credentials issued by the Department will expire on December 31 of each even-numbered 
year.  
 
 
75-008  CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS:  Each person holding an active 
credential must, on or before the date of expiration of the credential, comply with the continuing 
competency requirements for his/her profession, unless the requirements are waived in accordance 
with 172 NAC 75-008.04A, 75-008.04B or 75-008.04C.  Each credentialed individual is responsible 
for maintaining certificates or records of the continuing competency activities. 

 
75-008.01 On or before December 31 of each even-numbered year, each hearing 
instrument specialist who has an active credential must complete a total of 24 hours of 
continuing education during the preceding 24-month period.  The 24 hours must be 
completed as follows: 

 
75-008.02  Continuing Education:  The continuing education requirement for hearing 
instrument specialists is: 
 

1. No less than eight hours of continuing education directly relating to the 
practice of fitting hearing instruments including: 

 
a. The science of hearing and hearing disorders; 
b. The structure and function of hearing instruments; and 
c. The psychology of the hearing impaired. 
 

2. No more than eight hours of continuing education directly related to the 
managerial aspects of the practice of fitting hearing instruments including: 

 
a. Good business principles; and 
b. Customer management principles; and 
 

3. No more than eight hours of continuing education relating to hearing 
measurement. 

 
75-008.03  Acceptable Continuing Education:  In order for a learning experience to be 
accepted for renewal, reinstatement, or issuance of a credential, the learning experience 
must relate to the practice of hearing instrument specialists and must be open to all 
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credentialed hearing instrument specialists.  The Board does not pre-approve continuing 
education programs but may accept as continuing education the following:  

 
1. Academic Coursework:  Courses taken either in person or online for college 

credit will be accepted for continuing education upon submission of a 
transcript by the college or university from which the course was taken. 
Continuing education hours will be awarded as follows: 

 
a. One academic semester credit hour equates to 15 contact hours.  
b. One academic quarter credit hour equates to 10 contact hours.   

  
2. Conferences/Workshops/Seminars:  Attendance at these types of offerings 

will be accepted for continuing education upon submission of a certificate of 
completion which includes: 

 
a. The date; 
b. The location; 
c. The course title;  
d. The number of hours awarded;  
e. A signature by the representative of the offering; and 
f. A course brochure or course outline. 

 
3. Presenter/Speaker/Instructor:  Presentations will be accepted for continuing 

education upon submission of materials which show the content of the 
presentation, including: 
 
a. The title and date of the presentation; and 
b. An outline or copies of the materials utilized in the presentation; or 
c. A copy of the presentation brochure that includes the name(s) of the 

presenter(s)  
 

4. Independent Study: Independent study through written, audio or electronic 
media will be accepted for continuing education when the program has an 
examination to determine satisfactory completion of the program.  Credit will 
be given for the independent study upon submission of a certificate of 
completion which includes: 

 
a. The date; 
b. The course title; 
c. The number of hours awarded; 
d. The course brochure or outline; and 
e. The exam score. 

 
A maximum of 8 hours of credit may be obtained by independent study each 24- 
month renewal period. 
 
75-008.03A  One hour credit will be awarded for each 60 minutes of attendance. 
Each program/activity must be at least 60 minutes in length.  Credit will not be 
awarded for breaks or meals. 
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75-008.04  Waivers of Continuing Education 
 

75-008.04A  Military Service   
 

1. Credential holders actively engaged in military service are not 
required to pay the renewal fee. 

2. The Department may waive continuing competency requirements if a 
credential holder has served in the regular armed forces of the U.S. 
during part of the credentialing period immediately preceding the 
renewal date.  

 
75-008.04B  First Licensed:  The Department waives continuing competency 
requirements for individuals who were first credentialed within the 24-month period 
immediately preceding the renewal date.  
 
75-008.04C  Illness or Disability:  The Department may waive continuing competency 
requirements, in whole or in part, if the credential holder has had a serious or 
disabling illness or physical disability which prevented completion of the required 
number of continuing education hours during the 24 months immediately preceding 
the credential renewal date. 

 
 
75-009  DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS  
 

75-009.01  Grounds for Discipline:  A hearing instrument specialist license may have 
disciplinary actions taken against it for the grounds specified in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-178 or 
for unprofessional conduct. 
 
75-009.02  Unprofessional Conduct:  Unprofessional conduct means any departure from or 
failure to conform to the standards of acceptable and prevailing practice of a profession or 
the ethics of the profession, regardless of whether a person, consumer, or entity is injured, 
but does not include a single act of ordinary negligence.  Unprofessional conduct also 
means conduct that is likely to deceive or defraud the public or is detrimental to the public 
interest.  Unprofessional conduct includes but is not limited to the acts set out in Neb. Rev. 
Stat. § 38-179 and the following: 
  

1. Professional Relationships:  Failure to safeguard the welfare of patients and 
maintain appropriate professional relationships with patients and other health 
care practitioners.  Commission of any of the following acts or behavior 
constitutes unprofessional conduct: 

 
a. Improper use of another person for one’s own advantage; 
b. Failure to decline to carry out hearing instrument specialist services 

that have been requested when such services are known to be 
contraindicated or unjustified; 

c. Failure to decline to carry out procedures that have been requested 
when the services are known to be outside of the hearing instrument 
specialist’s scope of practice; 
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d. Verbally or physically abusing patients; 
e. Falsification or unauthorized destruction of patient records; 
f. Attempting to provide diagnostic or treatment information to patient(s) 

that is beyond the hearing instrument specialist’s level of training and 
expertise;  

g. Delegating to other personnel those patient-related services when 
the clinical skills and expertise of a hearing instrument specialist is 
required; 

h. Failure to have evidence of a current otologic examination performed 
by a physician or a written statement signed by the patient and 
audiologist that states that the patient has been informed that s/he 
may have a medically or surgically remediable hearing loss and 
should seek the advice of a physician prior to initiation of any aural 
rehabilitation.  A copy of the statement must have been provided to 
the patient. 

i. Failure to meet the conditions for referral as follows: 
 

(1) Conditions for Referral:  Whenever any of the following 
conditions are found to exist either from observations by the 
credential holder or on the basis of information furnished by 
the prospective hearing instrument user, a credential holder 
must, prior to fitting or selling a hearing instrument to any 
individual, provide the prospective hearing instrument user 
with a written statement as outlined in 172 NAC 75-009.02, 
item 1, i (2); 

 
(a) Visible congenital or traumatic deformity of the ear;  
(b) History of, or active drainage from the ear within the 

previous 90 days;  
(c) History of sudden or rapidly progressive hearing loss 

within the previous 90 days; 
(d) Acute or chronic dizziness; 
(e) Unilateral hearing loss of sudden or recent onset 

within the previous 90 days; and/or 
(f)  Significant air-bone gap (when generally acceptable 

standards have been established). 
  

[1] For purposes of these regulations, a 
significant air-bone gap is defined as a 
difference of 15 decibels or more between the 
higher air conduction and the lower bone 
conduction pure tone thresholds at two or 
more succeeding octave frequencies of 500 
Hertz through and including 4000 Hertz.  

[2] Tests for significant air-bone gap must be 
performed in a suitable environment using 
appropriate equipment to establish threshold 
values and with appropriate masking 
procedures employed. 
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(2) Written statement:  If any of the conditions for referral are 

found upon examination by the hearing instrument specialist, 
the credential holder must provide the patient with a written 
statement that states that the patient has a condition(s) that 
would be best by consulting with a credentialed physician. 
The statement must be signed by the patient and the 
credential holder.  A copy of the statement must be provided 
to the patient and maintained in the credential holder’s files. 

 
2. Failure to exercise appropriate supervision over persons who are authorized 

to practice only under the supervision of the credentialed professional; and 
 
3. Refusal to cooperate or failure to furnish requested information during a 

licensing or disciplinary investigation by the Department. 
 
 
75-010  REINSTATEMENT:  This section applies to individuals previously credentialed in Nebraska 
who seek the authority to return to practice in Nebraska with a valid Nebraska credential.  Individuals 
may apply for reinstatement as follows: 
 

1. An individual whose credential has expired, been placed on inactive status, 
voluntarily surrendered for an indefinite period of time, or suspended or limited for 
disciplinary reasons, may apply for reinstatement at any time. 

2. An individual whose credential has been voluntarily surrendered for a definite period 
of time may apply for reinstatement after that period of time has elapsed. 

3. An individual whose credential has been revoked may apply for reinstatement only 
after a period of two years has elapsed from the date of revocation. 

4. An individual whose credential has been permanently voluntarily surrendered may 
not apply for reinstatement. 

 
The voluntary surrender of a credential may be unrelated to disciplinary matters, or may be done to 
resolve a pending disciplinary matter, in lieu of disciplinary action, or in response to a notice of 
disciplinary action. 
 
 
75-011  FEES:  Fees referred to in these regulations are set out in 172 NAC 2, unless otherwise 
specified. 
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TITLE 172        PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 75       PRACTICE OF HEARING AID INSTRUMENT DISPENSERS AND FITTERS 
  
75-001  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY: 
These regulations are intended to implement the laws governing the practice of hearing aid 
instrument dispensers and fitters and set forth the procedures for licensing pursuant to Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §§71-4701 to 71-4719 and 71-110, 71-147 to 71-161.19, and the Uniform Licensing Law. 
 
75-002  DEFINITIONS. 
 
Accredited High School means a secondary school accredited by a regional accrediting institution. 
 
Act means Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-4701 to §71-4719, known as the Statutes relating to Hearing Aid 
Instrument Dispensers and Fitters.                                                                                                     
 
Attest/Attestation means that the individual declares that all statements on the application/petition 
are true and complete. 
                               

Board  means the Board of Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensers and Fitters. 
 
Continuing Education means the offering of instruction or information to licensees for the purpose of 
maintaining skills necessary to the safe and competent practice of Hearing Aid Instrument 
Dispensers and Fitters.  The continuing education may be offered under such names as "scientific 
school", "clinic", "forum", "lecture", "course of study", or "educational seminar".  In order for 
continuing education to be recognized/count for licensure renewal, it must be approved by the    
Board. 

 
Department means the Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and Licensure. 
 
Director means the Director of Regulation and Licensure or the Chief Medical Officer if one has 
been appointed pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-3201, for performance of the duties set out in that 
statute.  

 
Hearing Aid means any wearable instrument or device designed for or offered for the purpose of 
aiding or compensating for impaired human hearing and any parts, attachments, or accessories, 
including earmold, but excluding batteries and cords.  A hearing aid will also be known as a hearing 
instrument. 
 
Inactive License means the voluntary termination of the right or privilege to practice as a hearing aid 
instrument dispenser and fitter.  The licensee retains the right or privilege to represent 
himself/herself as having an inactive license. 
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Initial Training means the first 90 days of training commencing from issuance of the temporary 
license. 
 
Lapsed License means the voluntary termination of the right or privilege to represent oneself as a 
licensed person and to practice as a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter. 
 
License means a license issued by the state pursuant to  Neb. Rev. Stat. §§71-4701 to 71-4719 to 
hearing aid instrument dispensers and fitters. 
 
Licensure Examination means the International Hearing Institute’s Written Comprehensive   
Examination and the Nebraska Practical Examination administered by the Department. 
 
Modified Nedelsky Method means a method of determining the passing score based on the 
aggregate information obtained by having judges predict the response behavior of minimally 
competent examinees on each option (distractor) of each multiple choice test item. 
Source: Linn, Robert L.  (Ed) 1989.  Educational Measurement, Third Edition.  Washington, D.C.: 
National Council on Measurement in Education and American Council in Education. 
 
NAC means the Nebraska Administrative Code, the system for classifying State agency rules and 
regulations.  These regulations are 172 NAC 75. 
 
Official means issued by and under the original seal of the educational institution. 

 
Practice of Fitting Hearing Aids means the measurement of human hearing by means of an 
audiometer or by other means approved by the board solely for the purpose of making selections, 
adaptations, or sale of hearing aids.  The term also includes the making of impressions for 
earmolds.  A dispenser, at the request of a physician or a member of related professions, may make 
audiograms for the professional's use in consultation with the hard-of-hearing. 
 
Provider means an individual or sponsoring organization that presents continuing education 
programs to licensees and requests approval from the Board for those programs. 

 
Sell, Sale, or Dispense means any transfer of title or of the right to use by lease, bailment, or any 
other contract, excluding (a) wholesale transactions with distributors or dispensers and (b) 
distribution of hearing aids by nonprofit service organizations at no cost to the recipient for the 
hearing aid. 
 
Supervision means the process by which the quality of work of a temporary licensee is monitored. 
The supervision includes training and guidance in order to prepare the temporary licensee to 
perform the correct procedures for fitting and selling hearing aid instruments.  During the first 90 
days of initial training and guidance, the supervisor must be physically present, at least twice 
monthly, while the temporary licensee is carrying out assigned duties. 
 
Temporary License means a license issued while the applicant is in training to become a licensed 
hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter. 
 
Verified means sworn to before a Notary Public. 



Effective Date NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 172 NAC 75 
September 22, 2004 REGULATION AND LICENSURE 

13 

 
 
75-003  REQUIREMENTS FOR ISSUANCE OF LICENSE AND TEMPORARY LICENSE:  Any 
person who wishes to practice as a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter must obtain a license 
or temporary license.  The criteria for issuance of licenses and temporary licenses, and the 
documentation required by the Department and the Board are set forth below. 
 

75-003.01 License Based on Examination:  An applicant for a license to practice as a 
hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter on the basis of an examination must: 

 
1. Be at least 21 years of age; 
2. Be of good moral character; 
3. Have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high 

school; 
  4. Be free of contagious or infectious disease; 

5. Have passed the licensure examination with passing scores pursuant to 172 
NAC 75-006; and 

6. Submit to the Department: 
 
a. Evidence of having obtained at least 21 years of age; 
b. An official transcript showing completion of a four-year course of   

study from an accredited high school; or 
c. An official copy of a diploma or certificate from an accredited high 

school;  
d. Official documentation of passing the licensure examination;  
e. A complete application, on a form provided by the Department, a 

copy of which is attached as Attachment A and incorporated in these 
regulations.  Only applications which are complete will be considered; 

f. A statement of good health, on a form provided by the Department, a 
copy of which is attached as Attachment  A1 and incorporated into 
these regulations; 

g. The required licensure fee; and 
                    h.  Attestation by the applicant: 

 
(1) That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska prior to the application 

for a license; or 
(2) To the actual number of days practiced in Nebraska prior to the 

application for a license. 
 

7. The Department will act within 150 days upon all completed applications for 
licensure. 

 
8. When a license will expire within 180 days after its initial issuance date, the 

Department will collect $38.50 and any other applicable fees, and the license 
will be valid until the next subsequent renewal date. 

 
  9.     Administrative Penalty/Other Action:  An individual who practices prior to   

issuance of a license, is subject to an assessment of an administrative 
penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015, or such other action as provided in the  
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   statutes and regulations governing the license. 

 
75-003.02 License Based On A License Issued In Another Jurisdiction:  An applicant for a 
license to practice as a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter on the basis of a license 
in another jurisdiction must: 

 
1. Provide documentation that the standards regulating the practice of hearing 

aid instrument dispensing and fitting in the other jurisdiction are equivalent to 
those maintained in Nebraska; 

 
2. Provide documentation that his/her license was based on a written 

examination equivalent to the Nebraska examination, the grades given at  
the examination, and the date the license was issued; 

 
3. Provide documentation that s/he is free of contagious or infectious disease;  
 
4. Have attained 21 years of age; and 

 
5. Submit to the Department: 

 
a. A complete application on a form provided by the Department, a copy 

of which is attached as Attachment A, and incorporated in these 
regulations.  Only applications which are complete will be considered; 

b. A statement of good health, on a form provided by the Department, a 
copy of which is attached as Attachment A1 and incorporated into 
these regulations; 

c. Evidence of having attained at least 21years of age;  
d. The required licensure fee; and 
e. Have the licensing or certifying agency submit to the Department: 

 
(1) A certification that the applicant is duly licensed or certified, 

that his/her license or certificate has never been suspended 
or revoked, and that so far as the record of the agency is 
concerned, the applicant is entitled to its endorsement on a 
form provided by the Department, a copy of which is attached 
as Attachment A2 and incorporated into these regulations; 

(2) The nature of disciplinary actions, if any, taken against the 
applicant's license or certificate; 

(3) The date of the applicant's license or certificate;  
(4) The name of the examination on which licensure or 

certification was based;  
(5) The score attained on the examination; and 
(6) Documentation of the requirements for licensure or 

certification in the other jurisdiction which are currently in 
effect and which were in effect at the time the license or 
certification was issued; 
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     f.     Attestation by the applicant: 
 
       (1)   That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska prior to the application for   

a license; or 
       (2)   To the actual number of days practiced in Nebraska prior to the     

application for a license. 
    

6. The Board will review the documents submitted to determine if the 
applicant's license or certificate issued by the other jurisdiction was based 
upon standards which are equal to those maintained by hearing aid 
Instrument dispensers and fitters by Nebraska. 

 
7. The Department will act within 150 days upon all completed applications for  

licensure. 
 
8. When a license will expire within 180 days after its initial issuance date, the 

Department will collect $38.50 and any other applicable fees, and the license 
will be valid until the next subsequent renewal date. 

 
9.    Administrative Penalty/Other Action:  An individual who practices prior to    

issuance of a license, is subject to an assessment of an administrative  
    penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015, or such other action as provided in the   
         statutes and regulations governing the license. 
 

75-003.03  Temporary License Requirements:  A temporary license may be issued to an 
applicant who has met all requirements for licensure pursuant to 172 NAC 75-003.01 except 
passing the licensure examination.  Previous experience or a waiting period is not required 
to obtain a temporary license.   

 
75-003.03A  An applicant for a temporary license must submit to the Department: 
 

1. An official copy of a transcript showing completion of a four-year 
course of study from an accredited high school; or 

 
2. An official copy of a diploma or certificate from an accredited high 

school; and 
 

3. Evidence of having attained at least 21years of age; 
 

4. A complete application, on a form provided by the Department and 
attached as Attachment B and incorporated in these regulations.  
Only applications which are complete will be considered;  

   
   5. A statement of good health on a form provided by the Department, a 

copy of which is attached as Attachment A1 and incorporated into 
these regulations; and 
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6. The required temporary licensure fee. 

 
      7.         Attestation by the applicant: 

 
(a)    That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska prior to the application 

   for a license; or 
(b)    To the actual number of days practiced in Nebraska prior to the 

   application for a license. 
 

8. The Department will act within 150 days upon all completed 
applications for licensure. 

 
75-003.03B  Expiration of a Temporary License:  All temporary licenses will become 
null and void upon the Department’s notification that the temporary licensee has 
passed the examination or a year from the issuance date, whichever comes first.  A  
temporary license may be renewed pursuant to the requirements of 172 NAC 75-
010.  

  
75-003.03C  Standards for Supervision:  Any person who practices as a temporary 
hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter must be supervised by a licensed hearing 
aid instrument dispenser and fitter. 

 
75-003.03C1  The supervisor must meet with the temporary licensee face to 
face twice a month during the first 90 days of the initial training session, 
which will commence upon the issuance of the temporary license.  
Thereafter, the supervisor must meet with the temporary licensee monthly to 
evaluate the temporary licensee’s performance in the following areas:  

 
1. Audiometric evaluations; 
2. Impressions; 
3. Purchase agreements; 
4. Instrument orders; 
5. Hearing instrument fittings; and 
6. Consultation advice and training. 

 
75-003.03C2  The supervisor must train the temporary licensee in the 
following areas during the initial 90 day training period: 

 
1. Basic physics of sound; 

   2. The anatomy and physiology of the ear; 
   3. The function of hearing aids; 
   4. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction testing and 

bone conduction testing; 
   5. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry; 
   6. Masking; 
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7. Recording and evaluation of audiograms and speech 
audiometry to determine proper selection and adaptation of a 
hearing aid; and  

   8. Taking earmold impressions. 
   

75-003.03C3  The supervisor of a person who holds a temporary license 
must immediately notify the Department when supervision of the temporary 
licensee is terminated. 

 
75-003.03C4  Upon completion of the initial training pursuant to 172 NAC 75-
003.03C2, the supervisor must document the training on a form provided by 
the Department and referenced in these regulations as Attachment P. 

 
75-004  EXAMINATION ELIGIBILITY 
 

75-004.01  To be eligible to take the licensure examination administered by the Department, 
an applicant must have met all the requirements for licensure pursuant to 172 NAC 75-
003.01 except passage of such examination.   
 
75-004.02  To take the examination administered by the Department, an applicant must 
submit a complete application form and fee to the Department.  Submit this form at least 30 
days prior to the administration of the examination.  A copy of the form is attached as 
Attachment A and incorporated in these regulations. 

 
75-005  EXAMINATION PROCEDURES 
 

75-005.01  The examination will be administered by the Department in February, May, and 
October of each year, and the applicant will be notified of the date, time, place, and other 
information pertinent to administration of the examination. 

 
75-005.02  The Department will notify the applicant in writing of examination results from six 
to ten weeks after the administration of the examination. 

 
75-006  EXAMINATION PASSING SCORE:  To receive a license each examinee must pass the 
written comprehensive examination and the practical examination.  

 
75-006.01 The passing score for the written comprehensive examination is determined by 
using the Modified Nedelsky Method.  

 
75-006.02  The practical examination passing scores must be at least 70 in each subject 
examined. 

 
75-007  REEXAMINATION:  An examinee who fails the written comprehensive or practical 
examination may retake the examinations pursuant to the requirements as set forth below. 
 

75-007.01  Written Comprehensive Examination 
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1. An examinee who fails the written comprehensive examination must retake 
the entire examination. 

 
2. The examinee will be entitled to take the next regularly scheduled 

examination. 
 

3. The examinee must submit to the Department: 
 

a. A complete application, on a form provided by the Department, a 
copy of which is attached as Attachment A and incorporated into 
these regulations; and  

 
b. The required licensure fee. 

 
75-007.02  Practical Examination 

 
1. An examinee who fails the practical examination with an overall average of 

less than 70 must retake the entire examination. 
 

2. An examinee who fails the practical examination in one or two subjects with 
an overall average of 70 or above must retake those sections failed. 

 
3. An examinee who fails the practical examination in more than two subjects 

with an overall average of 70 or above must retake the entire examination. 
 

4. The examinee will be entitled to take the next regularly scheduled 
    examination. 
 

5. The examinee must submit to the Department: 
 

a. A complete application, on a form provided by the Department, a 
copy of which is attached as Attachment A and incorporated into 
these regulations; and  

 
b. The required licensure fee. 

 
75-008  CONTINUING  COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS  
 

75-008.01  General Requirements for License:  On or before December 31 of each 
even-numbered year, each hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter who is in active 
practice in the State of Nebraska must: 

 
1. Complete 24 hours of approved continuing education during the preceding 

24 month period. No more hours than the total number of approved hours 
offered in Nebraska will be required during this period; 
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2. Be responsible for: 
 

a. Maintaining a record of attendance at continuing education programs; 
 

b. Verifying with the Department that the continuing education program 
is approved by the Board; 

 
c. Maintaining documentation of attendance at or presentation of 

approved continuing education programs.  Subject matter acceptable 
for continuing education credit is described as follows: 

 
(1) Approved programs at State and National Meetings, i.e., 

Nebraska Hearing Aid Society and/or the National Hearing 
Aid Society.   

 
(a) One hour credit awarded for each hour attended. 

 
(2) Formal education courses which relate directly to the practice 

of hearing aid instrument dispensing and fitting. 
 

(a) One hour credit awarded for each hour of attendance; 
 
(3) University sponsored courses in continuing education. 

 
(a) One hour credit awarded for each hour of attendance. 

 
(4) Any other types of activity that may be approved by the Board 

may include but are not limited to: human relations, 
governmental regulations and third party reimbursement; 
 
(a) One hour credit awarded for each hour of  

attendance. 
 

(5) Licensee acting as essayist, or lecturer to licensed hearing 
aid instrument dispensers and fitters; 

 
(a) One hour credit awarded for each hour of scientific 

presentation; 
 
(6) Formal self study where the content of the self study activity 

relates to the practice of hearing aid instrument dispensing 
and fitting whether the subject is research, treatment, 
documentation, education, or management, e.g. videotapes, 
internet courses, and correspondence courses. Licensees 
may complete a maximum of 6 hours of continuing education 
by self-study each 24 month renewal period.  The self-study 
program must have a testing mechanism.  A licensee’s  
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documentation must include a certificate of completion, and a 
program outline and/or objectives; 

 
(a)     One hour credit awarded for each two hours of      

study. 
 

 (7)   Business, management and marketing courses which   
pertain  

    to the practice of hearing aid instrument dispensing and 
fitting.  

                     Licensees may complete a maximum of eight hours of  
                     continuing education utilizing these courses each 24 month  
                     renewal period.   A licensee’s documentation must include a  
                     certificate of attendance and a program outline and/or  
                     objectives; 

    
(a)     One hour credit awarded for each hour attended. 

 
d. Maintaining documentation of presentation of an approved continuing 

education program.  A presenter may receive credit for only the initial 
presentation during a renewal period.  Credit will not be given for 
subsequent presentations of the same program; and 

 
e. If applicable, submit an application for waiver of the continuing 

education requirement pursuant to 172 NAC 75-008.03. 
 

75-008.02  Approval of Continuing Education Programs 
 

75-008.02A  The Board will evaluate applications from providers of continuing 
education programs in order to determine if approval is to be granted or denied.  To 
be approved, a continuing education program must meet the following criteria: 

 
1. The program must be at least 60 minutes in duration; 

  
2. The program's objectives must relate directly to the theory or clinical 

application of theory pertaining to the practice of hearing aid 
instrument dispensing and fitting; 

 
3. The presenter of the program must be qualified by education,         

experience, or training; and 
 

4. Programs must be open to all hearing aid instrument dispensers  
            and fitters licensed in Nebraska. 

 
75-008.02B  The provider must submit to the Board an application on a form 
provided by the Department, a copy of which is attached as Attachment C and 
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incorporated into these regulations.  Only applications which are complete will be 
considered.  The following information must be included in the application: 

 
 
 

1. A description in detail of program content; 
 

2.  Program objectives; 
 

3. A description of the qualifications of each presenter; 
 

4. The number of hours for which approval is requested; 
 

5. The name, address, and telephone number of the provider and its 
administrator or operating officer; 

 
6. A description of the process the provider uses to verify attendance by 

the licensee; 
 

7. A sample copy of the documentation the provider issues to the 
licensee as proof of attendance at the program; and 

 
8. Date, time and place of program; and 
 
9. The type of program that is being provided pursuant to 175 NAC 75-

008.01, item 2.c. 
 

75-008.02C  The provider may submit such additional documents or information as 
the applicant may consider relevant to the application and compliance with the 
provisions of these regulations. 

 
75-008.02D  The provider must submit a complete application to the Department at 
least 45 days prior to the date on which the program is to be given to gain approval 
before the program is presented. 

 
75-008.02E  Once a provider is granted approval by the Board for a continuing 
education program, reapproval will not be required for each subsequent  
occasion on which the program is administered so long as the program is not 
changed.  If any portion of the program is changed, reapplication must be made  
pursuant to 172 NAC 75-008.02B. 
 
75-008.02F Post-Program Approval:  Applications for approval of a continuing 
education program made after the program has occurred must be submitted within 
60 days after the date of the program, except those applications for approval 
submitted 60days or less before December 31, of each even-numbered year will not 
be considered for approval for the renewal period. 

 
75-008.02G  After the Board has granted its written approval of the application, the 
provider is entitled to state upon any publication which advertises or announces the  
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program, the following statement:  "This program is approved for ___ hours of 
continuing education by the Nebraska Board of Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensers 
and Fitters." 

 
 
 

75-008.02H  The Board  will grant approval for continuing education programs that 
meet the criteria  pursuant to 172 NAC 75-008.02A when such is offered by a state 
or national professional association.  These include, but are not limited to: The 
National Hearing Aid Society and Nebraska Hearing Aid Society. 

 
75-008.02I Grounds for Denial of Continuing Education Programs:   The Department 
will deny an application for approval of a continuing education program on any of the 
following grounds: 

 
1. Fraud or misrepresentation of information in an application; 

 
2. Program content or the presenter's qualifications fail to meet 

requirements pursuant to 172 NAC 75-008.02.  The Board will not 
approve the following types of continuing education programs 
including, but not limited to: personal development, time      
management, child abuse, professional affairs, administration, 
collective bargaining, tours, and supervision; or 

 
3. If the program's objectives do not relate to the theory or clinical 

application of theory pertaining to the practice of hearing aid 
instrument dispensing and fitting. 

 
4.      The Board may grant or deny an application for approval of continuing  

education programs.   Should the Board determine to deny an 
application approval of a continuing education program, it will  
send to the applicant by either certified or registered mail to the 
last address of record in the Department or as otherwise known, a 
notice setting forth the reasons for the determination. The denial  
will become final 30 days after the mailing of the notice unless the 
applicant within the 30 day period, gives written notice to the 
Department of a desire for hearing. The hearing will be conducted 
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920, the 
Administrative Procedure Act and 184 NAC 1 of the Rules of 
Practice and Procedure for the Department. 

 
5. Only applications which are complete will be considered.  To be 

complete, an application must include: 
 

a. All of the information requested on a verified complete 
application for approval of continuing education program on a 
form provided by the Department, a copy of which is attached 
hereto as Attachment C, and incorporated in these 
regulations; and 
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b. The signature of the licensee or administrator or operating 

officer of the provider making the application. 
 
 
 

6. An applicant may submit such additional documents or information as 
the applicant may consider relevant to the application and in 
compliance with the Act and these regulations. 

 
7. In the event that an application is determined to be incomplete, the 

Department will notify the applicant of the information necessary to 
complete the application and retain the application submitted pending 
receipt of such additional information.  The applicant will have ten 
days in which to provide the information necessary to complete the 
application.  Should an applicant fail to complete the application 
within the ten day period, all materials will be returned and a new 
application will be necessary. 

 
75-008.03 Waiver of Continuing Competency Requirement: The Department, on the 
recommendation of the Board, may waive the continuing competency requirements, in whole 
or in part, for any two-year license or for the period of time since the license was last issued 
when a licensee submits documentation that circumstances beyond his/her control 
prevented him/her from completing the requirements. 

 
75-008.03A  The circumstances include situations in which: 

 
1. The licensee holds a Nebraska license but is not practicing his/her 

profession in Nebraska; 
2. The licensee has served in the regular armed forces of the United 

States during part of the 24months immediately preceding the license 
renewal date; 

3. The licensee has submitted proof that s/he was suffering from a 
serious or disabling illness or physical disability which prevented 
completion of the required number of continuing education hours 
during the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal 
date; and 

4. The licensee was first licensed within the 24 months   
    immediately preceding the license renewal date. 
 

75-008.03B Application:  Any licensee seeking waiver of continuing  competency 
requirements  must apply to the Board for a recommendation to the Department to 
waive continuing competency.  This application must be made on Attachment D, and 
it must be received by the Department on or before December 31 of the year the 
license is due to be renewed. 

                                      
75-008.03B1  The licensee must submit: 
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1. A complete application for waiver of continuing competency 
requirements on a form provided by the Department, a copy 
of which is attached hereto as Attachment D, and 
incorporated in these regulations.  Only applications which 
are complete will be considered, and the application must be  

 
 

received by the Department on or before December 31 of the 
year the license is due to be renewed; and 

 
2. Documentation of the circumstances beyond the licensee's 

control which prevented completion of continuing competency 
requirements pursuant to 172 NAC 75-008.03A must include 
the following: 
 
a. If the licensee holds a Nebraska license but is not 

practicing in Nebraska, s/he must mark the 
appropriate response in Section C of Attachment D. 

 
b.       If the licensee has served in the regular armed forces 

      of the United States during part of the 24 months        
   immediately preceding the license renewal date, s/he    
   must mark the appropriate response in Section C of       
Attachment D and submit official documentation            
stating the dates of  the service. 

 
c. If the licensee suffered from a serious or disabling 

illness or physical disability which prevented 
completion of the of continuing competency 
requirements during the 24months immediately 
preceding the license renewal date, s/he must mark 
the appropriate response in Section C of Attachment 
D and submit a statement from a treating physician(s) 
stating that the licensee was injured or ill, the duration 
of the illness or injury and of the recovery period, and 
that the licensee was unable to obtain continuing  
competency requirements during that period. 

 
d. If the licensee was first licensed within the 24months 

immediately preceding the license renewal date, s/he 
must mark the appropriate response in Section C of 
Attachment D and list the date the license was 
issued. 

 
75-008.03C  The Department, on recommendation of the Board, may grant or deny, 
in part or in total, an application for waiver of continuing competency requirements, 
upon proof that circumstances beyond the applicant's control prevented completion 
of  the requirements. 
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75-008.03C1  When the Department determines to deny an application for 
waiver of continuing competency requirements, it will send to the applicant by 
certified mail to the last name and address of record in the Department or as 
otherwise known, a notice setting forth the reason for the denial 
determination. 

 
 

75-008.03C1a  The applicant has 30 days from the date of receipt of 
the denial notice to make a written request to the Department for an 
appeal.  The appeal must be conducted pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§§ 84-901 to 84-920, the Administrative Procedure Act and 184 NAC 
1 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure for the Department. 

 
75-008.03C1b  The Department will issue at the conclusion of the 
appeal pursuant to 184 NAC 1, a final order setting forth the results 
of the appeal. 

  
75-008.03C2  When the Department determines to grant a waiver of 
continuing competency requirements, the applicant will be notified within 
30days of receipt of the application. 

 
75-008.04 Audit of Continuing Competency Requirements: The Board may select, in a 
random manner, a sample of the license renewal applications for audit of continuing 
competency requirements.  Each licensee is responsible for maintaining in his/her own 
personal files the certificates or records of credit from continuing education activities 
received from providers.  Licensees selected for audit must produce documentation of their 
attendance at those continuing education activities attested to on their renewal applications. 

 
75-008.04A  The Department will send to each licensee selected for audit a notice of 
audit. 

 
75-008.04B  When selected for audit, the licensee must provide satisfactory 
documentation of attendance at or participation in approved continuing education 
activities. 

 
75-008.04C  Failure to comply with the audit may result in non-renewal of the 
license. 

 
75-009  PROCEDURES FOR RENEWAL OF LICENSE:  All initial licenses issued by the 
Department under the Act and these regulations expire on December 31 of each even-numbered 
year. 
                                                                           

75-009.01  Renewal  Process:  Any licensee who wishes to renew his/her license must: 
 

1. Meet continuing competency requirements pursuant to 172 NAC 75-008; 
2. Pay the renewal fee  pursuant to 172 NAC 75-014; and 
3.  Respond to the following questions: 
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 a. Has your license in any health care profession in another state been   
                      revoked, suspended, limited, or disciplined in any manner? 

b. Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony? 
 
 
 
 
 
These questions related to the time period since the last renewal of the 
license or during the time period since initial licensure in Nebraska if such 
occurred within the two years prior to the expiration date. 

    
4. Cause to be submitted to the Department: 

 
a. The renewal notice; 
b. The renewal fee; and 
c. Attestation of completing 24 hours of continuing education earned 

within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver 
of continuing competency requirements. Attestation to meeting 
continuing competency requirements satisfies the submission of the 
documentation requirement of Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-110; 

d. If any disciplinary action was taken against the applicant’s license by 
another state, an official copy of the disciplinary action, including 
charges and disposition; 

e. If the licensee has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor: 
 

(1) Official Court Record, which includes charges and 
disposition; 

(2) Copies of arrest records; 
(3) A letter from the licensee explaining the nature of the 

conviction; 
(4) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of 

treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol 
related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or 
required; and 

(5) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary 
conditions and current status, if the applicant is currently on 
probation. 

 
75-009.02 First Notice:  At least thirty days before December 31 of each even-numbered 
year the Department will send a renewal notice by means of regular mail to each licensee at 
the licensee's last known address as noted in the records of the Department.  It is the 
responsibility of the licensee prior to the renewal period to notify the Department of any 
name and/or address changes. 

 
75-009.02A  The renewal notice must specify: 

 
1. The name of the licensee; 
2. The licensee's last known address of record; 
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3. The license number; 
4. The expiration date of the license; 
5. The renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 75-014;  
6. The number of continuing education hours required for renewal; and 
7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. 

 
75-009.02B  The licensee will apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 
  
 
 
 1. The renewal notice; 
 2. The renewal fee; 

3. The licensee’s Social Security Number; 
4. Attestation of completing 24 hours of continuing education earned 

within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver 
of continuing competency requirements; and 

5.       Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or       
 licensure revocation, suspension, limitation, or disciplinary action (if       
applicable). 

 
75-009.02C If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or 
lapsed status s/he must: 

 
1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by  

submitting to the Department: 
 

a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; 
and 

b. The fee of  $25 or 
 

2. Request that his/her license be placed on lapsed status by submitting 
to the Department: 

 
a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 

 
75-009.02D  The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or 
denial of the request to allow the license to be placed on lapsed or inactive status. 

 
75-009.03 Second Notice:  The Department  will send to each licensee who fails to renew 
his/her license or place such license on inactive or lapsed status in response to the first 
notice, a second notice of renewal  pursuant to the requirements of 172 NAC 75-009.02 that 
specifies: 

 
1. That the licensee failed to pay the renewal fee; 
2. That the license has expired; 

   3.     That the licensee is subject to an administrative penalty under 172 NAC 75-
015 if s/he practices after the expiration date; 
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4. That upon receipt of the renewal fee, together with an additional fee of $25, 
and documentation of continuing competency requirements within that time, 
no order of revocation will be entered; and 

5. That upon failure to receive $25 in addition to the regular renewal fee, and 
documentation of continuing competency requirements, the license will be 
revoked pursuant to 172 NAC 75-011. 
 

 75-009.04  The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 
 

1. The renewal notice; 
 
 

2.       The renewal fee and the additional late fee of $25; 
3. The licensee’s Social Security Number; 
4. Attestation by the licensee: 

(a) That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since the expiration of      
             his/her license; or 

         (b) To the actual number of days practiced in Nebraska since the        
                         expiration of his/her license. 
5. Attestation of completing 24 hours of continuing education earned within 24 

months of the date of expiration or waiver of continuing competency 
requirements; and 

6.         Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure 
revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action (if applicable).  

  
75-009.05  If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status 
s/he must: 

 
1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the 

Department: 
 

a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and 
b. The fee of  $25; or 

 
2. Request that his/her license be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the 

Department: 
 

a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 
 

75-009.06  The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or denial of 
the request to allow the license to be placed on lapsed or inactive status.  

  
75-009.07  When any licensee fails, within 30 days of expiration of a license, to pay the 
renewal fee, to submit documentation of continuing competency requirements and/or to pay 
an additional fee of $25 the Department will automatically revoke the license without further 
notice or hearing and makes proper record of the revocation.  

                                                                       
75-009.08  Failure to meet the continuing competency requirement for renewal within  30 
days of expiration of his/her license will constitute non-renewal of license, unless a waiver of 
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continuing competency requirements is granted or the license is placed on inactive or lapsed 
status.  When any licensee fails, within 30 days of expiration of a license, to meet the 
continuing competency requirements for renewal, and/or to pay an additional late fee of $25, 
the Department will revoke the license after notice and opportunity for hearing.  Hearings  
held before the Department will be conducted pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-
920, the Administrative Procedure Act and 184 NAC 1, the Rules of Practice and Procedure 
for the Department. 
 
 
 
 
 
75-009.09  When the licensee has given notification to the Department that s/he desires to 
have the license lapse or be placed on inactive status upon expiration, 172 NAC 75-009.07 
and 009.08 will not apply. 
 
75-009.10  The Department may refuse to renew a license for falsification of any information 
submitted for renewal of a license.  The refusal will be made pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§§71-149 to 71-155 and 184 NAC 1, Rules of Practice and Procedure for the Department. 
 

    75-009.11  An individual who practices after expiration of his/her credential, is subject to      
assessment of an Administrative Penalty under 172 NAC 75-015, or such other action as     
provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential.   

 
75-010  RENEWAL/REISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY LICENSE:  The temporary license expires 12 
months from the date of issuance and may be renewed or reissued once for a 12 month period. 

 
75-010.01 Notice of Renewal  

 
75-010.01A  The Department will send a renewal notice, at least 30 days prior to the 
expiration date of licensure, to each temporary licensee who has not successfully 
completed the licensure examination.  It is the responsibility of the temporary 
licensee prior to the license expiration date to notify the Department of any additions 
or corrections. 

 
75-010.01A1  The renewal notice must specify: 

 
1. The name of the temporary licensee;  
2. The name of the temporary licensee's supervisor; 
3. The temporary licensee's last known address of record; 
4. The temporary licensee's license number; 
5. The expiration date of the license; and 
6. The temporary license renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 75-

014. 
 

75-010.01B  The temporary licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the 
Department: 

 
1. The renewal notice;  
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2. The renewal fee; 
3. The licensee’s Social Security Number; and 
4. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or 

licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action (if 
applicable). 

 
75-011  LICENSURE REVOCATION FOR FAILURE TO MEET RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS: 
The Department will automatically revoke a license to practice hearing aid instrument dispensing 
and fitting when the licensee fails to meet the renewal requirements within 30 days of its expiration. 
 
 
 

75-011.01 Revocation for Nonpayment of Renewal Fee 
 

75-011.01A  When a licensee fails to pay the required renewal fee, to submit 
documentation of continuing education, and/or to pay an additional fee of $25, or 
fails to request that his/her license be placed on either inactive or lapsed status 
within 30 days of its expiration, the Department will automatically revoke the license 
without further notice or hearing and will make proper record of the revocation.  

 
75-011.01A1  The revocation notice must specify: 

 
1. That the licensee was given a first and final notice of renewal 

requirements and the respective dates for these notices; 
2. That the licensee failed to renew the license or to have  

   his/her license placed on inactive or lapsed status; 
3. That the Department has revoked the license; 
4. That the licensee has a right to appeal the revocation; and 
5. That the licensee has a right to reinstatement of the license. 

 
75-011.02 Revocation for Failure to Meet Continuing  Competency Requirements 

 
75-011.02A  When a licensee fails within 30 days of the expiration of his/her license 
to meet the continuing competency requirement for licensure renewal the 
Department  will revoke his/her license after notice and opportunity for a hearing. 

                                           
75-011.02A1  The notice of failure to meet continuing competency 
requirements and opportunity for a hearing must specify that: 

 
1. The licensee was given first and second notice of failure to 

meet the continuing competency requirement and the 
respective dates of each notice; 

2. Licensee either failed to renew the license or have his/her 
license placed on inactive or lapsed status; 

3. The Department will revoke the license within 30 days of date 
of receipt of the notice unless the licensee requests in writing 
a hearing. 

4. The licensee has a right to appeal the revocation; and 
5. The licensee has a right to reinstatement of the license.  
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75-012  GROUNDS ON WHICH THE DEPARTMENT MAY DENY, REFUSE RENEWAL OF, OR  
DISCIPLINE A LICENSE 

 
75-012.01  The Department may deny an application for a license when the applicant fails to 
meet the requirements for licensure  pursuant to 172 NAC 75-003.  

 
75-012.02  The Department may refuse renewal of a license if the licensee fails to meet the 
requirements pursuant to 172 NAC 75-009 or 172 NAC 75-012.03. 

 
 
 

75-012.03  The Department may deny, refuse renewal of, limit, suspend, or revoke licenses 
for any of the following grounds: 

 
1. Fraud, forgery, or misrepresentation of material facts, in procuring or 

attempting to procure a license or certificate; 
 

2. Grossly immoral or dishonorable conduct evidencing unfitness or lack of 
proficiency sufficient to meet the standards required for practice of the 
profession in this state; 

 
3. Habitual intoxication or dependence or failure to comply with a treatment 

program or an aftercare program entered into under the Licensee Assistance 
Program established pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-172.01; 

 
4. Conviction of a misdemeanor or felony under state law, federal law, or the 

law of another jurisdiction and which, if committed within this state, would 
have constituted a misdemeanor or felony under state law and which has a  
rational connection with the applicant's or licensee's fitness or capacity to 
practice the profession; 

 
5. Practice of the profession (a) fraudulently, (b) beyond its authorized scope, 

(c) with manifest incapacity, (d) with gross incompetence or gross 
negligence, or (e) in a pattern of negligent conduct. Pattern of negligent 
conduct means a continued course of negligent conduct in performing the 
duties of the profession; 

 
6. Practice of the profession while the ability to practice is impaired by alcohol, 

controlled substances, narcotic drugs, physical disability, mental disability, or 
emotional disability; 

 
7. Physical or mental incapacity to practice the profession as evidenced by a 

legal adjudication or a determination thereof by other lawful means; 
 

8. Permitting, aiding, or abetting the practice of a profession or the performance 
of activities requiring a license or certificate by a person not licensed or 
certified to do so; 
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9. Having had his/her license denied, refused renewal, limited, suspended, or 
revoked, or having had such license disciplined in any other manner  
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-155 by another state or jurisdiction to 
practice Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensing and Fitting, based upon acts by 
the applicant or license holder similar to acts pursuant to 172 NAC 75-012. A 
certified copy of the record of denial, refusal of renewal, limitation, 
suspension. or revocation of a license or the taking of other disciplinary  
measures against it by another state or jurisdiction will be conclusive 
evidence; and 

 
 
 

10. Unprofessional conduct, which term includes all acts pursuant to Neb. Rev. 
Stat. § 71-148 and such other acts which include but are not limited to: 

 
a. Competence:  A hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter must not 

provide services for which s/he is not trained or experienced.  
Unprofessional conduct in the practice of Hearing Aid Instrument 
Dispensing and Fitting includes but is not limited to: 

 
(1) Committing any act which endangers patient safety or 

welfare; 
 

(2) Encouraging or promoting hearing aid instrument dispensing 
     and fitting by untrained or unqualified persons; or  
 

(3) Failure or departure from the standards of acceptable and 
prevailing practice in hearing aid instrument dispensing and 
fitting. 

 
b. Confidentiality:  A hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter must 

hold in confidence information obtained from a patient, except in  
those unusual circumstances in which to do so would result in clear 
danger to the person or to others, or where otherwise required by 
law.  Failure to do so constitutes unprofessional conduct. 

 
c. Professional Relationships:  A hearing aid instrument dispenser and 

fitter must safeguard the welfare of patients and maintain appropriate 
professional relationships with patients. Commission of any of the 
following acts or behavior constitutes unprofessional conduct: 

 
(1)  Improper use of another person for one’s own advantage; 

 
(2) Failure to decline to carry out hearing aid instrument 

dispensing and fitting services that have been requested 
when such services are known to be contraindicated or 
unjustified; 
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(3) Failure to decline to carry out procedures that have been 
requested when such services are know to be outside of the 
hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter’s scope of 
practice; 

 
(4)  Verbally or physically abusing patients; 

 
(5)  Falsification or unauthorized destruction of patient records; 
 
 
 
 
 
(6) Attempting to provide diagnostic or treatment information to 

patient(s) that is beyond the hearing aid instrument dispenser 
and fitter’s level of training and expertise; 

 
(7) Delegating to other personnel those patient related services 

     when the clinical skills and expertise of a hearing aid  
     instrument dispenser and fitter is required; or 

 
(8) Failure to conform to the ethics of the profession. 

 
d. Sexual Harassment:  A hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter 

must not under any circumstances engage in sexual harassment of 
patients or co-workers.  

 
(1) Sexual Harassment includes making unwelcome sexual 

advances, requesting sexual favors, and engaging in other 
verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature as a condition 
of: 

 
(a) The provision or denial of care to a patient; 

 
(b) The provision or denial of employment or   

      employment advances to a co-worker; 
 

(c) For the purpose or effect of creating an intimidating, 
hostile, or offensive environment for the patient or 
unreasonably interfering with the patient’s ability to 
recover; or 

 
(d) For the purpose or effect of creating an intimidating, 

hostile, or offensive environment or unreasonably  
interfering with the co-worker’s ability to perform 
his/her work. 
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e. Advertising:  To advertise in a manner that deceives, misleads, or 
defrauds the public. The following advertising practices will be 
considered to be deceptive: 

 
(1) To charge a fee for any hearing aid instrument dispenser and 

fitter service conducted within 24 hours after performing a 
hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter service that was 
advertised as being free; and  

 
(2) Obtaining any fee for professional services by fraud, deceit, 

     or misrepresentation. 
 
 
 
 

f. The violation of an assurance of compliance entered into pursuant to 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-171.02 of the Uniform Licensing Law; 

 
g. Failure to follow policies or procedures implemented in the practice 

    situation to safeguard patient care;  
 

h. Failure to safeguard the patient’s dignity and right to privacy; 
 

i. Failure to exercise appropriate supervision over persons who are 
authorized to practice only under the supervision of the licensed 
professional; 

 
j. Practicing hearing aid instrument dispensing and fitting in this state 

    without a current Nebraska license; 
 

k. Use of untruthful or improbable statements, or flamboyant, 
exaggerated, or extravagant claims concerning such licensee's 
professional excellence or abilities in advertisements; 

 
l. Conviction of fraudulent or misleading advertising or conviction of a 

violation of the Uniform Deceptive Trade Practices Act; 
 
m. Distribution of intoxicating liquors, controlled substances or drugs for 

any other than lawful purposes; 
 

n. Willful or repeated violations pursuant to 172 NAC 75-012; 
 

o. Unlawful invasion of the field of practice of any profession mentioned 
in the Uniform Licensing Law which the licensee is not licensed or 
certified to practice; 

 
p. Practicing as a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter while 

his/her license is suspended or in contravention of any limitations 
placed upon such license; 
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q. Physical or mental illness or physical or mental deterioration or 

disability which would render the applicant or licensee unqualified to 
practice his/her profession or occupation; 

   
r. Refusal of an applicant for a license or of a licensee to submit to a 

physical or mental examination request by the Board, pursuant to 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-161.12 to 71-161.16 to determine his/her 
qualifications to practice or to continue in the practice of the 
profession or occupation for which application was made or for which 
s/he is licensed; 

 
s. Failure to file a report pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-168; 

 
 

t. Fitting and selling a hearing aid without a signed waiver by the legal 
guardian to a child under the age of sixteen who has not been 
examined and cleared for hearing aid use within a six-month period 
by an otolaryngologist.  This subdivision does not apply to the 
replacement with an identical model of any hearing aid within one 
year of its purchase; 

 
u. Any other condition or acts which violate the Trade Practice Rules for 

the Hearing Aid Industry of the Federal Trade Commission or the 
Food and Drug Administration; 

 
v. Conducting business while suffering from a contagious or infectious 

disease; and 
 

w. Violating any provision of Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-4701 to 71-4719 of 
this act. 

 
75-012-04   If the Department proposes to deny, refuse renewal of, limit, revoke, or suspend 
a license other than for non-payment of the renewal fee, the applicant or licensee will  
be given an opportunity for a hearing before the Department and will have the right to 
present evidence on his/her own behalf.  Hearings before the Department will be  
conducted pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920, the Administrative Procedure 
Act and 184 NAC 1, the Rules of Practice and Procedure for the Department. 

 
75-013  RE-CREDENTIALING: This section applies to individuals previously issued a Nebraska 
credential who have lost the legal authority to practice in total or in part and who seek the authority 
to return to practice in Nebraska with a valid Nebraska credential. 
 
 75-013.01  Eligibility 
 
  75-013.01A  An individual whose credential has been previously: 
 
   1. Placed on lapsed status; 
   2. Placed on inactive status;  
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   3. Revoked for failure to meet the renewal requirements;  
4. Suspended or limited for disciplinary reasons; or 
5. Voluntarily surrendered or voluntarily limited for an indefinite period of time;  

may request, at any time, to be re-credentialed and re-authorized to 
practice under the credential, pursuant to these regulations.  

 
  75-013.01B  An individual whose credential has been revoked for disciplinary reasons 

may apply for reinstatement only after a period of two years has elapsed from the date 
of revocation. 

 
  75-013.01C  An individual who practices prior to re-credentialing, is subject to: 
 

1. Assessment of an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015; and 
 
 
2. Limitation or other sanction on the credential, or denial of the request to be 

re-credentialed and re-authorized to practice under the credential, and 
referral for prosecution for uncredentialed practice, as provided in the 
statutes and regulations governing the credential.  

 
75-013.02  Requirements for Restoration from Lapsed Status: A person whose credential 
has been placed on lapsed status may have their credential restored from lapsed to active 
status by the Department upon proof to the Department that they meet the requirements 
pursuant to 172 NAC 75-003.  
 
       75-013.02A  If the Department has evidence that an applicant has practiced while 

his/her credential was lapsed, the Department may:  
 

1. Assess an Administrative Penalty  pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015; 
2. Initiate disciplinary action against the lapsed credential;  
3. Deny the request to restore the credential from lapsed to active status; or 
4. Restore the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other 

sanctions on the credential.  
 

75-013.02B  If the Department has evidence that an applicant has committed any  
other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, the 
Department may: 
 

1. Initiate disciplinary action against the lapsed credential;  
2. Deny the request to restore the credential from lapsed to active status;  
  or 

  3. Restore the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other  
   sanctions on the credential. 
 
75-013.02C  The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications. 
 
75-013.02D  The applicant will be provided with notice and the opportunity for 
hearing pursuant to the Department’s Rules of Practice and Procedure and Neb. 
Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920 before any of the actions pursuant to 172 NAC 75-
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013.02A and 75-013.02B are final.  
 

 75-013.03  Requirements to Move a Credential from Inactive to Active Status:  A person 
whose credential has been placed on inactive status may have his/her credential moved from 
inactive to active status upon proof to the Department that they meet the following 
requirements: 

 
  1. Meet renewal requirements, including: 
   a. The continuing competency requirements; and 
   b. Paying the renewal fee and any other applicable fees; 
   
        2. Attest: 
 
 
 

a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active 
         credential; or 

    b. To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has practiced in 
Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.  

 
    75-013.04  Procedures for Moving from Inactive to Active Status:  To move a credential 
        from inactive status to active status, the applicant must submit the following to the  
    Department: 
 
  1. A written application which contains the following information about the applicant: 

a. Name;  
   b. Address;  
   c. Social Security Number; and 
   d. If the applicant holds a professional credential in another state, a list of the  
    state(s) and type of credential;    
          e. A statement describing all: 
           (1) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period since the  
     credential was active; 
     (a) If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor,  
      provide copies of:    
      [1] Official Court Record, which includes charges  
       and disposition; 
      [2] Arrest records; 
      [3] A letter from the applicant explaining the nature  
       of the conviction; 
      [4] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof  

      of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or  
      alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained  
                                                   and/or required; and  
     [5] A letter from the probation officer addressing 

probationary  
      conditions and current status, if the applicant is currently  
       on probation.   
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      (b)  Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions against 
any professional credential held by the applicant during the 
time period since the credential was active;  

      [1] If any disciplinary action was taken against the 
applicant’s credential by another state, submit an official 
copy of the  

       disciplinary action, including charges and disposition; 
and 

      (c) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional 
credential held by the applicant. 

   f. Attestation that the continuing competency requirements for renewal have  
    been met; 
  2. The renewal fee and any other applicable fees. 
  3. Attestation by applicant: 

a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active  
 credential; or 
 
 
 
b. To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has practiced in 

Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.  
 

 75-013.04A  If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was inactive, the  
 Department may: 
 

1. Assess an Administrative Penalty  pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015; 
2. Initiate disciplinary action against the credential;  
3. Deny the request to move the credential from inactive to active status; or  
4. Move the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other sanctions 

on the credential.  
 

75-013.04B  If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and 
regulations governing the credential, the Department may: 

 
1. Initiate disciplinary action against the credential;  
2. Deny the request to move the credential from inactive to active status; or  

        3. Move the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other  
    sanctions on the credential. 
 

75-013.04C  In either event pursuant to 172 NAC 75-010.04A or 75-010.04B, a  
notice and the opportunity for hearing will be given to the applicant. 

 
75-013.04D  The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications. 

 
 75-013.05  Requirements for Reinstatement Within One Year Following Revocation for Failure 

to Meet the Renewal Requirements:  An applicant for reinstatement who applies not more 
than one year following revocation for failure to meet renewal requirements must: 

 
  1. Meet the renewal requirements, including: 
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   a. The continuing competency requirements; and 
   b. Paying the renewal fee, the late fee of $35 and any other applicable  
    fees; 
  2. Attest: 
    a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active      

  credential; or 
    b. To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has practiced in    

  Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.   
 
 75-013.06  Procedures for Reinstatement Within One Year Following Revocation for Failure to 

Meet the Renewal Requirements: To reinstate a credential not more than one year following 
revocation for failure to meet renewal requirements, the applicant must submit the following to 
the Department:  

 
  1.  A written application which contains the following information about the 

applicant: 
   (1) Name;  
  
 
   (2) Address;  
   (3) Social Security Number; and 
   (4) If the applicant holds a professional credential in another  
    state, a list of the state(s) and type of credential; 
    (5)  A statement describing all: 
    (a) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period since  
     the credential was active;  
     [1] If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or  
      misdemeanor, provide copies of:   
      [a] Official Court Record, which includes charges  
       and disposition; 
      [b] Arrest records; 
      [c] A letter from the applicant explaining the nature  
       of the conviction; 
      [d] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof  

      of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or 
      alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained  
      and/or required; and  
     [e] A letter from the probation officer addressing  
      probationary conditions and current status, if the  
      applicant is currently on probation.   

    (b) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions against  
     any professional credential held by the applicant  
     during the time period since the credential was revoked;  
     [1] If any disciplinary action was taken against the  

     applicant’s credential by another state, submit an official  
     copy of the disciplinary action, including charges and  
     disposition; and 

    (c) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional  
     credential held by the applicant. 
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   (6) Attestation that the continuing competency requirements for renewal  
    have been met; 
  2. The renewal fee, the late fee of $35 and any other applicable fees. 
  3. Attestation by the applicant: 
   a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active              

 credential; or  
b. To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has practiced in 

Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.  
(1) If an applicant has practiced after his/her credential was revoked  

 the Department may assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172    
 NAC 75-015 in which case a notice and opportunity for hearing will be      
 sent to the applicant.  

(2) If an applicant has practiced after his/her credential was revoked,  
 or has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations          
 governing the credential, other action may be taken pursuant to 172 NAC 
 75-013.06B below. 

 
 
 

The Department will forward the application to the Board for its recommendation pursuant 
to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-110 (5). 

 
  75-013.06A  The Board’s recommendation to the Department may be to:  
 
   1. Reinstate the credential;  
   2. Reinstate the credential with terms, conditions or restrictions; or  
   3. Deny reinstatement.  
 
  75-013.06B  Upon receipt of the Board’s recommendation, the Department will, within 
  150 days, send to the applicant a written notice of the Department's response. The  
  Department may: 
 

1. Reinstate the credential:  An Administrative Penalty may be assessed 
pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015 if warranted;  

2. If the Department determines that the applicant has committed acts or 
offenses prohibited by Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-147 or 71-148, the Department 
may:  

 
   a.    Reinstate the credential with terms, conditions or restrictions: In such case 

the applicant will be provided notice and the opportunity for hearing before 
the Department pursuant to the Department’s Rules of Practice and 
Procedure and Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920. An Administrative 
Penalty may be assessed pursuant to to172 NAC 75-015 if warranted; or 

 
b.    Deny reinstatement: In such case the applicant will be provided notice and 

the opportunity for hearing before the Department pursuant to the 
Department’s Rules of Practice and Procedure and Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-
901 to 84-920.  
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 75-013.07  Requirements for Reinstatement More Than One Year Following Revocation for 
Failure to Meet the Renewal Requirements:  An applicant for reinstatement who applies more 
than one year after revocation for failure to meet the renewal requirements must:  

 
  1. Petition the Board for reinstatement pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-161.05. The 

petition for reinstatement must be accompanied by: 
 
a. Verified recommendations from at least two credentialed  practitioners of 

the same profession as the petitioner each having personal knowledge of 
the activities of the petitioner since the credential was revoked; and 

  
b. Verified recommendations from at least two citizens each having personal 

knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was 
revoked.  

 
  2. Meet the renewal requirements, including: 
   a. The continuing competency requirements; and 
 
 
   b. Paying the renewal fee, the late fee of $75 and any other applicable fees. 
 
       3. Attest: 
    a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active 

credential; or 
    b. To the actual number of days practiced if the petitioner has practiced in 

Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.    
  
 75-013.08  Procedures for Reinstatement More Than One Year Following Revocation for 

Failure to Meet Renewal Requirements:  An applicant for reinstatement more than one year 
following revocation for failure to meet renewal requirements must submit to the Board: 

 
  1.      A petition for reinstatement: 

   a. Stating the reason the petitioner believes his/her credential should be 
reinstated;  

   b. Accompanied by verified recommendations from at least two credentialed 
practitioners of the same profession as the petitioner each having personal 
knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was 
revoked; and verified recommendations from at least two citizens each 
having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the 
credential was revoked. 

   c. Containing the following information about the petitioner: 
    (1)     Name; 
    (2)     Address; 
    (3)     Social Security Number; and 
    (4)     If the petitioner holds a professional credential in another state, a list 

of the state(s) and type of credential; 
      (5)    A statement describing all: 

(a) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period 
since the credential was active;  
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      [1] If the petitioner has been convicted of a felony or 
misdemeanor, provide copies of:    

       [a] Official Court Record, which includes charges  
        and disposition; 
       [b] Arrest records; 
       [c] A letter from the petitioner explaining the nature of  
        the conviction; 
       [d] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof

 of  
        treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or  
        alcohol related offense and if treatment was  
        obtained and/or required; and  

  [e] A letter from the probation officer addressing  
probationary conditions and current status, if the  
petitioner is currently on probation. 

     (b) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions against 
any professional credential held by the petitioner during the 
time period since the credential was revoked;  

      
 
      [1] If any disciplinary action was taken against the 

petitioner’s credential by another state, submit an official 
copy of the disciplinary action, including charges and 
disposition; and 

     (c) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional 
credential held by the petitioner. 

    (6) Attestation that the continuing competency requirements for renewal 
      have been met. 
  2. The renewal fee, the late fee of $75 and any other applicable fees. 
  3. Attestation by the petitioner: 
    a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active              

                        credential; or 
                 b. To the actual number of days practiced if the petitioner has practiced in            

                        Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.  
                          (1) If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked the  

Department may assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 
75-015 in which case a notice and opportunity for hearing will be sent to 
the petitioner.  

                              (2) If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked,  
                                     or has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations  
                                     governing the credential, other action may be taken pursuant to 172  
                                     NAC 75-013.08F. 

 
  75-013.08A  The petition to recommend reinstatement will be considered at the next 

meeting of the Board that is held, but not earlier than 30 days after the petition is filed. 
 
  75-013.08B  Any petition to recommend reinstatement of a credential will be 

conclusively acted upon by the Board within 180 days after the filing of a properly 
prepared petition and the necessary accompanying documents with the Board. 
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  75-013.08C  If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential, no public hearing 

need be held on the petition. 
 
  75-013.08D   Prior to any recommendation by the Board against reinstatement of the 

credential, an opportunity for a formal public hearing on the petition must be granted by 
the Board, if formally requested by the petitioner. 

 
  75-013.08D1  The petitioner’s request for a formal hearing must be submitted 

within 30 days of the Board’s notification of an opportunity for a formal public 
hearing. 

 
  75-013.08E  If the petitioner formally requests a  formal public hearing or if the Board 

otherwise holds such a hearing, the petitioner will be given at least 30 days prior notice 
by sending to the petitioner a copy of the notice of hearing by certified or registered mail 
at his/her last known residence or business post office address as shown by the files or 
records of the Department or as otherwise known.  Notice may be given to the  

 
 
 
  petitioner by personal service. The hearing will be conducted pursuant to 172 NAC 1.  
 
  75-013.08F  The Board will review the petition to recommend reinstatement and the 

record of any hearing held, and submits its recommendation regarding reinstatement 
and the record on which such recommendation is made to the Department within 180 
days of receipt of the petition to recommend reinstatement. 

 
    75-013.08F1  If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential, the 

Department may: 
 

1.   Accept the Board's recommendation and grant reinstatement of the 
credential.  

    2. If the Department determines that the Board’s recommendation is: in 
excess of statutory authority; made upon unlawful procedure; 
unsupported by competent, material, and substantial evidence; or 
arbitrary or capricious, the Department may not accept the Board’s 
recommendation and either: 
a. Deny reinstatement of the credential, or 
b. Grant reinstatement with terms, conditions, or restrictions.  

 
   75-013.08F2  If the Board recommends denial of reinstatement, the Board will 

send to the petitioner a written notice of the Board's recommendation.  The 
petitioner may appeal the Board's decision to the District Court of Lancaster 
County pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920. 

 
   75-013.08F3 If the Board recommends reinstatement with terms, conditions, or 

restrictions, the Department may: 
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    1. Accept the Board's recommendation and grant reinstatement with 
terms, conditions, or restrictions; or 

    2. Not accept the Board's recommendation and either: 
     a. Deny reinstatement of the credential; or 
     b. Grant reinstatement of the credential. 
 
   75-013.08F4  The Department will, within 150 days of receipt of the Board's 

recommendation, send to the petitioner a written notice of the Department's 
reinstatement with or without terms, conditions, or restrictions or denial of 
reinstatement of the credential. 

 
   75-013.08F5  The petitioner may appeal the Department's decision to the District 

Court of Lancaster County pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920. 
 
 75-013.09  Requirements to Reinstate a Credential Following Suspension, Limitation, or 

Revocation for Disciplinary Reasons:  An applicant for reinstatement following suspension, 
limitation, or revocation for disciplinary reasons must meet the following requirements: 

 
 
 
 
  1. Petition the Board for reinstatement; 

a. The petition for reinstatement must be accompanied by verified 
recommendations from at least two credentialed practitioners of the same 
profession as the petitioner each having personal knowledge of the 
activities of the petitioner since the credential was suspended, limited, or 
revoked; and  

b. Verified recommendations from at least two citizens each having personal 
knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was 
suspended, limited, or revoked. 

 
  2. Pay the reinstatement fee of $75; and 
  3. If the credential was revoked or suspended, attest: 

a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active  
     credential; or 
    b. To the actual number of days practiced if the petitioner has practiced in  

  Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.  
 

 75-013.10  Procedures for Reinstatement Following Suspension, Limitation, or Revocation for 
Disciplinary Reasons:  An applicant for reinstatement following suspension, limitation, or 
revocation for disciplinary reasons must submit to the Board: 

 
  1. A petition for reinstatement: 
   a. Stating the reason the petitioner believes his/her credential should be 

reinstated; 
   b. Accompanied by verified recommendations from at least two credentialed 

practitioners of the same profession as the petitioner each having personal 
knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was 
suspended, limited, or revoked; and verified recommendations from at least 
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two citizens each having personal knowledge of the activities of the 
petitioner since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked. 

   c. Containing the following information about the petitioner: 
    (1)     Name; 
    (2)     Address; 
    (3)     Social Security Number; and 
    (4)     If the petitioner holds a professional credential in another state, a list 

of the state(s) and type of credential; 
             (5)    A statement describing all: 
     (a) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period 

since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked;  
      [1] If the petitioner has been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor, provide copies of:    
       [a] Official Court Record, which includes charges  
        and disposition; 
       [b] Arrest records; 
       [c] A letter from the petitioner explaining the nature of  
         the conviction; 
 
 
 
       [d] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof  
        of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug 

and/or  
        alcohol related offense and if treatment was  
        obtained and/or required; and  
       [e] A letter from the probation officer addressing  
        probationary conditions and current status, if the  
        petitioner is currently on probation. 
     (b) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions against 

any professional credential held by the petitioner during the 
time period since the credential was suspended, limited, or 
revoked;  

      [1] If any disciplinary action was taken against the 
petitioner’s credential by another state, submit an official 
copy of the  

       disciplinary action, including charges and disposition; 
and 

     (c) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional 
credential held by the petitioner; 

    (6) Any continuing competency activities. 
  2. The reinstatement fee of $75. 
  3. Attestation by the petitioner, if the credential was revoked or suspended: 

a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active  
    credential; or 

b. To the actual number of days practiced if the petitioner has practiced in  
 Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.  

(1) If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked the  
 Department may assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC  
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 75-015 in which case a separate notice and opportunity for hearing will be 
 sent to the petitioner.  

(2) If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked, or has  
 committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing    
 the credential, other action may be taken pursuant to 172 NAC 75-           
 015.10G.   

 
  75-013.10A  The Board will make a recommendation to the Director regarding 

reinstatement following disciplinary action.  In determining whether reinstatement should 
be recommended, the Board may: 

 
1. Request the Department investigate all activities of the petitioner since the 

disciplinary action was taken against him/her, including activities prohibited 
by Neb. Rev. Stat. §§71-147 and 71-148.  

 
2. Require the petitioner to submit to a complete diagnostic examination by one 

or more physicians appointed by the Board, the petitioner being free also to 
consult a physician or physicians of his/her own choice for a complete  
diagnostic examination and make available a report or reports thereof to the 
Board;  

 
 
 
 

3. Require the petitioner to pass a written, oral, or practical examination or any 
combination of such examinations; or 

 
4. Require the petitioner to complete additional education. 

 
  75-013.10B  The petition to recommend reinstatement will be considered at the next 

meeting of the Board that is held, but not earlier than 30 days after the petition is filed. 
 
  75-013.10C  Any petition to recommend reinstatement of a credential will be 

conclusively acted upon by the Board within 180 days after the filing of a properly 
prepared petition and the necessary accompanying documents with the Board. 

 
  75-013.10D If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential, no public hearing 

need be held on the petition. 
 

  75-013.10E   Prior to any recommendation by the Board against reinstatement of 
  the credential, an opportunity for a formal public hearing on the petition must be 
  granted by the Board, if formally requested by the petitioner. 

 
  75-013.10E1  The petitioner’s request for a formal hearing must be submitted 

within 30 days of the Board’s notification of an opportunity for a formal public 
hearing. 
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  75-013.10E2  If the petitioner had a hearing or an opportunity for a hearing on a 
prior petition to recommend reinstatement filed pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-
161.04 within a period of two years immediately preceding the filing of the current  

  petition, the Board may grant or deny, without a hearing, the current petition to 
recommend reinstatement filed pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-161.04. 

 
  75-013.10F  If the petitioner formally requests a formal public hearing or if the Board 

otherwise holds such a hearing, the petitioner will be given at least 30 days prior notice 
by sending to the petitioner a copy of the notice of hearing by certified or registered mail 
at his/her last known residence or business post office address as shown by the files or 
records of the Department or as otherwise known.  Notice may be given to the petitioner 
by personal service. The hearing will be conducted pursuant to 172 NAC 1. 

 
  75-013.10G  The Board reviews the petition to recommend reinstatement, any 

examination or investigatory information and the record of hearing, if one was held. The 
Board will submit its recommendation to the Director within 180 days of receipt of the 
petition to recommend reinstatement.  

 
   75-013.10G1  If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential: 
 
    1. The Board will send its recommendation to the petitioner by certified 

mail along with notification that the petitioner must file an application 
for reinstatement with the Director.  

 
 
 
    2. The petitioner must submit, to the Department, an application for 

reinstatement by the Director within 30 days of receipt of the Board’s 
recommendation.   

 
     a. The application must include: 
      (1) Name of the petitioner; and 
      (2) Signed statement that the petitioner requests the 

Director to issue the credential in pursuant to the Board’s 
recommendation for reinstatement. 

 
    3. Upon receipt of the application for reinstatement from the petitioner, 

the Department will submit the following to the Director: 
 
     a. The application;  
     b. The written recommendation of the Board, including any finding 

of fact or order of the Board;  
     c. The petition submitted to the Board;  
     d. The record of hearing, if any; and  
     e. Any pleadings, motions, requests, preliminary or intermediate 

rulings and orders, and similar correspondence to or from the 
Board and the petitioner. 
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    4. The Director will issue a decision regarding reinstatement within 150 
days of receipt of the petitioner’s application for reinstatement. The 
Director’s decision will be based upon a review of the record of the 
proceedings before the Board. The Director will not hold a second  

     hearing. The Director may affirm, reverse or modify the Board’s 
recommendation. A decision by the Director to reverse or modify the 
Board’s recommendation will be based on finding that the Board’s 
recommendation is: in excess of statutory authority, made upon 
unlawful procedure, unsupported by competent, material, and 
substantial evidence in view of the entire record, or arbitrary or 
capricious. 

 
     a. When the Director affirms, modifies or reverses the Board’s 

recommendation for reinstatement, the Director will enter an 
Order setting forth the decision regarding reinstatement of the 
petitioner’s credential.  The order will be sent by certified mail 
to the petitioner;  

     b. If the petitioner does not accept the Director’s decision, s/he 
may appeal such decision to the District Court of Lancaster 
County pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920. 

 
   75-013.10G2  If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential with 

terms, conditions, or restrictions: 
 
    1. The Board will send its recommendation to the petitioner by certified 

mail along with notification that the petitioner must file an application 
for reinstatement with the Director.  

 
    2. The petitioner must submit, to the Department, an application for 

reinstatement by the Director within 30 days of receipt of the Board’s 
recommendation. 

 
     a. The application must include: 
      (1) Name of the petitioner; and 
      (2) Signed statement that the petitioner requests the 

Director to issue the credential pursuant to the Board’s 
recommendation for reinstatement. 

 
    3. Upon receipt of the application for reinstatement from the petitioner, 

the Department will submit the following to the Director:  
      
     a. The application;  
     b. The written recommendation of the Board, including any finding 

of fact or order of the Board;  
     c. The petition submitted to the Board;  
     d. The record of hearing, if any; and 
     e. Any pleadings, motions, requests, preliminary or intermediate 

rulings and orders, and similar correspondence to or from the 
Board and the petitioner. 
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   4. The Director will issue a decision regarding reinstatement within 150 

days of receipt of the petitioner’s application for reinstatement. The 
Director’s decision will be based upon a review of the record of the 
proceedings before the Board. The Director will not hold a second 
hearing. The Director may affirm, reverse or modify the Board’s 
recommendation. A decision by the Director to reverse or modify the 
Board’s recommendation will be based on finding that the Board’s 
recommendation is: in excess of statutory authority, made upon 
unlawful procedure, unsupported by competent, material, and 
substantial evidence in view of the entire record, or arbitrary or 
capricious. 

 
     a. When the Director affirms, modifies or reverses the Board’s 

recommendation for reinstatement, the Director will enter an 
Order setting forth the decision regarding reinstatement of the 
petitioner’s credential.  The order will be sent by certified mail 
to the petitioner;  

     b. If the petitioner does not accept the Director’s decision, s/he 
may appeal such decision to the District Court of Lancaster 
County pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920. 

 
   75-013.10G3  If the Board denies reinstatement, the Board will send to the 

petitioner a written notice of the Board's recommendation to deny reinstatement. 
The petitioner may appeal the Board's decision to the District Court of Lancaster 
County pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-901 to 84-920. 

 
75-013.11 Procedures for Restoration of Credentials Voluntarily Surrendered or Limited for an 
Indefinite Period of Time  

 
75-013.11A  Credentials voluntarily surrendered or limited for an indefinite period of time 
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-161.11 may be restored at the discretion of the Department.  

 
75-013.11A1 An applicant for restoration of a credential that was voluntarily surrendered 
or limited for an indefinite period of time must submit to the Department: 

    1. A written application which contains the following information about the 
applicant: 

   a. Name;  
   b. Address;  
   c. Social Security Number; and 
   d. If the applicant holds a professional credential in another state, a list  
    of the state(s) and type of credential;   
     e.    A statement describing all: 

(1) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period 
since the credential was active;  
(a) If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or  
 misdemeanor, provide copies of:   

      [1] Official Court Record, which includes charges  
       and disposition; 
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      [2] Arrest records; 
      [3] A letter from the applicant explaining the  
       nature of the conviction; 
      [4] All addiction/mental health evaluations and 
       proof of treatment, if the conviction involved  
       a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if  
       treatment was obtained and/or required; and  
      [5] A letter from the probation officer addressing  
       probationary conditions and current status,  
       if the applicant is currently on probation. 

      (2)  Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions 
against any professional credential held by the applicant 
during the time period since the credential was active;  

       (a) If any disciplinary action was taken against the 
applicant’s credential by another state, submit an 
official copy of the disciplinary action, including 
charges and disposition; and 

      (3) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional 
credential held by the applicant. 

      
     f. Any continuing competency activities. 
     g. Attest: 
      (1)     That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska prior to the voluntary 

surrender of his/her credential; or 
    (2)     To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has  
         practiced in Nebraska prior to the voluntary surrender of  
         his/her credential.  

 
        75-013.11A2  If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was voluntarily   

surrendered, the Department may: 
1. Assess an Administrative Penalty  pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015; 
2. Initiate disciplinary action against the credential;  
3. Deny the request to restore the credential; or  
4. Restore the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other 

sanctions on the credential.  
 

 75-013.11A3  If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and   
 regulations governing the credential while his/her credential was voluntarily               
 surrendered or limited, the Department may: 

 
  1. Initiate disciplinary action against the credential;  
  2. Deny the request for restoration of the credential; or  

          3. Restore the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other  
     sanctions on the credential. 
 

75-013.11A4  In either event pursuant to 172 NAC 75-013.11A2 or 75-013.11A3, a 
notice and the opportunity for hearing will be given to the applicant. 

 
75-013.11A5  The Department will act within 150 days on all completed 
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applications. 
 

75-013.12  Procedures for Restoration of Credentials Voluntarily Surrendered or Limited for a 
Specific and Definite Period of Time 

 
75-013.12A  Credentials voluntarily surrendered or limited for a specific and definite 
period of time as agreed to between the holder and Department pursuant to Neb. Rev. 
Stat. § 71-161.11, will be automatically restored at the expiration of that period of time. 

 
       75-013.12B  If an individual has practiced while his/her credential was voluntarily  
       surrendered for a specific and definite period of time, the Department may assess an  
       Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 75-015. 

 
 75-013.13  Credentials Voluntarily Surrendered or Limited Permanently 
 

75-013.13A  Credentials that are voluntarily surrendered or limited permanently 
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-161.11 will not be restored. 

             
75-014  SCHEDULE OF FEES:  The following fees have been set by the Department.  
 
1. Initial License Fee: By an applicant for a license to practice as a hearing aid instrument 

dispenser and fitter, the fee of  $150 and the Licensee Assistance Program Fee of $1 for 
each year remaining during the current biennial renewal period. 

 
2. Proration of Initial License Fee:  For issuance of a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter 

license that will expire within 180 days after its initial issuance date, a fee of $37.50 and the 
Licensee Assistance Program Fee of $1. 

 
3. Temporary License Fee: By an applicant for a temporary license to practice as a hearing aid 

instrument dispenser and fitter, the fee of  $50. 
 
4. License Renewal Fee:  By an applicant for renewal on a biennial basis of a license to 

practice as a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter, the fee of  $25 and the Licensee 
Assistance Program Fee of $2. 

 
5. Temporary License Renewal Fee:  By an applicant for a one-time renewal or reissuance of a 

temporary license to practice as a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter, the fee of 
$100. 

 
6. Inactive License Status Fee:  By an applicant to have his/her hearing aid dispenser and fitter 

license placed on inactive status, the fee of $25. 
 
7. Renewal Late Fee:  By an applicant for a renewal on a biennial basis of a hearing aid 

instrument dispenser and fitter license, who fails to pay the renewal fee on or before the 
expiration date of his/her license, the fee of $25 as a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.  

 
8. Certification of License Fee:  For issuance of a certification of a hearing aid instrument 

dispenser and fitter license, the fee of $25.  The certification includes information regarding: 
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a. The basis on which a license was issued; 
b. The date of issuance; 
c.    Whether disciplinary action has been taken against the license; and 
d.    The current status of the license. 
 

9. Verification of License Fee:  For issuance of  a verification of a hearing aid instrument 
dispenser and fitter license, the fee of $5.  The verification includes written confirmation as to 
whether a license was valid at the time the request was made.  

 
10. Duplicate License Fee:  For a duplicate of original hearing aid instrument dispenser and        
     fitter license or reissued license, the fee of $10. 
 
11.       Administrative Fee: For a denied hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter license or a        

withdrawn application the administrative fee of $25 will be retained by the Department,           
except if the licensing fee is less than $25, the fee will be forfeited and an examination fee       
will not be returned.  

 
 

12. Reinstatement Late Fee:  For reinstatement of a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter 
licenses for failure to meet renewal requirements: 
 
a.       Within one year, the fee of $35 in addition to the renewal fee. 
b. After one year of revocation, the fee of $75 in addition to the renewal fee. 

 
13. Reinstatement Fee:  For reinstatement of a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter license 

following suspension, limitation, or revocation for disciplinary reasons, the fee of $75.  
 
75-015  ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY:  The Department may assess an administrative penalty 
when evidence exists that a person or entity practices without a license.  Practice without a license 
for the purpose of this regulation means practice: 
 

1. Prior to the issuance of a license; 
2.         Following the expiration of a license; or 
3. Prior to the reinstatement of a license. 

 
75-015.01  Evidence of Practice: The Department will consider any of the following 
conditions as prima facie evidence of practice without a license: 

 
1. The person admits to engaging in practice; 
2. Staffing records or other reports from the employer of the person indicate 

that the person was engaged in practice; 
3. Billing or payment records document the provision of service, care, or 

treatment by the person; 
4. Service, care, treatment records document the provision of service, care, or 

treatment by the person; 
5. Appointment records indicate that the person was engaged in practice; and 
6. The person or entity opens a business or practice site and announces or 

advertises that the business or site is open to provide service, care, or 
treatment. 
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For purposes of this regulation prima facie evidence means a fact presumed to be 
true unless disproved by some evidence to the contrary. 

 
75-015.02  Penalty: The Department may assess an administrative penalty in the amount of 
$10 per day, not to exceed a total of $1,000 for practice without a license.  To assess such 
penalty, the Department will: 

  
1. Provide written notice of the assessment to the person: The notice will 

specify: 
 

a. The total amount of the administrative penalty;  
b. The evidence on which the administrative penalty is based; 
c. That the person may request, in writing, a hearing to contest the 

assessment of an administrative penalty; 
 
 
 
d. That the Department will within 30 days following receipt of payment 

of the administrative penalty, transmit the penalty to the State 
Treasurer for credit to the Permanent School Fund; and 

e. That an unpaid administrative penalty constitutes a debt to the State 
of Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien 
foreclosure or sued for and recovered in a proper form of action in 
the name of the state in the District Court of the county in which the 
violator resides or owns property. 

 
2. Send by certified mail, a written notice of the administrative penalty to the last 

known address of the person to whom the penalty is assessed. 
  

75-015.03  Administrative Hearing: When a person contests the administrative penalty and 
requests a hearing, the Department will hold a hearing pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-
901 to 84-920 and the Department’s rules and regulations adopted pursuant to these 
statutes.  
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Approved by Attorney General:      August  12, 2004 
Approved by Governor:          September 17, 2004 
Filed with Secretary of State:         September 17, 2004 
Effective Date:            September 22, 2004 
 
Forms A through P may be obtained by contacting the Credentialing Division. 
 
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
Regulation and Licensure 
Credentialing Division 
PO Box 94986 
Lincoln   NE  68509-4986 
 
(402)471-2299 
 
http://www.hhs.state.ne.us/crl/profindex1.htm 
 


